trying to conceive

Re: trying to conceive

Pumpkin, I think good things will happen for you God willing. Here's our story, very similar to yours. My wife has been taking birth control for years and then in mid 2006 both of us felt that we were in a good place for a baby so she stopped with the birth control pills.

It took 2-3 months just to figure out what was going on with her cycle, eventually after 3-4 months, we realized that things weren't happening for her ovulation wise. We went to see a fertility guy, here's where I think we were very lucky, we went to some of the finest fertility folks, who also happen to be friends of ours. Anyway, we did blood work, tests, pokes and prods, and eventually she was put on Clomid.

After the first round of clomid, she was pregnant, after about 10 weeks, we lost the pregnancy, needless to say it was devastating for both of us. After 2ish months of recovering, there was more monitoring and poking an prodding and another round of clomid, still no IUI, again, she got pregnant, again, after about 12 weeks, another loss, again, devastation. 2-3 months of recovering, more testing and prodding, this time they looked into her uterus to find a 5 mm fibroid at the fundus of the uterus, they recommended taking that out, would it make a difference? Maybe, maybe not. So our very good friend operated on her and took out the fibroid.

2 months of waiting and recovering, another round of clomid no IUI, by this time it was end of December 2007, again she got pregnant, and now Lila is almost 4 months old.

So all I have to say is, hang in there. The worst part is between failures or even short lived successes. May God give you and your husband the strength and patience to deal with this whole thing, remember, God does not test beyond your means, hang in there, really, also, see a counselor, it helps. God speed.

Many heartfelt congrats to you AA!!! Its well worth the wait yeah? I am so very happy for you!! :)

PP - For me waiting was the hardest part and since you have to wait A WHOLE MONTH for the the next cycle - it can be a slow process.

If this month nothing happens - make sure that you increase the dose for clomid. TIn my opinion doctors are very LAZY. Theyw ill have you repeat the same treatment for 3-4 months and then say "oh this didn't work, lets what else we can do"

You have to be a bit assertive with them. Don't think that they are the experts.

A mistake that I made was repeatly for 6 months doing the same thing over and over again with clomid and ovulation. Then I researched other things like increasing clomid, starting metformin, tracking ovulation from both ovaries, making sure you had all your tests like tube test done.

You can increase the dosage of clomid. I ovulated on my 18th or 20th day of my cycle. I also got the ovulation monitor to help me dtermine when I was ovulating. It was about 125 on ebay. You can buy the sticks seprately.

MO3 for how long should one use this medicine and are there any days better than others, like will it be better if one takes it before the ovu. days?

Good luck dear :)

INSHALLAH...... May Allah give healthy baby soon Ameen...

hope this helps: Pregnancy Quick Start - Natural Fertility Boosters

good luck will pray for you.

Pumkin pie, best of luck. May Allah give you great news.

I read all the post. Didn't understand much but got some idea.

Good luck to all those ppl who are trying to concieve. Dua is the best thing to achieve anything. My prayers for you all who are trying to concieve.

Keep trying all you. Don't get frustrated. Be ralax. Hope in Allah to give you naik and shareef child. Keep trying whether he bless you or not with a child always thank him.

My mom didn't concieve for long years. I don't think she took any medication she just prayed everywhere. To every mazar. She got masha Allah many kids.

What I saw when all the ppl who adopt a child get pregnant after adoption.

Be patient. Keep praying and ask everyone to pray for you.

Dua taqdeerain badal deti hain. Insha Allah. Meri dua bhi un sub kay saath hain jo koshish main hain.

Awww...hugs to you PP. I know its tough...it took me 3 1/2 years once I started seeing a fertility specialist...and lookit me now! INshallah, will be the same for you. Each time that you are disappointed will serve to make you that much more thankful, that much stronger, that much of a better mom.

