Unplugged With Guppies — kakaballi

:salam:

Ladies and gentlemen, we are into the 6th edition of **Unplugged With Guppies **and have kakaballi as our guest. **kakaballi **is a senior member of GS and is a keen observer of politics.

http://i49.tinypic.com/v4rkp1.jpg

Unplugged With kakaballi

** 1: What is your name?**
Name’s Balli, Kaka Balli, 007.

**2: Where do you hail from and where do you reside? Do you have dual nationality?
**Pakistan. Roaming around East Asia at the moment. No dual Nationality.

**3: What is your educational and professional background?
**Degree Degree hoti hai…

**4: What is your political orientation?
**Ideally, I would like to see a centrist government in Pakistan. The country was established with religion as a political factor and a lot of people in the country are still very conservative to easily digest liberal left ideas.

The situation where we have taken the country to, however, demands, for a few years at least an authoritarian left government with no tolerance for corruption or violence. This would remain a fantasy though, since it would require military to give up a lot of powers.

**5: Which political party do you support and why? Please explain the reasons in case if you do not support any party.
**I have specific views about major political parties of Pakistan.

PPP => now a political mafia where everyone dreams of getting ahead through whatever means and rewarded for dedication to the mafia. Typically, in the mafia, the street workers carry out orders from the bosses because of the possible massive incentives attached to promotion. The bosses flaunt their wealth shamelessly so as to keep the workers motivated and willing to accept any job desired by the elite in the hierarchy. Analogous to the mafia, they don’t have any obligation to adhere to any kind of principles. The party purports to represent the ‘people of Pakistan’, but taken together, the PPP MNAs and MPAs from Sindh alone would possibly own half of the agricultural land in the province.

MQM => Take PPP, add organization and crime, subtract wadaira saeen and you have MQM.

PML(N) => Some smart people, some sincere workers, some people with integrity, some businessmen with good ideas and a lot of opportunists. Unfortunately suffers from lack of a dynamic, strong leadership. The current leadership has surrounded itself with all-praising opportunists who keep the corruption machine going as well. With ‘N’ in the name, I don’t think the situation is going to improve in near future. The way they acted when they had 2/3[SUP]rd[/SUP] majority, when they talked to Zardari after 2008 elections and now, it seems they really need strong leadership which is able to take bold decisions and not continuously trying to save itself from its own shadows.

PTI => Right intentions, wrong directions. People are flocking to PTI more because of disgust from the above mentioned parties rather than political acumen or ability of this party. I might appear to support PTI and IK on these forums but I only detest unreasonable criticism being flaunted at this party all the time. Where were you guys when the party was struggling, free from wadairas and establishment touts, a punching bag for ‘analysts’ and target of ridicule from the most corrupt politicians of the country? Now that the party is following the traditions of ‘common practice’ of Pakistani politics, everyone’s coming on with ‘ahhhs and ‘ooohhhs’. I believe the slogans of ‘change’ are politically motivated and don’t have much substance, but find me a party which adheres to its slogans?

So, yes, wrong directions but nobody noticed till it took that path.

**6: Have you ever read complete manifesto of your party? Does it matter to you at all?
**This question motivated me to read PPP manifesto for 2008 elections, which says, “We Promise to ensure that energy shortages are eliminated” and “…Now Pakistan needs another 8000 MWs by 2010 to meet the energy requirements of the people. This will be met by utilising coal, solar, hydro and wind power….”.

Enough, I guess for political parties in Pakistan and their manifestos.

7: Do you believe that your party has a good team to run the country and tackle issues like governance, corruption, loadshedding, security?
No single party has that. PPP has some very good people from legal profession, PML(N) has some very good economics, business and finance people, MQM has some good administrators. Ideally, they should let go of egos and appoint appropriate persons for the job, regardless of the party affiliations.

**8: Has your party ever been in power in the Centre or in provinces? If yes, how did it perform?
**I don’t really have a party affiliation but for me, the best government so far has been Shahbaz Sharif’s first tenure as CM Punjab in 90s.

