Twenty provinces

MQM recently suggested having more provinces, in fact twenty to be precise. I know that suggestion is nothing new and has been suggested in the past by other groups and parties too. But now as it’s more painfully obvious that whichever party can win punjab in national elections is going to rule the country, especially when elections were claimed to be rigged, don’t you think that dividing country into more provinces is actually a good suggestion?

Re: Twenty provinces

Its good suggestion otherwise too (other than the election results). Smaller units are always easy to manage and accessible for awam.

But in the country where political parties (ALL OF THEM) are not even willing to hold local body elections (they want control over all the money), I do not have any hope that they will be willing and able to work on making smaller units.

of course, it is!

democracy works best when the power is not at the centre but is distributed at lower levels...all the way to municipalities, counties and cities.

the western countries have this model and it works great. we vote for federal, provincial, municipal and city representatives. we elect our own local bodies.

in that kinda multilevel governmental setup, Shahbaz Shareef doesn't have to chase in his long rain boots and chaDDii ahead of the sailaab. this guy will NOT have photo-op opportunities.

India is a good example that had handful of provinces during partition and now has more than 25 states I think. It seemed to workout feat for them.

In free world, governments do the same to giant corporations and break them into smaller companies to avoid the monopoly.

Not new provinces , Five regions of each four provinces , with most of the powers of the province
Soobay ka jhanda bhi ooncha rahay , awam ko Ikhtiar bhi mil jain

Nahi yaar. Iss se tou you are going to create mini states within a state

Its same as districts and we already have districts within provinces but what power do they have? nothing.

Major problem is this that many people and power full people will not ready for new provinces .

but india's state divisions are mostly linguistic in basis. very few have been based on other criteria and they been controversial. imho pakistan's problem isn't states but concentration of power with landlords because of no land reforms since independence.

but india’s state divisions are mostly linguistic in basis. very few have been based on other criteria and they been controversial. imho pakistan’s problem isn’t states but concentration of power with landlords because of no land reforms since independence.

India was able to preserve its culture to basic core level because of that linguistic division. Amongst other things, it created a very healthy competition in industries like film and tourism. Pakistan can do the same.

But I agree with the land reform part. That we need badly.

We have discussed many aspects of our regional issues and creation of new provinces
It is Pakistan’s biggest discussion on the issue
New Provinces : Bahawalpur, Multan and Hazarah

yes, Queer is right in terms of land reforms. India abolished zameendaarii very quickly and as a result landlords were kept in check.

i think this was one of the points that Maulana Abul Kalam Azad had raised in one of his interviews about formation of Pakistan. He had said that democracy wasn't a thing for Pakistan because of the feudalism and waderaism.

I think first we need 20 dams like ASAP and then need provinces

Provinces

We dont need them

Switzerland is like 1/3 the size of Pakistan if not smaller and they have 26 cantons. A lot of small countries have a good many more provinces than Pakistan and I think more Provinces would be a great idea.

Firstly Gilgit Balistan should be made a proper province. So should FATA (or incorporate it into KPK). Then the actual political elements would be brilliant because it would break up the power hold of Punjab. Of course you don't want to go down the route of US politics by dividing up political fiefdoms but yes you should have more.

A random number would be 3 per provinces, so you make 12 (plus FATA and Gilgit Balistan) to make 14. That will devolve power down to the provinces by default as the centralized system would no longer have as much control as it did. Secondly people would have more direct contact with their provincial centres of power and it would lead to more accountability.

Pakistan is the 6th most populous country in the world and the 35th largest country in land mass. 4 Provinces and 3 territories with dubious domestic status is just pathetic in this day and age.

Ask "bhai" that karachi would be splitted into 2 or 3 provinces, he would back out.

Twenty provinces is too excessive. 8-10 provinces can be made, four out of Punjab. Seraiki, Central Punjab, Bahawalpur and Potohar (which can include Hazara district as well). 2 in Sindh, 2 in balochistan, 1 fata and 1 GB.

If Karachi needs to be split into three provinces then it would great for altaf. He would have three provinces under his control

aur, ek laaloo khet, ek kharadar, ek landhi aur ek cheel chowk ko bhii province kaa darja denaa paRegaa. :D

We do not need new Provinces, Reason is Nafratain Barh Jain ge, Jitnay Zayda Parts , utni zayda Nafratain, It is human nature, and plz , do not compare Pakistan to Western Countries, vaha ka System or ha and as far as india and afganistan are concerned, there are dozen of Freedom movements in both countries. It is just becz of their 20+ Provinces. Their current Law and order problems are due to 20+ provinces. Now in pak, People are using this issue for Political Point Scoring, and this point scoring will break pakistan. Altaf hussain wants to penetrate in other Provinces cz under Present set up, he can not win even a single seat outside Karachi, he had been trying hard for last 25 years but failed. Now in order to fulfil his political dream, he has been using this New Province theory. Pakistan will wipe out if New Provinces are created. A danger of lightning a fire that can engulf entire country. (mahajar Vs Sindi) (Punjabi Vs Saraiki) (Pashtun Vs Hazara). So guys, we do not want Larai Jaghra , we do not want new Provinces. mojoda set up ko he Thek karo.