Hang tough! Will keep you in prayers.

omg! i hope all those trying to conceive, do conceive soon. i recently got married, and wasnt plannign to have a baby for atleast antoher 5 yrs. im 23 yrs old. but now im getting scared!!! 5 yrs from now plus another 10 yrs if i dont conceive after trying(god forbid)!!!! ahhhhhhhh! i dont wanna start trying right away! i have my whole life to live... why do things have to be so difficult.

btw, if someone is taking birth control pills/injection (anything to change the hormone levels), after they get off them, it obviously takes some time for the cycle to return to normal right? but birth control that changes hormone levels, can it lead to difficulty in conceiving? if yes, then how common is it that people that took such birth control find it hard to conceive?

Hi Sumorani

I thought the same..but after hearing all these stories, it might nt be such a bad idea 2 start trying now..once u have had one, u can relax 4 a bit! Im also 23...

I know so many people who waited 2-3 years and then started trying and to this day are trying...its been over 6 years....scary!

sumorani: thats what my mom would tell me when i was getting married... to not wait... she would calculate everything out just like you did... u get married.. waste 3-4 yrs cuz you have to 'enjoy each other before bringing in kids' .. then u start trying to have kids, then u run into problems. and before u know it.. ure 35 and still no kids...
i found it so funny how she would say it all out but once i got married, and i met so many couples having problems conceiving.. we tried a yr after marriage... and im due april 4 :)

you can never know each other enuff... and a child really honestly does bring the 2 spouses closer together (granted they have a loving relationship to start with).. the changes ive seen my husband go thru. become more kinder, sensitive towards me, loving .. he was all these things before but now its just overkill :D

as for the pill and injections... i dont know.. i thought i would too before marriage.. but we decided against it after the wedding... i read up on it so much and it was all about ure luck and chances.. even though they arent that big and most women go onto have healthy and quick pregnancies without any issues once they come off the pill.. there are some few unlucky ones... i used to think.. so what if im one of those unlucky ones?
for me it was about.. if my body works perfectly, why would i put something in there to mess up the wiring? let the man take care of protection... he doesnt have to take anything internally... why should i?

^ totally agree with you khawa

Nowadays I see alot of couples getting depressed over not having kids ( I have some in my own family who's been trying for years now but no luck ) I have started to feel lucky now thanks to Allah . but I wasnt like that when I got married and had my first baby when I was very young.

Pumkin pie, good luck to you and you will be in my prayers . InshAllah you will get a good news . dont worry if it's taking time .it will happen inshAllah (my mother had her first child after being married for 13 years and my mil had her after 17 years ) so never lose hope :)

I spent alot of time in the waiting room of the fertility docs office and also worked in the field for a few years....none of the infertility patients had trouble due to "the pill". More than a handful (myself included) had trouble due to the Depo-Provera injection - the 3-month birth vontrol injection. It shut down my reproductive system completely and it didnt want to start back up. I suspect that any type of birth control method that takes away your monthly cycle could have that effect so I would be very wary of those.

Thanks for the advice. I guess I'll start thinking about it in a yr.

Also, maybe this is a stupid question, but can any infertility problems be hereditary?

Sumo, dont worry abt things that havent yet happened and things that you cannot change! You are young and healthy yeah? So the statistics of conception without difficulty are surely in your favor. No need to worry for now yeah?

Sure, there are certain things that are hereditary that affect fertility. Things like PCOS, tubal blockage, vascular issues in male reproductive organs...these can be inherited. But they are not the norm.

You have to remember that when you see one post about troubles in conceiving, there are vast numbers of people who do not post because there are no issues.

for me it was about.. if my body works perfectly, why would i put something in there to mess up the wiring? let the man take care of protection... he doesnt have to take anything internally... why should i?

I do agree with that..I was on the pill for the first couple of years after I got married and I really hated the idea of changing up the natural way my body works. My cycles were messed up for quite a while when I got off the pill. We are currently TTC, but afterwards when we need a form of contraception again, I dont want to go back to the pill. Condoms just make so much more sense to me, as they are external and do not interfer with your body, dont introduce all these thgs into you etc. I told my husband, I did my bit, afterwards it will be your turn!

You are in my prayers PP :hugz: May ALLAh bless you with healthy child ameen