Unconditional love

I was having a chat with a friend and we discussed unconditional love and she was adamant that a parent’s love for a child and vice-versa is unconditional and that NOTHING could change it/end it.

Your thoughts?

To change things up, consider the following scenarios:

1. Parent abandons child, bur before they abandon their child, he/she is physically, emotionally abusive
  2. Child is gay/lesbian.
  3. Child has a child out of wedlock - by choice (we were discussing surrogacy and sperm donation).
  4. Parent or child is a criminal (think of a heinous crime) and is unrepentent for their actions.

Do you still agree/disagree?

Re: Unconditional love

I don't think that parent's love is always unconditional. There are cases where a parent may either develop a grudge or even end the relationship over some conflict. But I think that often times the bond and the dynamics/depth of the relationship between a parent and child is such that ...it's harder to break things off completely....to not still have that soft spot for your child (whether you choose to admit it or not is another issue). It could even be argued that the people whom you feel the most love for...have the power to hurt you the most as well.

jab bacha paida kerren gi app.. tab bateye ga aa ker.

^I understand the point of having the experience, Monk. But we don’t live in a perfect world with absolutes and guarantees. :rolleyes:

Redness it comes into you. Its in your hormones, it don't have any thing to do with the brain.

Once my friends cat had still born, she started liking her kittens from previous birth.

Nature switch that on. Nothing you could do.

Is liey kaha hay ke .... jab ho ga to pata chal jay ga :)

^ Monk ji, kya aap kay bachay hay? Are you speaking from experience? And what of those extreme situations I described, don't you think the switch can be turned off because of them?

Monk, you were dropped often when you were a wee little babe weren't you?

:(

awwwww
you called me babe… :blush:

Awww, Monk ji, don't be sad :( I'm just saying if neither you nor Redness have kids, neither of you, and for that matter me included has first hand experience. We're all speculating and each of our perspectives is equally valid (or invalid according to others).

Redness we need to have kids ASAP, ab to logon ny bhi kehns shorow ker dia hy..

Lekin bachay agar ho, to ALAG ALAG!

I think whatever reason there may be no love 2 expresss or show but inside there is always some love for ur children it's natural

That's the point I was trying to make. Even if a parent is mad at their child.....the bond between them is such that it can be hard to have no feelings at all left....like there can be some love/compassion left...times where you miss your estranged child or look back fondly on memories, etc. Again...some might admit to it and some might not. But that doesn't exactly make it unconditional (not always the case). There was a condition...hence the change in the interactions between the two.

Peace Sehrysh

I think the answer to your question is that you should let your friend believe that she is right. I feel it's not that she does not believe you, but that she does not have the courage to believe you.

Her world will shatter if that one belief she holds on to is crumbled. That unconditional love seems to be her lifeline. After realising that she is being adamant you should understand that the issue is far more deeper than a simple debate.

I say hug her and say you are right ...

And let her live in that security in peace. :)

There are exceptions to every rule.

But we don't have to go out of our way to tell the Disney Princess that she is really a normal girl ... We should let her dwell in the world she loves.

i guess if an offspring goes against what the parents hold as important and uncompromisable to them, it's going to be messy. but if bollywood has taught us anything, in the end everyone'll be happy. so dont worry.

I find that with my parents, what Queer said above holds true. Everything is fine and jolly as long as it's going their way but if I "mess up" then all hell and its' grudges break loose. In such a case I would deem that love is conditional love.

:confused: