Twin bombings at Pakistan paramilitary base kill 69

Sad :frowning:

Twin bombings at Pakistan paramilitary base ‘kill 69’

A twin bomb attack on a paramilitary force academy in north-west Pakistan has killed 69 people, police say.

A number of people were hurt in the blast at the training centre in Shabqadar, Charsadda district.

There are reports that one of the blasts was carried out by a suicide bomber on a motorbike and the second bomb was planted.

The Pakistani Taliban said they carried out the attack to avenge the death of Osama Bin Laden earlier this month.
‘Recruits’

It happened as newly trained cadets from the Frontier Corps were getting into buses for a short leave after completing their course.

“I was sitting in a van waiting for my colleagues. We were in plain clothes and we were happy we were going to see our families,” Ahmad Ali, a wounded paramilitary policeman, told AFP news agency.

"I heard someone shouting ‘Allahu Akbar’ [God is great] and then I heard a huge blast. I was hit by something in my back shoulder.

“In the meantime I heard another blast and I jumped out of the van. I felt that I was injured and bleeding.”

Most of the victims - 65 - were recruits, but there were also civilian casualties, officials say.

The injured were taken to a local hospital and security forces sealed off the area.

A number of vehicles were destroyed in the blast.
Map

Shabqadar lies on the border with Afghanistan, about 35km (22 miles) north-west of Peshawar.

The BBC’s Aleem Maqbool in Islamabad says the security forces have often been the target of such attacks as they fight the Pakistani Taliban across the north-west of the country, but Friday’s bombing is the deadliest attack this year.

He adds that the Pakistani army - which has come under intense scrutiny and criticism over the Bin Laden affair - is likely to point out that this attack is an illustration of the sacrifices it has made in the so-called “war on terror”.

Later on Friday, army chiefs are expected to appear in parliament to explain their actions over the death of the al-Qaeda leader during a US commando raid in Abbottabad on 2 May.

In recent years, Taliban militants have killed hundreds people in bombings and other attacks across Pakistan.

Re: Twin bombings at Pakistan paramilitary base kill 69

AAJ TV is reporting 75 dead...inna nillaahi wa inna ilaihi raaje'oon! :(

This is so sad :(

Innalillahewa Inaelahe Rajeun

Inna lillah e wa inna elaihi rajeeoon ttp is saying this is just the beginning and there would be bigger attacks than these we should be prepared for more bad news

yehi sab agar karna hai to naaHaq ma'soomoN ko kiuN maarte haiN...jaa kar zaalimoN ke sar pe maareN to koi baat ho...sad state of affairs :( Allah sab ko neki kii taufeeq de...aameen

The way the situation is playing up it seems soon enough we could have a mutiny in the army and a full fledge civil war

Allah na kare bhai...musalmaan ke haathoN musalmaan kaTeNge aur kia hogaa...grass-root revolution kii zaroorat hai jaise Egypt meN huaa.

Well in this case they have attacked army/para military forces, and the army/security forces attack them so its a tit for tat, besides our army by colluding with the americans through thick and thin is not only tarnishing the reputation of the army in the eyes of its own people but on the other hand to whom the army tries to please are also not happy.

So by FC, I guess it means Frontier Corps aka the military police of the army? Their standards are pretty low considering they are in the army as they get blown up by rockets and this bombing.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un.

Inna Lillahi wa Inna Ilayhi Rajioon!

:nook:

:( damn america for bringing this upon us!

Most of the dead are FC soldiers.

Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi rajioon

I didn't see any change after the grass-root revolution in Egypt. Business is going as usual.

really sad news. inna lilahi wa inna alaihi raji'oon.

Well, the army is complicit in not taking out Taliban, and Taliban exist b/c they're allowed to. End results, the innocent people playing with their lives.

inna lilahi wa inna alaihi rajioon.

inna nilaahi wa inna ilahi raajeoon

i pray to allah(swt) that the criminals who do these bombings and drone attacks and assassinations on the muslims get humiliated and defeated.

who is the ones that wants to divide and rule the muslims then you will know is behind these attacks!

Who Are They?