**9: Major achievement and major failure of the present government?
**Achievement: Comparatively improved political stability through some very shrewd maneuvering.
Failure: Could write a book about it.

**10: How different the upcoming general elections could be from the 2008 general elections?
**No idea. Things change so dramatically in this country. Political parties do not represent any specific ideals or principles on which they might not be willing to negotiate and therefore anything and everything seems possible.

Last election was primarily between pro-Mush and anti-Mush forces which obviously is no more the case.

**11: In your opinion, what are the top-most plus and top-most minus points of your party?
**I guess I have already detailed some points regarding all major parties above.

**12: What do you think of presidential form of government?
**I would support it only if the president is in control of armed forces and elected through a system similar to what we already have.

**13: Your take on judicial activism?
**It is healthy for our society but it should be bottom up, rather than top down as it is in Pakistan. Lower courts should actively engage citizens in curbing crime in the country. Unfortunately, lower courts are themselves as corrupt as our society at large.

**14: Do you think Army is still active in politics as we speak?
**Of course and it has had negative consequences for the country.

**15: How should Pakistan act on American demands on Haqqani Network and military operations in North Waziristan?
**Ask them for evidence and intelligence and tell them Pakistani forces would act AFTER approval from Defense Committee of the parliament.

**16: How do you see the reopening of Nato supply routes?
**Marta kya na kerta.

**17: Do you think that some key ministries should be managed only by technocrats, or it must be an elected representative of people to head any department?
**Yes, indeed. There is a reason why Abdul Hafeez Sheikh was imported by PPP. Elected representatives are primarily law makers and some of them might have required specialist skills for specific ministries but they cannot be arbitrarily assigned ministries. Raja rental and Bilour sahib are recent disastrous examples.

**18: To govern a vast country of over 180 million, the bigger the cabinet, the better?
**No. The federal government should have primary control over Finance, Defense, National Economic and Education System Planning, External Relations and Internal Security. Other areas of governance should be devolved to district and provincial levels.

**19: Who is your favourite politician outside your favourite political party?
**Manmohan Singh. :stuck_out_tongue:

**20: What is your favorite current affairs show (national or international)?
**Colbert Report. :stuck_out_tongue:

Don’t really have much time to watch TV shows, except snippets from youtube sometimes.

END

Thank you kakaballi for your time :slight_smile:

[note]Members are welcome to pose further questions to kakaballi or debate any part of his interview. Please follow interview etiquettes while you interact with the interviewee. Thank you.[/note]

Re: Unplugged With Guppies — kakaballi

Everyone seems to be having diverse selection and opinions about politicial parties by pointing out certain points of strenghts and weaknesses in different political parties. While it may be good for the sake of argument, such multiplicity of selection will have no point on the polling day as ballots do not allow multiple choices. Does it mean you won't cast your vote because no party is a complete party?

Unfortunately, political parties in Pakistan do not represent any particular civic ideas, stances on issues of national importance, stated policies on social and economic issues etc. Republicans and Democrats in US, for example, have stated policies and ideas on all those and actually act on those ideas when in government and people who think those are closer to their own ideals, align themselves with one of those parties.

PPP for example has a different set of ideas for people living in rural Sindh, Karachi, urban Punjab, rural Punjab, Baluchistan and KP and all those are not consistent with each other. I don't think a person enticed by liberal leftist ideas of PPP in Karachi would approve of vadaira shahi in rural Sindh for example.

It is difficult to find a mainstream political party that represents someone's political thought (unless one is a blind follower of peer sab, shah sahib, sectarian party or vadairo saeen or khan sahib, etc). We, unfortunately, have to contend with choosing the 'least evil' and that is a subjective call that is also time variant. Some people would prefer even military over all these parties and we cannot really blame them. I think it is encouraging that some people are unsure of which party to choose since this indicates that they at least think about it!

Don't you think that 'bottom' is too wide and largely inconsequential as compare to a narrow but devastating 'up' which should be reined in first to send out a clear message to the whole society?

Amal the question 18 you keep saying that population is 18 million. It is not. The Population of Karachi is 18 million and population of Pakistan is around 180 million.

