Unmarried guys

Re: Unmarried guys

It surely matters! A MAN should have an upper hand over the woman in all aspects to prove to the society his manliness and woman being 2nd class citizen who should be limited to his kitchen and his bed. Kyun khan sahib??Sahee kaha na? Apka Islam bhi Yehi kehta hai na?

"bestow this power upon your wife" --> I just choked on my chai. Thanks a lot, brother in Islam.

If she wants it, she's free to have it. No questions asked. Besides, Its the least I could do to make a woman/wife feel she's not the sacrificial goat the society perceives her as. Either she gets to be equally weak or equally strong. No inbetweens.

Peace all

The man's automatic right for talaq, and the woman's right to seek Khula are already the divine balance. If a man grants the right for talaq to his wife then ... For one thing it will not lead to a lasting marriage.

In my experience men are less likely to utter talaq ... And many times I hear the words "then divorce me" by the women folk ... I fear with their spontaneity coupled with the power to divorce, marriages just would not last too long.

I'm not being sexist ... Just stating what I have seen and experienced.

^ oh no, nothing sexist about that statement at all. women are biologically programmed to not be able to make objective decisions, right?

Right. I think I just got transported to the middle ages.

Haye main sadkay jawan. Someone give this guy an award. I'm sure you have one or two rishtas waiting in your inbox by now, well played my friend. :)

Interesting point…like…if woman goes crazy during PMS…and decides to do it… and then later on , regains her sanity… interesting point :hmmm:

Well said Psyah. Women are impulsive and let their emotions take over, while men are generally more level headed.

Haha, thankyou. Wasn't really trying to be a spoil sport for your party, Khan sahab. You shouldn't be worried though, I have my target set. ;)

Yeswek: thats a big generalization. It depends on a person's experiences. In my experience, Ive seen mainly men saying things out of anger, impulsiveness etc. while some women I have come across will not say anything until giving it a second thought.

That's not sexist that's a generality which is true, for the most part.

Men tend to think with sex in mind and women tend to get emotional. Both can exercise self control, but the fact that they have to exercise control over their respective natures, shows their predisposition to act on it.

Women *can *make objective decisions but they also tend to be emotional. And women do initiate more divorces, and in almost all cases cheating and abuse are not an issue. I linked the source in another thread.

If a woman had the right to divorce her husband she'd look at it as a huge responsibility on her shoulders and would go to any limits to keep the marriage and would try hard not to break the contract even if it meant suffering on her part as a consequence.

Now the reason why most muslim women don't want this right because they're either unaware of such condition/clause in nikahnama and the ones who know, well, they don't see the right to divorce as a source to obtain power, they see it as a responsibility and want to stay away from it.

So men who think of themselves as some superior beings should learn something from Spiderman, "with great power comes great responsibility".

Considering the way our society/culture works, women ought to be the last on this planet to ever resort to spitting out the word "Divorce".

Sad but true.

My initial point stands. With two people being able to break up a marriage easily then it makes the likelihood of marriages lasting longer reduced.

It is not as if she can't get the marriage to break ... She can by Khula, but God's wisdom is better than ours and we will remain as human as we were in the past and will remain as human until the Day of Judgement ... And the best people in terms of their humanity were those people who followed the prophet ... Just because we live in modern times we can't lay claim to being anywhere nearly as good as them ... Forget about being most progressed ... If anything we have moved several stages backwards.

Islam encourages conflict management not conflict conveyor belt marriages ...

Furthermore, the woman is given the Haq mahr that is her divine right ... If she has the power to give talaq then she should not be given any mahr either. But you see it is balance of rights that is found in the differing of roles in Islam ... To equate roles brings disaster.

Just imagine it ... A man egging on his woman ... In a fight ... "what are you gonna do ... Divorce me?" and she says. ... "yeah" ... And all it's all done ... Following the matters of Islamic injunction is what mankind will benefit from ...

Good for both.

Btw, I've seen some men do the same. Quran doesn't say why men are given this right so let's not assume that it has something to do with men being more patient and unemotional/fish-like creatures.

Whatever the reason ... There is one that distinguishes a man from a woman ... It may not be the one in my example but there is one ... You have mahr we have the right of talaq ...all is fair.

thats funny :rotfl:

I don't really care about the debate of mahr and talaq, I was just pointing out weird behaviour of some men claiming their superiority over women just because they can divorce.

islam gives women so much rights but still society still choose to suffocate them with their small minds. Nikka is contact between husband and wife and if the wife chooses she can as her right choose to have whatever she wants in the nikka nama

Peace crown

Islam is about giving both genders in fact all people equitable rights ... yes I can accept that women can have this clause ... this was never the point I was making ... the point I was making is that Islam promotes marriages to last ... and certain rights carry with them certain risks and those risks increase when we tip the balance either one way or the other.

In less common cases it is more virtuous to part when the marriage itself is a crime to either party ... otherwise we should always try our hardest to save marriages ...

The most pleasure taken by Shaitan is when one of his minions breaks up a pious couple.