UK Chicks

Re: UK Chicks

wow what this forum has come to? Fat shaming and generalization?

You’re preaching to a deaf choir. :chai:

haha, I share the same views on fatness. It is a reflection of a poor lifestyle choice and causing so many problems in today's society. It's disappointing to see it being so acceptable that criticizing it somehow makes you a "bad person".

As a side note, I know people with thyroid problems but they lead a very healthy lifestyle and are in better shape than people with no thyroid problems.

aray bhai sahab aap say to nahi maang kar khateen yaar.. khud kamaati hain ya apnay baap/shohar/bhai ka kamaya hua khaati hain.. hoti hain moti to hoti rahain UK ki larkiaan.. aap kion un ki fikr main ghul kar dublay hotay ja rahay hain.. :bummer:

It does make you a bad person. You are body shaming people which is abhorrent - it is the same thing as shaming someone for being too skinny, for being less smart, having small boobs etc. Because of people like you, fat shaming put people constantly on guard about their appearance. Everyone knows that being fat is not healthy but calling them out doesn’t help and it only shows your own bias against fat people. And frankly, calling them fat is none of your business.

And FYI its not poor lifestyle choice always. Lack of diet and exercise are only two of the many factors that influence weight. Genetic predisposition, pregnancy, depression, poor economic conditions and hence buying less healthy food (cuz its cheaper) all contributes to this.

Damn, the UK girls you know don't drink coca cola??? poor fatties!

Hear hear Doc!
Great to see a doctor give to them!

There’s shaming and generalization of pretty much everything else…why not fatness too.

This. I’ve read this kind of nonsensical “eww fatties are ugly and disgusting ewww” from so many so-called “medical” students on internet sites for erm the last half of the decade. Just like with everything, there’s a time and place and a way to talk about an issue. Picking on their habits or makeup or looks, under the guise of “i’m concerned for their health” really isn’t.

FWIW, tubelight is a troll so I’ll ignore the stupid comments, but the ones who are responding seriously to him…eesh…if this s the kind of the attitude they carry around, I’m sad for their future patients/family members.

Anyways, this reminds me of a BBC documentary my husband and I were watching about obese children…apparently UK has the biggest (no pun intended) amount of overweight/obese children. They featured a 4 year old whose teeth were all rotting…her mother, who was extremely overweight herself, said she’d let her drink juice and soda to calm her down, it was easier to do that than to stay up with her all night etc etc. and I’m just like…how is it someone so irresponsible can be a mother :bummer: This amongst other things, made her seem so so so ignorant and uncaring. Another family featured had immigrated from Romania, the daughter was 13 and overweight and knew it…she had the option of undergoing a surgery but it carried the risk of death. The Dr wanted her family to try diet and exercise first to reduce it…sadly after a few weeks the parents said it was too hard and wanted to go with the surgery. Poor girl, she was so smart and beautiful and knew that she was unhealthy but wasn’t getting much support from her family. Also I wish I could’ve had that surgery when i was a kid, even if it meant dying. Worth it.

Yes, i’m conflicted.

Just my $2.

Spot on. And what's up with leggings? Is this a new invention lol? I've def noticed desi women wearing it more and more in last 4-5 years..even some actresses on Pak dramas wearing them (they're usually portraying the character that is attention seeking, modern and not suited to be the life partner for the good looking actor who always somehow ends up with the more traditional girl lol)

Your weight is largely in your control so fat-shaming (and skinny shaming) don't make you a bad person. You are shaming a person for their lifestyle choices and supporting them is just encouraging an unhealthy lifestyle. I cannot imagine telling my obese patients "don't worry your (over)weight is perfectly fine"; instead, I would discourage their current lifestyle and encourage them to make lifestyle changes for the sake of their health.

I come from a medical background so don't need to be educated on the factors behind weight gain. For the most part, people are obese simply because of their lifestyles, whether by choice or circumstances. Lifestyles today are way different that they used to be, compared to even the last 50 years and explains the differences in body sizes. With the increase of processed foods loaded with sugar, saturated fats, sodium, etc, fast foods and sedentary lifestyles, you're bound to gain weight (and also a multitude of other health problems) unless you're actively making an effort to eat healthy and partaking in physical activity. Unless, you have some serious metabolic deregulation, you're not going to be obese with a healthy lifestyle. You may not be a size zero skinny, but you will be far from obese and will actually be a healthy weight.

^ in inner city, sometimes fast food is what is most readily available.

Am not a doctor. But I hear genetics has lot to do with it. Also, people tend to eat when they are down. I dont see the point in shaming someone who may have issues?

Oh right, now it's about health. I thought it was about all those 'fatties' with their non flat stomachs.

Choice or circumstance. Choice or circumstance. Perhaps try understanding what you've actually written. Maybe refer to your medical background to acknowledge that circumstance can be more than just physical circumstances.

