Ulema who r they?

The Quran was revealed in the Arabic language, the expression of which is neither poetry nor prose, but has its own unique style and rhythm. It has rare beauty and grandeur; it is sublime. To translate such a language into another and retain its spirit, beauty, force, and depth is just not possible. An attempt can be made to translate a piece of literature, but when it comes to the Quran, which is a charter of human rights—a constitution—one has to be absolutely certain that the actual meaning is not lost during the course of translation. In addition, each language has its own phrases, idioms, and expressions that are specific for its culture and values. It is not possible to translate a concept that exists in one culture into a single word of another language that does not even recognize that concept. This can be illustrated by Persian and Urdu translations—they retain Arabic words like kafir, momin, mushrik, rahman, raheem, sabr, sawab, salat, zakat, etc. These words were in use before the advent of Islam and so the Arabs knew what they meant. It is of paramount importance for the reader to know the meanings of these words because they convey specific Quranic concepts and a simple English translation would either be in Biblical terms, or out rightly contradictory to the spirit of the message. Finally, because these words are used repeatedly in the Quran we should know the exact meaning of tht word in a Quranic term

Re: Ulema who r they?

*This glossary is based on the following universally recognized dictionaries of the Arabic language at the time of the Prophet (PBUH
Lane, Arabic—English lexicon
Lisan-al-Arab
Taj-ul-Urus
Muhit-ul-Muhit
Raghib, Mufridat-al-Quran
**DIN—this word has been used in various contexts, among them being ascendancy, sovereignty, management, conduct of affairs, ruling power, mastership, ownership, exercise of power, code of law, constitution, law of requital, an order. The Quran has described Islam as Ad-Din, which is generally translated as religion. However, in the light of the above meanings, it should be clear that this is not only incorrect, but distorts and negates the very meaning of din. Islam is not a religion (madhab), and it has never been described as one in the Quran. Islam is a way of life, a system, a code of law. In the external universe Islam signifies the Divine Order that governs life and the movement of the entire universe. The whole purpose of the Quran is to establish a universal order based on the Divinely ordained values of life. This is ad-din.
**MADHAB—literally means way or course. This word does not appear in the Quran and in Islamic fiqh it stands for "school of thought". It is usually translated as religion, and since Islam is described as a religion in English, the word madhab has come into use for it in Urdu as well. This is a fundamental fallacy—it goes against the very essence of Islam, which is a din, not a madhab.
**HAQQ (and BAATIL)—usually translated as truth or right. According to Lane, its primary significance is the state of being just, righteous, truthful, real or factual; established or confirmed so as to be undeniable. These meanings make it clear that haqq does not fall into the domain of ideas or thoughts; rather, it stands for constructive results of beliefs which manifest themselves in tangible form and are in harmony with the changing needs of the times. No belief or theory relating to this world can be described as haqq unless its truth is established by a positive manifestation of its constructive potential. These results are permanent and unchanging.
The antithesis of haqq is batil. This does not merely stand for ideas or actions with destructive potential, but includes all thinking and conduct that do not lead to positive results. As haqq means something that is real and true, batil refers to something that may be imaginary and/or false.
**EIMAN—to be convinced, to accept, to rely on, or to have confidence in something. This is usually translated as belief or faith, which implies acceptance without proof or argument, and without reference to reason, thought, knowledge, or insight. Faith is generally regarded as the negation of knowledge and reason. It has been said about Kant that, "he found it necessary to deny knowledge in order to make room for faith."

