Erdogan says the masjid will remain open for all. Also the treaty of Lausanne which divided ottoman empire is due to expire in 2023 and ertugal becoming famous among masses.. Am i connecting the dots correctly?
Never been to turkey but i know this museum is extremely historic not only for turks but others as well. Read about it in Dan Brown's Inferno. So want to see it in real. Inshallah someday
I visited Aga Sophia and Topkapi and this is regression, it seems Turkey is slowly taking the path that Iran, Iraq and Libya took. Soon could be turned into rubble.
The first I've heard of this was because of the criticism of turning it back into a masjid. I don't understand what the controversy is, especially if it was already a masjid before being converted to a museum.
This place was registered as a Masjid from centuries ago (1453 AD). They just took action on it. What's new???
it was an orthodox church as evidenced by the mosaics inside before Ottomon Empire came into being. People are comparing it to Spanish mosques from inquisition being turned into churches like the famous Mosque of Cordoba.
Personally, how will they offer prayers with all the mosaics inside when Islam is iconoclastic?
Turkey Has plenty of mosques so they shouldn't have to stoop to spanish standard here.
[quote=““Pakistani Prince””]
Erdogan says the masjid will remain open for all. Also the treaty of Lausanne which divided ottoman empire is due to expire in 2023 and ertugal becoming famous among masses.. Am i connecting the dots correctly?
Sure, the Durand Line also expired in 1992…![]()
Why do Pakistanis believe in such BS?
Is this a pre-existing condition???
You entered in wrong room by mistake.
You can keep smacking your head a few times more until you see above the thread is about Turkey.
1-Have you ever been in Qurtaba Masjid?
Yes or No.
2-What is that got to do with mosiac? Explain.
3-Are you supporting Qurtaba Masjid turned in to a church??
Yes or No.
Bawakof you are comparing a border treaty which was nationalistic in nature (Durand line) to a treaty that ended the spiritual centre of Muslims (treaty of Lausanne). Apples and mangoes!
Chalak! Mei bhi hun!
I hadn’t heard about Ayasofia before but I don’t think the decision will change much. Turkish Christians mostly couldn’t care less. Byzantine architecture ain’t going anywhere. Tourists will still be able to witness the same Ayasofia as before. As far as NATO countries are concerned, they have an agenda which they will keep pursuing regardless of the decision.
Why have been posting this biased signature for a very long time?
You are like people from Hindustan, China, Burma.
or grew up watching Fox News in USA.
There is no “fascism” in Islam.
Some people, mostly from the Right wing, cannot find any fault with their religion or country, and can’t find any good with the “other” religion or country.
Are you one of them? Asking for a friend.
Acha, Khwaja hua?
[quote="“chapter 2"”]
Acha, Khwaja hua?
Ji bilkul. Waise, sab kuch kushal mangal tho hai na?
tera muu!
Actually the correct term would be "reverts".
Hagia Sophia was a Byzantine cathedral and symbol of Christendom for almost 900 years. It was in 1453, when the 21 year old Ottoman Sultan, Mehmed II conquered Constantinople (effectively ending the remnants of Roman empire) that it was converted into a mosque and stayed a mosque for another 500 years till in 1935, the so called "secular" Kemal Attaturk turned it into a museum.
So of course, people from US and Europe and Roman Catholics and all are not going to be very thrilled by this move of Tayyip Erdogan of reverting it back to a Masjid as was intended by his ancestor who conquered the impenetrable Constantinople (modern day Istanbul)
[quote=““Sheeda Pistol””]
Actually the correct term would be “reverts”.
Hagia Sophia was a Byzantine cathedral and symbol of Christendom for almost 900 years. It was in 1453, when the 21 year old Ottoman Sultan, Mehmed II conquered Constantinople (effectively ending the remnants of Roman empire) that it was converted into a mosque and stayed a mosque for another 500 years till in 1935, the so called “secular” Kemal Attaturk turned it into a museum.
So of course, people from US and Europe and Roman Catholics and all are not going to be very thrilled by this move of Tayyip Erdogan of reverting it back to a Masjid as was intended by his ancestor who conquered the impenetrable Constantinople (modern day Istanbul)
Yes.
Reverts or Reconverts. All Good.:k:
Erdogan is a thorn in the eyes of his opponents especially** Hindu Fanatics and supporters of Modi the terrorist** on this site, but he did what is right.
I had no idea of the Masjid/museum before reading about this controversy - if you want to call it that. The I read about though, my opinion on it now is that if they undid what Ataturk did, then it can only be a good thing.