Umera Ahmed's Kankar

Re: Umera Ahmed’s Kankar

its not sanam baloch i watch its the drama :snooty:

Re: Umera Ahmed's Kankar

First of all thanks to Umera Ahmed, none of the characters is totally right or wrong or zaalim or mazloom just like real world, they are all round. Initially I felt sorry for Kiran but now i think she is equally responsible for what is happening. She cannot compromise at all given how her husband and in-laws act, she just needed to be a bit careful.. Throwing the ring and acting like a child for sure will make her husband angry considering he might have had huge problems at work.... She didnt even bother to ask the poor husband if everything is ok (in a normal way) and why is he worried, try make him calm, instead started showing attitude.

Nice episode this time and Sanam baloch acted very well.

A comment from Facebook:

Umera Ahmed na Kankar main bhut acha Topic uthaya hy ky "Mard aurat se muhabbat tu krty hn lakin us ki izzat nae krty"

bt it's seems ky wo is topic pa Drama sahi se nae likh payyen ........Kiran is really a chipkoo character ju har bat pa bilawaja bhass krti hy. asi bhaass koi bhi apny partner se kray tu wo gussa hu jaye ga... Secondly sikandar na usay marra that's bad but he say sorry again and again and tried to make her happy bt she is till stubborn. balkay she was saying to her mom ka my rozz rozz mar aur tannay nae kha skti.ya tu writer na story mn bar bar sikandar ki ye harkat dikhani thi ya kiran ku jhoota dikhain.......3rdly saray khandan mn is ka dhindhora peetna galat hy etc etc drama is such a Non sense.

Sanam & Fahad r awesome...bt my personal suggestion is that umera suld stick on script writing and later story kisi aur se likhwaya krain.

All this buzz got me curious so i caught up to this drama. Some thoughts:

1. All major characters are annoying as hell. ALL. Sanam baloch is badtameez and immautre as hell, arzoo is a complete loser who acts like faha mustafa knocked her up and ditched her, the phuphoo's daughter is a world class b$%ch and a complete bully who deserves a tight slap across the face by her mom. fahad mustafa need a shrink to work through his anger issues, but is the least annoying of them all.

2. Physical abuse is a NO NO, and there is no justification for fahad's actions. But sanam needs to grow up as well. The first time he slaps her, she acts passive aggressive for a full two episodes, starts bawling in front of her mommy and makes him guilty in every possible way. Then she gets mad at him and threatens to leave him. If she loves him like she claims, she should work with him to figure out his anger management issues OR leave him.

3. Why is she so overly defensive? that whole scene with the saas post dinner-gate she was painful to watch. Even an idiot could tell that the saas was igitated about the whole situation and sanam should have apologized to diffuse the situation and explained herself to the saas at a later time. But she continued yapping on and on and just made the situation ten times worse. and just when you thought it was done, she started complaining to her hubby about not taking HER side... over his mom... yeah which world does this idiot live in? *** face palm face palm***.

4. The whole miscarriage scene was very contrived. you don't just love a baby by falling to the ground. and if you do, it means you were going to lose it sooner or later. and call me evil, but i felt zero sympathy for her. she acted like a crazy Bi$ch. The poor guy looked exhausted! he had been standing in front of a burst boiler for three freakin hours. Never once did she show any love or concern for him. If that was my hubby, I would've cancelled plans myself and taken the blame for it. idiot women went on and on and on until he lost it.

5. I hope the writer doesn't go to lengths to depict her as the victim in this situation without highlighting her short comings, coz that would SUCK.
    Like hello!the man is not always the monster.

Sikander is responsible for her miscarriage he should be completely (not for few hours or days) ashamed for what he did. may be if he had told her in a nice, loving way that i am really tired today could u please make up an excuse that i have a fever or something she would have understood..but his attitude forced her to react in that way...which is justifiable. I also feel that sometimes sikander's mom do feel for kiran but then she ends up supporting her son cause it seems like she has that thinking 'i have been through such hardships as well, now she should too'...though it should be the other way.

I agree with this comment by someone on Facebook:

Kankar has started so many debates among the audiences. Most of them are debating whether or not Kiran's behavior is appropriate or not, how should she respond to the abuse. It reminded me of a masterpiece I had watched on PTV years ago,"Zaibun-Nissa " directed by the brilliant, Sahira Kazmi. It dealt with domestic abuse and how far it could go if the girl and her family does not take a stand against it. It's bizarre how lightly people take domestic violence, yes making your marriage work is important but what if you end up dead at the hands of your partner, in the process.
All I am saying is, take a stand the first time it happens, make him realize that this is not acceptable and will not be tolerated and if it happens again, do something about it, don't try to paint yourself as a hero who is putting up with abuse for a greater cause.