***WHO ARE SCHOLARS (THE ULEMA)
**We have so far seen the Quranic definition of knowledge. By knowing this it is easy to figure out who, according to the Quran, is a knowledgeable person and what the term actually means. The Quran has even explained this fact so there is no confusion:
"Did you not ponder the rain that Allah caused to fall from the sky, with which we produce fruit of diverse colors; and among the mountains there are layers of red and white which differ in shade and type, some being dark in color. Similarly, humans and animals are of different colors and kinds. Among the followers of Allah and knowledgeable persons (ulema) are those who are awestruck by the greatness of Allah." (35/27-28)
Physics, botany, zoology, and the humanities are all touched upon. The knowledgeable persons are awestruck because their insight has convinced them of His power and Wisdom in controlling the universe perfectly. The Quran has referred to those people as ulema, and in modern terminology they are called scientists. These are the people who study nature and after observation and consistent experimentation, conquer the forces of nature. Allah has put the forces of nature under our control, but only those who know the laws can manipulate these forces. The only way to become one of the ulema is to acquire this knowledge.
**THE ULEMA (MULLAHS)
**After learning the Quranic definition of ulema, it is an interesting exercise to compare our current ulema with it. They do not know the fundamentals of natural sciences, and their knowledge is limited to theoretical discussions and verbal emendations. These discussions are mostly related to issues that have no bearing on the universe or the practical life of people. The curriculum of religious schools is spread over ten years during which students study logic, philosophy, rhetoric, grammar, literature, etc, most of which is outdated. They also learn about astronomy, geometry, and arithmetic, which are also outdated. It is curious to note that the study of the Quran is not included in the curriculum. A certain exegesis (Jilalain) is taught that consists of only synonyms of the Quranic words. In the last year of study an exegesis of the second chapter of the Quran is taught (Bazadi). This is the education upon completion of which they receive certification for becoming an aalim (knowledgeable person). Here is a case in point to illustrate just how much knowledge these people have:
When the use of loudspeakers was introduced in India before 1947, a fatwa was sought on their use for religious purposes. The president of the organization of ulema, Mufti Kafayat-ullah, wrote:
"The device, about which the opinion has been sought, has not been seen but it is heard that such a device, when it is placed in front of an orator and he speaks while facing it, the device absorbs the sound and then broadcasts it to such a distance that the sound would not reach even a quarter of the distance without the help of the device." (Naqeeb, 10 Nov. 1941)
The Mufti then gave his verdict in favor of the use of loudspeakers. However, another aalim, Mufti Mohammad Shafee, a senior teacher in the religious academy of Deoband, published a verdict in a magazine in which the use of the devices for prayer was declared unlawful. He wrote that he did not know the nature of the device and how it worked. He sought information from the science teacher, Mr. Brij Nandan Lal of Alexander High School of Bhopal, and the teacher said, "Because of the use of electrical power I am hesitant to believe that the sound is original, and find it hard to deny it either because to prove otherwise is equally difficult." After this "exhaustive research" and on the basis on conjecture from a non-Muslim, a Muslim aalim decided that it was the decree of Allah and His prophet to forbid the use of loudspeakers. This illustrates nicely how ignorant the ulema are in matters natural and modern science; it is ironic that they still retain the ability to issue verdicts (fatwas) on them, however. In Pakistan not only is the expression of personal opinions a target, but law making has fallen victim to the same ignorant judgments.

PLease post source as well---

Jazakallah khair

what jahaalat!!!!

u expect a religious scholar to be an expert of each and every science????
this is ridiculous....
they take advice from experts on things in which they have little knowledge, and that is very right....

even the Prophet (saw) sought advice from others in worldly matters.....

needless criticism is all u can think of????

no they need no to be an expert in every thing, however they need to realize that they are not expert in other disciplines and take advice from them.

No ulema is expert in sociology and anthropology, however they refuse to accept that Rape and Adultery are different crimes and call them Bil Raza and Bil jabar. Why don't they go to such specialists rather than trusting their male instincts to come upon a solution. Any answer mughal sahab?

lol , :blush: how many times have you visted any madrasa , how many madras have you visited. how many curriculum you have seen there

by just imagination that they will be learning bala bala bala

its seems really interesting

with out any knowledge you are blaming every madrasa

first of all go to madrasa , get a database
check that with your own

inshallah you will be surprised

point out only one your imagination is really easy
but really working out is not

again an imagination
who says this to you
there are ulmas who are PHD in Science
there are ulmas who are medical Doctors

check out Asrar Ahmad
a well know to every one , he is doctor
check out to Dr Zakir Nayak he is doctor

there are many other doctors from Army Medical college Rawalpindi etc

stop blamming only on your imagination

who says this to you
again a blame based on your imagination
my advice is to go to any madrasa and check out

:smiley: i think you live in dreams
bahi jago and dunia deko

Bahi
check out
who use the term bil raza and bil jabar first

the person who call himself a scholar Javed GHamdi
a non believer ( rejector of ahdees- a person who rejects talks/advices of Hazoor PBUH)

check out the Quran
Does quran use different words for this

to you my advice is the same
go to madras
you will find experts in sociology and anthropology

have you visited any madrasa ?

tell me one where experts in sociology, anthropology and psychology and what not and what not are in the faculty.

