TTC goes on strike starting Monday morning

I’m panicking already. I got work to go to and I don’t know how to get there.

Carpooling is out of question, as the other two students that I work with don’t live anywhere close to my area.

I don’t want to be taking cab alone.

The only option left is to somehow use GO train/bus. However, I’d have to walk about a block or more on foot to get to work. So it does not sound too good. :s

Any other ideas?

How are you all going to get to work, school or whatever else it is that you have to do on Monday that requires using TTC.

Re: TTC goes on strike starting Monday morning

I'm going to have to walk to work now. It's gonna take me all of 150 seconds :(

And it could easily take me over 3600 seconds to walk to work from GO bus station (ie. if I decide to take GO bus). :mad:

I thought you have a car.

I do, but it’s real lazy to drive instea of walk 2 and a half minutes. It’s actually quicker for me to walk to work than drive.

Well, I get to gloat until the end of this year. Inshallah next year I’ll move further away and then I get to stress about TTC / GO strikes :hula:

Ah! So you're glued to your workplace.

Masha'Allah bara pyaar hai.

Btw... don't bother moving away from work unless necessary. Travelling is a real hassle and a pain.

No, this place I'm living in is too small for my .... future needs. It's inevetiable that I'm going to have to move to a larger place, but that's gonna come at too high a cost in this area. Will have to go in hunt of cheaper, further away places.

*Going to get dropped off on Sunday at a friend's room on campus. Will go out like a bhikari and beg for a ride home once the exam finishes on Monday at 12 p.m. *

I am gonna walk - just 15 minutes each way :hula:
good for the health :halo:

This strike has just speeded up the process - for getting that damn car :mad:

Those concerned, know this:

GO Trains will be over over packed (as if theyre not already) so you will be really lucky if youre able to mesh yourself into one.

Taxis will be a rare sight and if you call for one be prepared to wait around 30-40 minutes.

And finally all those driving. Know this: Each TTC bus takes away on average 25 cars from the road. Imagine without a thousand TTC buses how many cars will be added to the roads. As it is T.O.'s roads are nothing to be proud of during rush hour things can only get very very bad from very bad.

If you have an option, i say let your employer or whoever concerned know in advance and just stay at home. Fire up the grill and enjoy the beautiful weather. :)

karachi ki yaad taaza ho gai * sighz *

yar udhar kam az kam rickshaa tu mill jata thaa :stuck_out_tongue:
idhar tu rickshaa bhi nahin chaltaa - backward qaum :bailan:

LOL. Actually you can get a man powered rickshaw in downtown.. Costs 3$ per person per block. :)

And so the horrible secret gets out about what Cheegum does off-duty …

I was happen to be at Union station around 4....and it sooo crazy....the place was packed with people buying GO train tickets. I am little concern myself about Monday morning even though i use monthly pass :(

I am sorry but —> :rotfl:

Ab maza aaya? :disgust:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=177254&highlight=Toronto

I hope you would learn your lesson and start thanking them and realize what value they hold :hula:

im gonna get a day off on monday yeehaa....ttc...strike on tuesday too ( i wish )

Arey strike par hi to jaa rahe hain ,,,to jaane do.kuch dino ki unko bhi chutti manane do:D

for once I'm glad to be in Waterloo and not Toronto.

I think that’s what he does when his cab breaks down :hehe:

I have a 9am exam. I think I want to strangle someone. Some of my friends are carpooling but I am terrified of the traffic. Getting a ride isn't an issue, it's the damn 5 hours it'll take to get downtown. I think I might end up bunking with a friend on campus, need to convince me mom first.

Sigh.

I have an exam at the same exact time. If I wasn’t staying at my friend’s on campus room, I would probably just get to the university library the day before and sleep there like a bum, get up and take the exam, and then do some bheek mangaai for the ride back home. Really.