No! No! I was not pointing it to you. I was thinking about myself.
From those feet-picture days to nowadays, personally, I respect your POV a lot.
Thank you :)
PS, thanks for the reminder... it's long overdue... :D
No! No! I was not pointing it to you. I was thinking about myself.
From those feet-picture days to nowadays, personally, I respect your POV a lot.
Thank you :)
PS, thanks for the reminder... it's long overdue... :D
Re: Unwanted Gifts from in-laws
^ hahahaha i remember those days too... man its been ages! how much have we all "grown up"
im so tempted to now... for old times sake :D
I just want to say u guys are just wicked....sara, hunnibuney, midnight eyes, mirch, meena, angel etc etc....oh and you mall of course (even you Numb).
Thanks for all the good advice.....I've really enjoyed discussing this and I've learnt a lot...I've learnt that it's a part of married life....I've learnt not to take it too seriously and most of all I've learnt not to take it too personally.
I really didn't know others went through the same thing and I feel better knowing it's not just me.
Next time I'm just going to take a deep breath and not get too freaked out. I'm not going to take it out on hubby....although I might just mention it to him subtly hehehe......can't help myself!
Bwahahahahhahaa! That’s hilariuos HB! ![]()
yeah i know... when i told this to my mom, she just cldn't believe it hehe.....
n sparrow u know what? life is so damn tough for ppl out there..... yeh tu bas choti choti batein hein jo dil tu jalati hein per its ok u see :)
however i like such forums... one can come, share his/her feelings/emotions n go like ahhhhh relaxed :)
y do u feel problem or kind of insulting feeling??if u dislike the dresses then dont wear them,,simple..just throw them out or give to poor ppl..i mean if ur inlaws hv bad taste n thy dont meet to ur style n standard then its not a serous matter just let them play zheir hobby,,u can accept the gifts wid thanks n then it is ur decision that wat to do wid that presents...it is normal for inlaws (often) to give such gifts but y one daughter in law should make her bad image,wen she would say against their presents?? so keep the wise policy n mayb atlast wen they will see ur own choice n notice that u dont wera their given dresses then they will realise(i pray they do realize loll).rite or not?
Its a given that everything that comes from in-laws is bad and nasty, isn't it?. Perhaps its more psychological than it is real.
Uh, not really. Although I have been married half a year, I haven't gotten a single thing from my mil. But I'A she will visit us in a few months and I hear I get all her puraney antique jewels and I keep hearing how pretty they are..BUT, anyways, the point is, it really depends on the mil and her taste. OOF,my sister is sooo lucky. Everything my mil gives her is beautiful, in fashion,and it looks like she put some thought and money into it. My sis is so lucky and gets compliments on her joras all the time to which she responds that its from her mil. The mil herself wears nice clothes but not as nice as she gets for my sister and no, her mil is not this heel wearing fashionable aunty. She is a simple housewife who is very humble M'A.
I have a friend who I feel sorry for because her mil got her very loose clothing that is ultra conservative and not that much in fashion and before the wedding told her to give her her shalwar kameezes and she would loosen them for her to make them more conservative but of course she did not oblige.. All I know is, that whatever my MIL gives me, I will wear with pride because its from her. If its too ugly to bear, I mean actually ugly, then and only then will I give it to charity, not as a gift since I wouldn't give someone something I myself wouldn't wear, thats not nice. Charity is the only way. Whoever likes it will take it. Actually, I will have my taste known to her by casually talking about clothes in a natural conversation and she'll get to know what I like. I'll also wear a lot of my clothes in front of her so she can get an idea of what I like. The key is subtlety..
What i don't understand is if they are going to go to all this trouble to buy me 6/7 suits and waste time, effort and money...why can't they just either ask me what i like or just buy 1 decent suit instead of all these suits i will never wear.
The Eid suit she gave me even had a hole on the top of the sleeve and it wasn't MIL's fault but the material was so light it was bound to happen. Then one of the suits she gave me and i opened it in front of her... was so bad that it was stuck together and i had to gently pull it apart without ripping it.
To answer some of your questions.
My MIL doesn't wear very nice clothes herself but occationally wears really nice stuff.
I did not have an arranged marraige.
My MIL only has 3 sons who i must add are extremely well dressed and extremely fashion concious.
