Umera Ahmed's "Meri Zaat Zarra-e-Benishaan"

I think they BOTH can be a little bit understanding and tolerant. Like reach some sort of a middle ground provided they talk abt it. But from Faisal Q's attitude theres no hope honestly. He's just belligerent and acting like a kid. The wife seemed a lot more level headed and calm.

Maybe all that loudness is a trait the character he's enacting or maybe its just bad acting a la lollywood...I can't tell for now!

Re: Umera Ahmed's "Meri Zaat Zarra-e-Benishaan"

In a way I think they are sending the wrong message with her Cancer, but I understand what they are trying to illustrate at the same time.

Even if this is based on a true story, I have yet to see this happen in real life. Bad people tend to get away with bad things .....

well she is too out there.... and he is has lost all trust in everything.... it is hard to come to a middle ground... i mean its not fair how she is not ready to connect with his family.

believe me its not lollywoodish... its so much close to reality.... thats human nature to react to wat is happening in life.... and they dont understand why?

^^ yep and he's playing his part really well.

A couple of hiccups in this episode that didn't agree w/ me but overall great episode. Esp when Tayee is going get me water, no turn on the fan, no fan won't help me etc.

wrong message how? because she's got cancer, and it shouldn't be happening to her?

why maroush (faisal's wife) wore shalwar kameez to work? arent they living in states?

The states is a free country. She can to work in a Scottish kilt or even a Halloween costume, it doesn't matter. In the real world, it may not please your boss much and he might suggest that you dress differently (if there's a specific dress code). Or he might even get dismiss you due to "other" reasons that "don't" have to do with your attire.

But really, she can wear whatever she wants to work. People here wear shalwar kameez to grocery stores, parlors, malls, restaurants, what have you. Maybe she mixes it up. Western clothes some days and more desi clothes other days.

There are times that I'll wear a kurta (if it's not one that's too long) over jeans or dress pants to work. It kind of looks like a tunic top. It's no big deal.

lol. of course i know about this. but when you are presenting a plot setting you present the most generalized concept. and its a generalized concept that girls living in the west are way to inconsiderate. so to me this a blooper.

i could have even talked about the architecture of the Faisal and maroush's house and also the background voices of rickshaws and motor cycle (which is quite similar to karachi's traffic) but then lets not get technical.

The way they have shown it, she got got cancer because she did bad things and her illness is her final punishment in this duniya

that's the wrong message. what about all the good people in the world who die of cancer? did they do something evil too? that's the wrong message they are sending. i think it just hit a nerve cause there are jahil people who have implied indirectly that my dad deserved cancer.

they showed the most extreme case here..... she had to die of a suffering.... wat more is a suffering from a Dx which starts to happen and just gets to last stage.

each case has a history.... in her case she was all healthy and all of a sudden sshe got cancer. normally cancer doesnt spread in matter of a year.... it is slow growing dx.

Mehnaz ..i dont think they are showing that she got cancer coz she lied...i think they are showing that " she realize her mistake" before she die..

Dair aaye…daroost aaye. Akhir aaye to sahi. LOL

Too bad…kisi ki zindagi tabah karne k baad hi aqal aayi hai. :smack:

han i know…coz wo to apne dil ka bhoj utar ke chali gaee…per us bechari ka pyaar to cheen gaya us se…wo waqt wo time wo insult..sab kuch pata nahi kese Saba ne maff kar dia…yeh sab karne ke liye bohot bara DIL chahiye…hai na?

i think she is too numb to listen to wat her heart will say..... she is still in shock as to wat and why all this happened.

hey Mehnaz - not to turn this into a religious discussion but here are some Hadith that should help you better understand the concept of illness and disease in Islam. So the next time the ignorant people say something stupid, you can teach them a thing or two :)

Abu Hurairah also reports that Allah's Messenger, peace be upon him, said: "For every misfortune, illness, anxiety, grief, or hurt that afflicts a Muslim -even the hurt caused by the pricking of a thorn - Allah removes some of his sins." Ibn Mas'ud said: "I visited the Messenger of Allah, peace be upon him, while he had a fever. I exclaimed: 'O Messenger of Allah! You have a high fever! ' He said: 'My fever is as much as two among you [might have]. ' I asked: 'Is it because you have a double reward?' He replied: 'Yes, that is right. No Muslim is afflicted with any hurt, even if it is no more than the pricking of a thorn, but Allah wipes off his sins because of it and his sins fall away from him as leaves fall from a tree'."

'Ata ibn Rabah related that he heard Ibn 'Abbas say: "Shall I show you a woman of Paradise?"I said: "Yes, indeed." He said: "A black woman came to the Prophet, peace be upon him, and said: 'I suffer from epileptic fits, and because of these, (at times) my body becomes uncovered. Would you invoke Allah, the Exalted One, to cure me of this disease? ' The Prophet, peace be upon him, said: 'If you wish, you can be patient and you will attain Paradise (for this suffering). But if you prefer, I will pray to Allah, the Exalted, to cure you of it?' The woman said: 'I will be patient,' then added: 'I become uncovered (when I have fits), so invoke Allah for me that I do not become uncovered. ' So the Prophet, peace be upon him, prayed for her."

same here. Plus it was quite the 2010 fashion. On one hand they show the old timey phones and on the other Mahrosh is living in the 21st century.
You wish they had worked a little harder on such inconsistencies.

I haven't paid attention to the rickshaw noices yet lol

:(:(:(:(

I cried like such a baby :(

2nd half of today's episode was VERY GOOD!!! Excellent work again by Samina Peerzada and Faisal.
The first half was a bunch of flashbacks so moved very slowly.

today's epi belonged to Samina Peerzada!!! ..... u can feel the agony of Tai Amma!!!
kya drama hai.... it make u numb through out the episode.... and u dont have words after its finished!!! My goodness!!! such power!! in acting, in story, in direction!!! amazing!!!

Fav scene was where Arfeen was drawing his hands away from tai amma..... kya capture kiya hai.... it showed disbelief and disgust!!! Amazing!!!!

^ I know, it was just tooooo goood! Can't wait for the next episode.