Ulema and Political Guidance

OK. Hope this clarifies.

If the prayer leader is a VOLUNTEER, non-clergy, that is he is not living off of the mosque funds, then he can be the joe-six-pack.

However if the prayer leader is a "professional", that is living off of mosque funds (either partly or for all his expenses) then he gotta be a specialized person. And we cannot say about this person --- sub chalta hai ji. We have to be serious about this issue. religion is no joke.

Re: Ulema and Political Guidance

^ What I am saying is that there is no need for a 'professional' imam for leading prayers, atleast in local mohalla mosques.

Bhai,

Why are you doing this "behas brai behas".

Have you see the topic of this thread. Is it discussing mohalla mosques? Is the little Mullah from such street corner mosques giving "political guidance" read "rubbish suggestions".

Can't we just stick to the topic?

Although its often said, but i dont know how true that is. Barring Prophet Mohammad saw no one has been a complete political and religious leader at the same time.

In our recent history we find it was often the non-religious people who made correct political decisions for muslims, for example, Sir Syed Ahmed Khan was teh first to realize that muslims will be diluted in the European style democracy, he was the first to ask for a separate electorate for muslims, the principal which eventually lead to creation of Pakistan. He was also teh firs one to warn muslims to keep away from Congress politics.

Even in the Jewish state of Israel, it was the liberal jews that had main role in establishment of state.

Ulema are not involved in real politics and i don't think taht they are aware of how things work around the world, their idealism is not going to work.

We have seen that when clergy do get a taste of government they make concessions, like in Iran, Khomeini regime was more strict but gradually they have become relatively more open to west.

obviously we can have a more active religious affairs department of government for providing spritituality. definately, i'd endorse this today.

into the future i dont rule out ulema to have my support to form a government, but i say this on hope that the ulema would not be mentally battle-scarred from previous dificulties. infact i dont expect ulema to be unfriendly and form their policies on a military-like antagonistic agenda. im not aiming to deny pakistan a defensive doctrine, as you all know ulema can do defensive doctrines, but we simply need a balanced leadership.

theres some very charismatic learned muslims out there, im pretty certain they can help pakistan from the position its in today. however, if pakistan was a develpoed nation and its priority was economics alone then perhaps the capalist systems would be first choice. during my adult life pakistan has never had a government that the people have overwhelmingly supported in its work. pakistan would gain from a leadership which wins the goodwill of the people. stopping the rot and setting a future of co-operation and civility

lets get more ulema into the public eye to see if they can offer pakistan something that its missing.

You know Pakistans problem is its people. After all, the leaders which we blame for our ills come from the segments of our society.

First and foremost, what are the political issues for which Ulema are required. Before bringing anyone on board their role needs clearly defined and the authority they will hold. Pakistans systems run by influence not authority.

Who are you considering as "ulma"? If you are talking about Fazul-r-Rehman, Qazi Sahab, Sami Ul Haq etc, they are not ulma, they are simply political leaders dressed up in local cloths.

Although I am of the opinion that you can not separate Islam (or teachings of it) from day to day personal and national business (including politics). This is the main difference b/w islam and other religions. Islam cover every aspects of life while other religions fall short.

We are basically in the mess because we dont follow the teachings of Islam properly. To start with, Jihand can ONLY be declared by GOVT (or Hakomat-e-waqat) but look at this ..every 2nd guy sitting on mimber declaring jehad left right and center. Islam call out for rights of women, look at us how much rights we are giving to women and i can go on and on.

Ok then.

Who are YOU considering Ullima?

Tell us if we have even a single Pakistani-maulvi who has a good track record in giving "true political" guidance?

Its not black and white. good track for you might be bad track for someone else.

Fair enough.

So who are the Pakistani Maulvis you think are bery bery good in giving political guidance?

Very right ... I could to this long and distinguished list as well.

Islam forbids bribery and we all know where Pakistanis stand on that.

Islam forbids burdening the couple during marriage and we all know where we stand on dowry.

Islam forbids spilling the blood of another muslim and we have no other solution to a problem created by another muslim in our country.

Islam says treat your servants as your equal when taking care of them and we all know the servant culture in Pakistan.

Islam says be honest and trade/business and we all know where we stand on that concerning local businesses, dandi marna mein expert.

Islam teaches us to hygenic and clean and care for our environment and we all know where we stand on that in our beloved country.

Islam says give charity i.e. sadaqah/zakat and we all know at what time the bank accounts go empty in our country.

I could go on forever ....