Also, i know you will all slate me for being big headed but i know that one of the reasons my MIL loves to show me off to her friends is because of the way i look and dress....her friends always always comment on how nice my clothes are and one of them even asked my MIL if i could take her daughter shopping for her wedding. So bacially MIL knows about the type of clothes i wear.
I know you all are right that i should be grateful and i really love my inlaws...every year for my MIL's birthday i buy her Gold earings, necklace, rings...i only buy gold for her. For her son's i always get them what they want...i ask them what they need.
My MIL wears all the gold i give her and always tells me that her friends were asking where i bought it from...one of them even had the design copied....by the way i've never given my own mum anything like that.
Sparrow if she herself doesn't dress according to your taste then she really doesn't know any better. If she likes to show you off for your fashion sense and appreciates your choice don't you think she would be buying similar stuff for herself if she had the eye for it? I would have been upset if she bought nice stuff for herself yet tacky stuff when it came to me, but clearly her taste is, unfortunately, far from your liking and that cannot be changed. Just pass them on to charity. Instead of expecting them to take you shopping with them just go out and buy things of your own choice yourself.
very politely being able to say that all i need is your well wishes, will indicate to your in laws, hopefully that you are not expecting any gifts at all, especially not unnecessary ones, as you are saying.
but if the issue is going to be complicated, the best thing is to make the decision of not accepting gifts, with your spouse supporting you on this, too.
my MIL hasnt bought me a thing since the wedding. and she sometimes hints that my kameez are too short or if i wear capri's that theyre too short blah blah but to be quite honest i just ignore it.
i live separatly from inlaws and when i do go over to their house i dress the way i want to not the way they want me to. i mean if she isnt gona buy me any outfits that are ideal for her to see me in then i aint gona listen to her comments on what i shud wear.
just be happy taht she wants to get u stuff, i dont get anything.
Sparrow, since your husband doesn't have a problem with the clothes and he defends them, why not wear them when you visit your ils? Maybe he'll understand your position only when he sees you in them, hole and all :)
my MIL hasnt bought me a thing since the wedding. and she sometimes hints that my kameez are too short or if i wear capri's that theyre too short blah blah but to be quite honest i just ignore it.
i live separatly from inlaws and when i do go over to their house i dress the way i want to not the way they want me to. i mean if she isnt gona buy me any outfits that are ideal for her to see me in then i aint gona listen to her comments on what i shud wear.
just be happy taht she wants to get u stuff, i dont get anything.
hehe wow :)
Just smile and say thank you - wear them once or twice, and then send them on their way to Oxfam or Goodwill.
My MIL thinks it's cute to buy the same suit (sometimes even in the same color) for all the bahus when I am visiting Pak. Keep in mind that there is a 14 year age difference between the eldest and me, so you can just imagine what kind of idiocy that is. Apart from that, I receive either nothing or hand-me-downs, so you should feel fortunate that your MIL seems to care about you, she just has bad taste.
Gosh girlss i learnt a lot but what i cant learn yet is the issue tht my in -laws to be r insisting to get my barat as well as valima dress :( wot should i dooooooo ( lol hunney bunny now i know yaar ) my fiance tried convincing his mom but useless :( Allah miannnn plz helppppp
Stylo are they willing to take you shopping with them?
Gosh girlss i learnt a lot but what i cant learn yet is the issue tht my in -laws to be r insisting to get my barat as well as valima dress :( wot should i dooooooo ( lol hunney bunny now i know yaar ) my fiance tried convincing his mom but useless :( Allah miannnn plz helppppp
y dont u tell her that its a tradition in ur family that u get the barat suit urself. and if they want to get it for u, u will go along with them cuz thats just the way things are in ur family...she cant just jeopardize the whole thing!!
IRA till yet i dont know as our mom's havent taalked on this subject its between me n my fiance yet lol I think i will hafto ask them to take me along huh shadi karna itna mushkil hota hai i didnt know and after shadiiiiiii :S behosh
y dont u tell her that its a tradition in ur family that u get the barat suit urself. and if they want to get it for u, u will go along with them cuz thats just the way things are in ur family...she cant just jeopardize the whole thing!!
yes u r right waisay the tradition in my family is the way they want it but i dont like this tradition :S wotsoeverrrrr but i will definetly ask her to take me along they r in karachi and i am in isb but am going to kar for my shopping so probably Allah will make a way for me :)
Well in most families it is the tradition that one lehnga is from parents and another from guy's side. so she might just be making up this tradition...anyways just go with her and choose ur stuff urself!