A kitchen is more readily available...it takes less than 5 minutes to fix a healthy sandwich or salad or blend a smoothie on the go + nuts.

Your genes determine your body shape and fat distribution but to say genetics is the cause of obesity is incorrect. Very few disorders actually cause obesity.

Exercising when you're down also does wonders.

I thought this was about uk raised chickens

Obesity, not only women but men are too

Eating "emotions" I say play bigger role like depression
etc

Uk seems to be a gloomy place I think

I wonder if uk men are walking skeleton then ?

Uk is expensive and I don't think food come cheap

Being less smart, having small boobs, small, height, black skin, genetic problems are something you are given with & there is nothing you can do about that while on the other hand depression, pregnancy is something temporary. People work on themselves & get back in shape. This is something you can reduce & have in your control. These chicks not wanting to reduce their weight shows lack of interest in looking smart, healthy, in shape, presentable etc. I don’t know why people are defending fat people, it’s like encouraging them that great go ahead eat unhealthy. I think those fat UK chicks are surrounded by people like you who constantly encourage them to eat unhealthy, junk food, sit on a couch, be lazy & fat.
The things I have mentioned in my very first post are true, we all know that, defending these problematic chicks, one way or the other won’t solve anything either now will it? Even they are worried & want their people to be healthy. Guess what they can’t do anything unless people try to help themselves & start eating healthy. And since when fruits & vegetables became expensive?

Exactly, why don’t they get their fat asses off of soft couches & go out for a walk, run, jog or something but that’s difficult but eating junk food isn’t. Jogging is a healthy way to take your mind off things. What’s the harm in it?
I am actually astonished after seeing the number of people encouraging such chicks. They are giving lame excuses to justify their fatness. wth man :rolleyes:

There is nothing more frustrating than telling patients to lose weight--it could solve many of their health care issues including diabetes, heart disease, etc and actually bring down the cost of healthcare. But no patient actually listens. However, there are some people who are over weight because of other factors, and it's not as simple as saying they're being lazy--socioeconomic factors actually do have a huge impact on obesity. Cheap food tends to be the least healthiest. A single mother working 2 jobs to feed her kids is not going to always prioritize exercising even if she wanted to. Also atypical depression and chronic stessors which increase cortisol (a stress hormone) can lead to excess fat deposition. In fact, steroid medications that are used chronically to treat some diseases (such as rheumatoid arthritis or lupus, etc) can also lead to increased fat deposition and obesity. And yes genetics also plays a role. Encouraging people to lose weight and informing them of consequences is better than shaming them because we don't always know what's going on in their lives. Not making excuses for them, but it's not always as simple as saying they're just being lazy. Trust me, no one chooses to be fat.

And how many posters are going to repeat the same joke "I thought this thread was about UK chickens"..wasn't funny the first time and def not funny the 15th time lol

If fat shaming reduced obesity, there would be no obese people. But sadly, it doesn’t.

If you knew anything about patient care, you would know this is not the way to approach the patient. Obese patients already feel negative attitude towards themselves from outside world and that is the last thing they want if you are their doctor. They are obese, their knees and back hurt, they can’t breath and you are gonna ‘discourage’ them? I am pretty sure that patient won’t ever come back to you and this would make them more hesitant in seeking medical help in the future. Thats why there is a sensitive treatment of obese patient that involves not killing theie self-esteem. Person, not the obesity, should be the focus of the treatment.

Regardless, you are not the doctor of all the ‘fat uk girls’ so it should be none of your concern if their belly in hanging or what not.

Prices of high-calorie food and beverages have decreased over the years. I can tell you McDonalds fries and cheese burger cost way less than any other food you make at home. Poor people, overworked mom, foster kids who can't cook, etc. they would eat that rather go to Whole foods and buy healthy stuff. Significant advertising of soda/junk food leads to excessive consumption too. These complex societal conditions have created obesity and we should stop targeting individuals as the problem and solution of obesity.

And why can't they diet and exercise? Well, most do and they do lose weight but typically they regain 40% of their lost weight during the following year because of the biological safe lock built in our body through evolution. This makes it extremely difficult to lose weight long term.

What you are doing is stigmatizing them which only leads to unhealthy coping responses like binge eating, avoiding exercise etc. So you are not actually helping them by your ignorant rant.

I can go on and on but I know you won’t understand and I don’t have all the time in the world right now.

Agree with ur postz. Didn't say genetics is sole cause of obesity. It is one contributor.

Wrt kitchen in some inner cities difficult ultimate to get healthy food from supermarkets which r far off.

Yes exercise can alleviate mental.issues. but mind is a strange thing. When not all correct one does itrational.th8ngs.

IMHO shaming is cruel wrt physical characteristics including obesity.