Unwanted aunty/uncle attention

I used to think it only happened to girls but this is really annoying me now.

Since moving to Toronto and getting an apartment, car, etc etc etc on my own my relatives and family friends here are all after me to get married asap.

One of my very younger cousins here began lecturing me on what i should do in order to make sure I can get married within a year and I was like “What the hell???” It’s not just her - all the uncles/aunties I’m meeting here are thinking along those lines.

Why do people assume that just because a guy is managing to survive independently that he should get married? I’ve had to spend my first eid gathering in Canada basically loudly responding to such comments with the fact that getting married is not on my agenda for now and will not be there for several years to come!

Jeez - I now have a lot more respect for girls who have to put up with this - I don’t know how you lot manage it without napping and giving in to the urge to rip the aunty/uncle’s head off!!!

venting before going to bed

Re: Unwanted aunty/uncle attention

there there.. now ur one of us :flower2:

Welcome to the club … :smiley: … well u r still a guy.. u can still push them off wheneever u wan tto.. but with us girls .. its quite a different story.. we cant even say ‘cheen’ in fron tof these aunts! :hoonh:

Tell me about it :smiley:

Upon my return from Karachi, I’ve been bombarded for such things already.. WTH? why are they so concern :grumpy:?

u shud've showed them the foot :D

I'm in the same situation but I enjoy the whole shaadi rishta thingy

Why not Maddy? I say GO FOR IT!
It's time......

:rolleyes: dramay toh dekhein … khamakha k nakhray tobbah :hoonh: samaj nai aati aaj kal k larkon kee…

so why DONT u want to get married MS? do u have a valid reason? please dont tell me its ur career ?!? i reckon its abt time u got married apna ghar hae aur gari bhee huh toh phir kya masla hae aakhir?!?!

waise i do pity the girl who’s going to get tied to u in matrimony .. bichari :bummer:

i think this is cool. i enjoy it

Ignore them Maddy. Uncles and aunties are born to tang you with such shaadi wadi topics. I tell them to f off dil hi dil main and go on with my life. When my parents haven't talked to me about this yet then I don't give half a $hit if someone else eats my brain up telling me that. Tell them "just because I can manage to live on my own doesn't mean I should get married. You got married when you thought you should so let me do what I want to and stop bothering me."

well i dont get any attention…mera abhi shaadi karney ka waqt nahee aya naa…:blush:

^^ Lussi beta why dont you graduate kindergarten before thinking LTRs (long term relationships), Now be a good boy and share the toy with Richard (aka Dick). Stop playing the Fulla the barbie, thats for girls be a good boy and play with bob the builder set.

Mad_Scientist: All I can say is that your are in a resource rich environment, and before the resources run dry they(your aunties/unlces) want to tap into your potential by engaging them.
But I do hear you, my family drove me nuts to the point that I had to start living in sin just to keep them off my back.
Be upfront, if you are not ready let them know, it will be hard on them initially but they'll get the idea.

Ya.. don’t worry, just ignore them… We girls have to ignore them as well… But it sure is annoying… :grumpy:

And especially if these are not the uncles and aunts talking about such topics… but the larka himself proposes you.. and hopes the answer will be yes, so that his parents could talk to yours :grumpy:

I mean… why do you need to talk to the girl first.. seedha go to her parents.. You will get an answer… :grumpy:

Okay… am going off topic… :halo:

I politely sit there listening to how Its a farz in Islam to be married and some of them kindly even offer to find me a dulha. Wait and listen to 'em finish and then politely tell them that when I mentioned that I was single I forgot to add that I was married for 7 years.

tehee :hehe:

then come the next round of lectures but i cut em short by telling them how I have to be home to straighten my hair so I can look hot for my date tonite.

^^

You should have had even more fun with them :D

When they gave the lecture after you said you're single, you should have brought your daughters into the room and introduced them as "your kids from your last boyfriend".

Once the aunties/uncles jaws have hit the floor, you then say "Haha, just messing, I was married for 7 years and that's when they were born"

I'd rather have 'em alive to tease then kill them with heart attack with that tactic.

:hehe: LegallyBrown.. good one!

haha maddy. Dont say I didnt warn you. :p enjoy the attention, they'll forget you in another week when they find something else to interest them.

Hang in there dude :k: It only gets worse!

yes it can get much worse... just listen politely than find some great heart attack line so u can walk away & laugh at the whole situation instead of having to let off steam