I don't think Younis is a replacement for Razzaq, an all rounder will replace an all rounder. Drop Razzaq, and add Riaz Afridi or Rana. Agree regarding W/K, drop Moin and bring Zulqarnain.
Replace Razzaq with a genuine fast bowler. Since Shabbir and Gul are injured, how about Riaz Afridi or Rana?
Do NOT replace Moin. He is the best WK available from the current lot. If we have a better WK in the younger lot, then sure but I am not aware of any. Zulqarnain, may be but is he ready for Test arena?
Do NOT replace Moin. He is the best WK available from the current lot. If we have a better WK in the younger lot, then sure but I am not aware of any.
Even Kamran Akmal is better wicket keeper than Moin and i am sure young kid Zulqarnain would do just fine keeping wickets. It was Moin's gritty batting that used to keep him in the team. Ab tu woh bhi nahi rahi! I think you missed Moin's horrendous keeping yesterday morning. I was unfortunate enough to witness that.
Moin and Razzaq-- Out
Zulqarnain and Shahid Afridi -- in
Yes i did not write shahid Afridi by mistake instead of Riaz Afridi. I believe Afridi can be a tricky customer with the ball even in the tests. And he can bat very well for a number seven.
I would have Asim Kamal keep wickets plus I mentioned only two replancements since thats what Ehsan bhai asked for. I would personally also leave out Yasir Hameed and bring in Salman Butt. I replaced Shabir for Razzaq since I believe we need strike bowlers not allrounders who can bowl. In the next match Sami would be out anyway so I think they should bring in either Rana or another full time bowler along with Shabir so we would have a good first change bowler after the opening spell by Shoaib and Rana/Shabir.
Big names have always made the team. It is a general trend all over the world...but I think performance should dictate the selection of the team not the promise
OUT
Yasir Hameed
IN
Taufeeq Umar
OUT
Razzaq
IN
Rana Naveed
Remember, Pakistan's Batting failed...not the keeper or bowlers..so if there is a change it should be done on the batting side
FIRST we have to determine why we want to drop Razzaq. Is it because in test matches he is a weak link between the regular batting line up and the tailenders or is it because he can not bowl well enough as a third pacer. If he is not a good batter for test matches then we can bring YOUNIS Khan IN because he has a good temperament for test matches. But problem is that younis khan can not bowl and we definitely need some one who can bowl too. If we bring Riaz afridi in, then he cannot bat well enough. So at this point it is obvious that given the team's dynamics, we can not drop Razzaq until and unless we have a good alrounder ready to take his place.
The only possible replacement for razaq would be shaid afridi who has become a much better bowler lately. I am not sure how effective shoaib malik is as a spinner and therefore we need some more help in spin bowling. Afridi could be really helpful. In Pakistan I will never play with three pace bowlers. In India, Indians are playing with 2 seamers at the most. If shoaib and sami are not delivering we can replace either one of them with a new prospect. But no use of three seamers. Sri lanka played with three seamers but it was obvious that they wasted the third fast blower.
MOIN HAS TO GO NO MATTER WHAT. he is a shame and he should quit now. I careless if he scores a century in next match because he is of no use anymore. we need future investment and we desperately need a new young wicketkeeper batsman. I don’t know anything about zulqurnain and it is Babloo's responsibility to check new prospects in net and replace them with Moin.
MOIN OUT
RAZAQQ OUT
AFRIDI or another alrounder IN
Any new capable wicketkeeper IN
Drop Razzaq and Moin, only because no matter who you add in place of those two, there performance would be more suited to test cricket.
Moin is clearly very, very done. The guy can't bat if his life depended on it. Razzaq can't play spin so theres no point playing him against Lanks in a test.
I'm not sure Riaz Afridi is ready to play in a test yet. I would pick Rana as the replacement. Moins replacement is obvious.
*Originally posted by elahi: *
Drop Razzaq and Moin, only because no matter who you add in place of those two, there performance would be more suited to test cricket.
Moin is clearly very, very done. The guy can't bat if his life depended on it. Razzaq can't play spin so theres no point playing him against Lanks in a test.
I'm not sure Riaz Afridi is ready to play in a test yet. I would pick Rana as the replacement. Moins replacement is obvious.
I believe that Zulki will take place of Moin and there will be on top order change, watch out for Farhat or Yasir and since Sami is injured so Rana is in Automatically.
^You think ther ewill be a top order change?
I can't imagine they would drop Hameed. If they drop Farhat, I would be happy, but I don't think there is another opening batsman in the probables.
I have seen Taufeeq Umer keep wickets, he may not be a specialist, but be did a pretty good job, and no one is born a specialist everyone has to learn and adapt, for Taufeeq now is the right time for adaption, and I am sure you will all agree his batting style and temperment is wonderful.
*Originally posted by elahi: *
^You think ther ewill be a top order change?
I can't imagine they would drop Hameed. If they drop Farhat, I would be happy, but I don't think there is another opening batsman in the probables.
Yaar Elahi I think so but since Pakistan is uder pressure after "apnay pair per kluhari maar kar" I dont see they will turn the team upside down but I am hoping they make three changes and win the test match.
*Originally posted by pakinecro: *
this is what i think should be done, this keeps our batting solid while giving another attack bowler.
OUT
MOIN
RAZZAQ
IN
YOUNIS
RIAZ AFRIDI
Inzi has hinted its time for Moin to get a boot.
though no other changes expect the injured Sami.
I agree…and I was gonna say the same thing. Shahid Afridi has improved his bowling a lot…and he even said that in a post game interview…that he has concentrated a lot on his bowling. If Pakistan played Razzaq in a test match…then they should try Afridi too. Who can forget his 141 against India
*Originally posted by Aejaz: *
I have seen Taufeeq Umer keep wickets, he may not be a specialist, but be did a pretty good job, and no one is born a specialist everyone has to learn and adapt, for Taufeeq now is the right time for adaption, and I am sure you will all agree his batting style and temperment is wonderful.
so if my say counts
Moin OUT Taufeeq IN, leave the rest as is.
I was told that Taufeeq can't be Wk due to some knee problems, I don't know if Yasir can WK.
I would drop Abdul Razzaq, bring new keeper or ask Yasir or Taufeeq to keep. Let Izni come at 1 down, Yohanna @ 4 and Asim Kamal @5.