Learning medicine some zillion years ago does not make someone current in the latest trends in cutting edge science. i am not an atheist nor a follower of Ghamdee however Dr Israr cannot be considered expert in medicine come what may. can you give me any reference of research papers written by Dr Israr and Dr Naik in professional medical journals?

a counter Question
is always come when people don’t have anwer to the Question:teary1:
i suggest again that you should visit some madrasa you will find PHD and Medical doctors with research papers

All ulmas having medical degrees don't come directly from madrasas
they get there professional degrees from normall medical colleges
if you say that they had read zillion years ago science then my Brother
all of the medical doctors of the world are getting zillion years ago knowlegde

if you don't agree with this , then you should admit that they people also have the latest trends in cutting edge science

Which Maddrassa are you talking about? i would love to know and visit them.

Why u hve to see the ullemas they dont hve keen eyes on nature.They study outed scripture which hve so much mis-conception which r not according the book which hve protected by Allah.That is quran.They hve to follow the devine laws of quran and hve to study scientific subject which will bring them to the people who r educated then people will follow and take advice from them
Wooh baat porani hoo gaye jaab yea Log ko andhereay main rakhtay.Now people seeing tht their attidude and behaviour is not good.IF people finger them sir ur behaviour is not according to quran they say quran ko tu koi samjh hi nahi sakta is k liye mukhtalif Uloom ke zarooraat hooty hai.Aaj arabic literature accessable bhi aur parhna asaan bhi net kholooo hazaroo books hazir abb kahaan bhagayeen gaye.now they hve to learn and understand quran.Other wise educated people will not follow them.See this wht MMA doing whenever they see goverment power they united for tht situation but dont salaat which other Agar aisa karain gaye tu kafir hoo jaye gaye.Koi shih nahi hai in ke nazar main

Fine, I can buy the statement that theologists may not need ezpertise in a different field, and should approach people experienced in other fields to understand issues etc. But then there must be honesty involved and not to use half baked knowledge to align with their own thoughts. A classic example of this is when procesdures like In Vitro Fertilizations were considered haram, and to some extent are still considered dodgy in some circles. Or the whole topi drama of halal-mortgages..call interest halal or call it haram, but dont give it a spin, call it osmething different and consider it halal when it is the same thing.

Minority though, small minority. the home grown ulema though follow a rather narrow curriculum which provides very little exposure to anything else, and even fails iin covering diversity in thought among muslims or alternate views of history.

major research madaris are a diff story but in your local madrassa types you would be hardpressed to find someone who has done matric let alone be an expert in medicine, history, economics or underwater basket weaving

underwater basket weaving. why do somebody who knows it be employed in a madrasah as an instructor?

So according to you truth again lies in between, some madariss do have such people and majority do not. Is this waht you want to convey Farudia?

1- underwater basketweaving was said in jest, but should the students who are studying there not be taught anything else? maybe history, sociology, psychology, basic economics and civcs etc. Not providing instruction in these subjects means that we are not putting forth scholars but carbon copies of a speaker, that is it. The challenge then is that the ‘scholars’ have no frame of reference on other topics at all. even if they are not experts they should have some basic knowledge, which they dont.

Yes, some large madaris which are more of the higher level madaaris have people who have background in other fields, majority do not…majority have the folks who have no background in anything else.

i was also joking, however man this is not a bad idea

You know guys, Ulemas of yesteryears were capable of being experts in many fields because knowledge was limited and could be consumed easily by single individuals. Nowadays, the case is different. To be experts in some field requires quite a bit of effort and long years of study, not 10 years in a Madrassa. What I may remotely agree with is that todays Ulemas may be at the bottom of the totempole when called Jack of all traits Master of none. They are only learned in their field of study, not experts. Plus show me how many of todays Ulemas do research or invent fiqh, its all derivation from religious sources, which many people can do with proper undertsanding and knowledge. There definitely may be some fields in religion where knowledge of Arabic and age old culture is required and that is to change perception of commonly undertsood things i.e. Hijab for instance.

You know, Junoon is an educated group of individuals however I don't think you would be callnig them experts in medicine and business planning.