Oops :( ... Thanx Shamraz for pointing out the error :)

Some really well thought out answers.

but why Manmohan singh? :p

Manmohan Singh in 1990s.... the key figure behind India's liberalization policies and opening up India to the world.

Manmohan Singh in 2000s... instituting massive reforms (education, economic, health, foreign policy being major), improving ties with USA to the extent that they signed nuclear deal, successful re-election, all while juggling demands and conspiracies from corrupt and self centered several allied and opposition parties. Although considered by many as a puppet of Sonia, he is now well respected all around the world as a statesman. Is it not a small feat considering how politics in South Asia work.

BTW, do you know what car he uses? ;-)

True, but has that been achieved? The government and establishment being targeted by the Supreme Court have not yielded but continue their criminal ways. If I need to start judicial proceedings against someone, I need to start from the session court. Supreme Court is taking up matters that should be resolved in lower courts. The only problem being we do not respect law or courts. Just look at how we drive on the roads.

Apko birayani konsi achi lagti hai?:chupki:

Sindhi Biryani with aalo bukhara… yumm yummmmm

From Commonwealth Games to telecom and from vote shopping to ‘coalgate’, the guy had some of the biggest scandals in this history of India unfolding during his tenure… kheir…sannu ki :chupki:

Your support and conditions are fine, but do you think that presidential form of democracy can perform better than parliamentary form of democracy?

The fact that India was successful in its bid for Commonwealth Games and hosted athletes from 71 teams and concluded the games without any major negative incident is a testament of success of the government itself. We can’t even host a single cricket team from any country! Pakistan doesn’t have scandals of the size that India simply because we do not have organizations and projects as big as India. We also consider corruption as a fact of life. Do you know how ‘transparent’ the process of awarding licenses to telecom companies in Pakistan is? :wink: With at least 50 percent advertising on TV related to telecom companies and foreign investment in only telecom, banking and energy sectors should raise eyebrows. Why we get foreign investment only in sectors that are ‘regulated’ by government and not in sectors where foreign investors would have to ‘compete’ with local businesses. :wink:

Presidential form is better for Pakistan since there are no principles political parties adhere to and people would know what they are voting for, government or legislature? I doubt a lot of people would have voted for PPP in last elections if they knew the government would be run by Zardari and Rehman Malik, Parliament would be rubber stamp and the party would ally with PML(Q) and MQM. In a presidential system, I would vote twice. Once I would vote for the person I want to represent me in the legislature, and once of the person I would like to run the day-to-day government affairs at national level. So, in a way I would be able to choose a PPP candidate who I consider good to represent me in parliament (congress, if you prefer) and not vote for Zardari when it comes to execute selection.

Wats up with your nick, kaka we can understand but what's balli?

I don’t really have a party affiliation but for me, the best government so far has been Shahbaz Sharif’s first tenure as CM Punjab in 90s.

I thought you were a PTI guy...but I guess not

Btw, I agree with you about Shahbaz 1st tenure as CM. What do you think about him being the PM?

I always thought he was smarter and cool headed between the shareef bros, but lately I think he has turned into just another crooked politician.

Lets keep your thread get going:)

Sindhi Biryani never existed till 90s' or perhaps late 80's. This is adulterated version of Sindhi Pullauw, a dish 180 degrees out from traditional Biryani created/favorite during Mogul empire in India. So there is no such thing as Sindhi Biryani, as traditional dish of Sindhis.

^so what is student biryani? I mean Sindhi or what?

I stand corrected. My favorite biryani is 'adulterated version of Sindhi Pullaw'. It still tastes as great.

Its just a name. Doesn't really matter if it is not a traditional Sindhi dish.

The problem is that he doesn't have people to support him and as a PM, you cannot really do a lot, alone. Still better than NS though.

I admired him for his aggressiveness though, not for the cool head :D. He would implement a plan even if it hurts his own supporters. Many of his colleagues disagree with some of his decisions, but he would go ahead without considering political consequences. The road would be widened, no matter how many illegal plazas owned by PML(N) guys need to be razed.

balli = ~ Friend

KakaBalli = ~ My little friend