Sikander's behavior can't be justified; he has control issues. It can be argued that Kiran's hormones are out of whack due to her pregnancy...thus making her more irritable, etc...and this is something that Sikander could have considered. However, Kiran is also at fault to an extent; I wouldn't totally exempt her. It's hurtful to throw a gift so rudely the way that she did. Most of us would feel offended if someone did that to us. If she feels that Sikander doesn't have much regard for people's feelings as he does for material things.....then in that moment, she didn't have much regard for his feelings nor his gift. She can't accuse him of not caring for her family just based on this incident...especially if in the past he's been respectful toward her parents/siblings. Moreover, she KNOWS her family (unlike her in-laws) are not the kind of people to hold a grudge over the failure to attend one dinner. It was a bigger deal for her than it was for her sister/parents. If Sikander couldn't go to the dawat, then she could have kindly requested her MIL to attend dawat with her for a brief duration...or perhaps talked to her FIL about attending. Considering how Kiran's pregnancy made her in-laws especially MIL more pliant...she may have agreed to the idea. If Sikander were to fly off the handle for Kiran talking to his parents....then he's got ego issues. Yes, it is disappointing if things don't go according to plan and that happens often in life. It's not just Sikander who needs to control his ghussa and his hands.....Kiran needs to exercise some self-control as well. While exploring the subject of domestic abuse, I hope the drama somehow addresses Kiran's mistakes too......otherwise it's not gonna be as strong a case even tho Sikander is more at fault.

yeah exactly there is no compromise at all between them but at least siknader shuld not raise his hand on her in this sensetive situation , when kiran fell down so he left her alone in the room this was really bad and rudness shame on these kind of people they cant even respect and behave well with their wives :nook:

I'm really liking this drama.

sikander ka bohut common behavior hai, many pakistani men do this and are doing it!!! nothing new :chai:

jo b dikha rahay haen aisa bilkul hota hai!!!

UNFORTUNATELY!!!

exactly true all men are SAME :nook: pakistani ho ya angrez :stuck_out_tongue:

I loved how they showed the fact that children keep observing silently how parents deal with each other all life and learn 'norms' from that example to apply on their own lives when they grow up. Sikander realises that what he considered normal (his dad beating up his mom) is NOT normal for other people and everyone will not accept that like his mother did.

The last episode was nice. I'm a little surprised Kiran did not have more of a reaction towards what her mother told her.

Wow, loved today's episode! That scene between Kiran and Sikandar's mom when they came and how embarrassed Behroz Sabzwari looked after they left. I can listen to those dialogues again and again! People really believe what Sikandar's mom said and consider it their right to beat the women, break their bones or even kill her just if she doesn't act like a robot.

Great performance by Sanam, the life of this drama!

^His mom is pathetic...not as fitni as her sister (Arzu's mom)....but fitni nonetheless. She does like to stir the pot. The arrogance with which she greeted Kiran and her dad not only reflected poorly on her as a mil but cemented Kiran's claim of being mistreated by her in-laws.

Rukhsar's predicament is like a loose end in the drama...don't know how they're going to tie that up. She is just so bitter and if Kiran marries Adnan in the future....she'll have to put up with Ruksar's attitude. However at the same time....if Kiran does marry Adnan...her strength might serve as inspiration for Rukhsar to take a firm stand. Also, such a marriage, would be huge blow to Sikander's ego to see her happy with someone who can't provide her the luxuries he did. For someone who will end up losing so much, they picked an ironic but fitting name: Sikander.

While Sikander's abuse is the bigger issue, I still feel that Kiran's temper should have been addressed as she needs to use better judgment sometimes in terms of her responses to situations.

All men are same,and they never change their nature.. But i think a girl is wrong there, she must do some sacrifices to live happily ,although he is a gud loving and caring person, she should compromise ..!

I dont think so girl is doing any wrong n she is actually making her huby realize wht he is doing is wrong

It means drama is heading towards a positive end? Maybe i should watch it.

Umera Ahmed's Kankar

this drama definitely has a message and is addressing domestic abuse. There are no black and white characters. The characters have shades of Grey and u can have empathy for all of them . This is seems to be Umera Ahmed better works.

Although kiran is right about the whole beating in Islam thing, the way she chooses to talk to sikandar's parents its not right. She wants respect for her parents, the same dad who used to hit his wife, the same mom who sacrificed to stay in a marriage but humiliates sikandar's parents. kiran didn't turn out to be a weak person despite her mom's example so how is it fair to accuse sikandar's father for his son's behavior. It will be unfair if they show that it was 100% sikandar's fault.