Trying to Conceive (The highs and lows)

Can we make this a sticky please,

As a verys weet guppan advised, it would be nice to have a thread for all the ladies who are tryingto concieve so that we can talk about our higs and lows

I appreciate it is a sensitive topic but there are so many days when knowing someone else is going through and may have some invaluable advice could be the disfference between happiness and heartache

So join in ..

My situation

I have been trying to conceive for over a year and a half, doesn’t help that hubby is far away but I must have spent 8 months together on and off with hubby and willed for things to happen and Aunty Flo comes along every month

I went to see the Doc yesterday and he has got my blood test results back and everythign seems in the normal line ..progesterone is 20 .. I was bad and took unprescribed Clomiphene (Clomid) so not sure if they may have elevated my 20 day progesterone but thank ALLAH there is nothing majorly wrong with me

Only issue is taht Doc said for me to be referred to a Gynae I need to have hubby checked and that can’t happen as he is Pk at the mo so will have to pray and pray that ALLAH lets it happen

Re: Trying to Conceive (The highs and lows)

This is a nice thread. Thank you for starting it.

My Situation:

I have been trying to conceive for almost two years. My husband has no issues, they lie with me. I have slight PCOS and a low ovarian reserve, and I'm only 30. I did the medications, then the injections and a couple of IUIs but no success yet. I am not as stressed as I used to be, I believe Allah has given me this patience, that it will happen when it's meant to be. I believe my next step will be IVF.

Nice Thread.
I have been TTC for about 8 moths. This is my second time so dont have big issues just slight POCS. got all tests done so just waiting and waiting.
I do get very stressed each time i get my period as my daughter is 2 and half and she is growing up very fast and every one tells me that i should have had another baby by now:teary1:.

Hi R Cubed
InshALLAH your patience will be rewarded

So what has the doc advised for you to do in regards to diet and control

I have been reading a lot these days about estrogen and progesterone levels and also things that affect fertility and realised that coffee/Tea can significantly reduce fertility

I am learning a lot about the cycle and how to detect, before I just assumed it would all work out and I wouldn't need to worry about it :(

You know when people pressure that messes up our hormones, we need to learn to ignore them and just stay positive, I am so happy you have a blessing already in a child and may ALLAH give you more

Where's Afshi?

Very nice thread.

My story:

I am 25. I have been trying for 1 and a half year now. Hubby is perfectly fine Alhamdulilah. I was diagnosed with PCOS and hypothyroidism. I have been taking metformin and levothyroxine for these problems, Alhamdulilah hormone levels are normal now. But the problem (as normally all PCOS patients face) is anovulation. I dont ovulate regularly. So for trying naturally for about an year, i went to a fertility specialist. She put me on monitored clomid cycles. I had my first round of 50 mg, ended up in chemical pregnancy. Second round of 100 mg didnot work, i took provera but ended up with a cyst. So since august i am waiting for cyst to go away and this is one stubborn cyst. I am on BC pill right now, expecting my aunt flow around mid October. I hope the cyst is gone by then otherwise my doc will just drain it out so that i could continue my clomid cycles.

The journey so far has been an emotional roller coaster. Phases of anxiety, depression, tears, anger, disappointment etc etc but the only thing that keeps me going is faith in Allah Taa'laah, along with my husband's support. Almost everyone i know who is appx of my age is either mashAllah pregnant or have kids and i am so happy for them. But at the same time, seeing their babies just make me want my own. Also my friends dont know about me trying to conceive and going to a fertility clinic, only few close family members know. Its a very personal matter for us. I dont want my friends to know because i dont want them to be conscious about what they say infront of me, i just want them to be themselves when they are with me. I just pray that may Allah Taa'lah grant us all with healthy and naik kids Ameen.

Veryyy good thread.

Roshni.. dont listen to others... u will not get pregnant by stressing .. my doctor said it messes up your hormones.. so stay happy, relaxed and keep on trying.

we have been trying for around 4 months. Had a chemical pregnancy last month. Doctor said its a good thing, now atleast i know i can get pregnant. My husband wants a baby quick.. heheh.. I'm nearing 30 and really looking forward to get pregnant soon inshallah. Will keep you posted.

My story:
Had a surprise pregnancy in Jan 2009, ended up in an ectopic after which I gained 50 lbs and that resulted in PCOS and insulin resistance. Been trying for the past 1.5 yrs off and on but due to no-ovulation haven't had much success. Went to a fertility specialist after much frustration and they tried to induce my periods using provera which didnt work (did 3 cycles in one month), after which they gave me some other med (dont rememebr the name) and it brought on the much awaited aunt flo, started my first round of follistim as clomid did zilch on me - they called me on friday for a cycle check, and nothing had progressed and then they asked me to come in on Sunday and by tht time I had already ovulated, couldn't do anything so waited for aunt flo.. stopped for a few mnths thinking I could lose some weight but nothing, so went back after which ramadan started.. kept on taking the drugs at night and ovulated while I was admitted in the hospital for stomach inflammation so tried for the third time and this time follistim did nothing for me, the follicles never grew beyond 11mm and by the time they figured that out, I had to fly to Qatar.. so here I am, doing an OPK every other day to see whether I'm ovulating but havent seen any surges til now. Going to call the OB/GYN for an apptment so lets see what they say :)

Please pray for me as well :)

Prayers for all of you ...... May Allah talah bless you all with a healthy baby ameen

Angeleyes, the less people that know the better

Many have not got the ability to respond appropriately and can cause more pain rather than provide relief..

inshALLAH it will happen for us all ..

It is best to rest and be at optimal health

For PCOS , cutting down on white carbs will really help

Mysti ... Seems like bad timing :(

I have the same situation.. When it is time to see hubby (he lives in another country, i seem to start my period and have to be back before ovulation days..

This time the 5 days I would have been with him would have been my "aunt flo visit" I actually changed the tickets to a week later and reach on the 14th day of my cycle which is the ovulation day, it is still maybe too late but inshALLAH I pray that things work out good..

**AngelEyess ** you mentioned you have a cyst. Can you tell me where the cyst is located. Because i think i have a cyst too.

Did you have it checked from the doctor?

Its on my left ovary. I never would have known if i wasnt being monitored by RE.

^ oh ok its on the ovary.. I have felt some cyst on the cervix after the chemical pregnancy. Should i be worried and have it checked, have no pain though ?

I haven;t tried yet but I look forward to the diligent process :k:

vanishes

Well i am new to this forum and really liked this thread so my story is i am nearing 30,my periods since i have started having them are very regular,my height is 5 foot and i weigh 95 pounds so weight is not an issue...i have been married since last 2.6 years,we started trying last year for 5 months but nothing happened,i used to do the saliva test that tells if ovulation is about to occur but never never get to see the pattern that indicates that ovulation will happen within 24-48 hours,i started taking basal body temp...record it for 3 months and it always showed a drop on the 7th day of the cycle and in those 5 months we always tried on the 6th day but nothing happened..then due to some unavoidable financial circumstances we stopped trying and now after 7 months we have started trying again..good thing is for the first time my test came positive on the 11th day of cycle (i am using ovulation test strips now) my period date is still 7-10 days from today and i cant feel any signs of pregnancy.
I went to see my Gynae twice but for pap smears...there are no tests or anything but she said everything seems normal by only checking so i dont know if everything within me is normal or not :)
Any suggestions/advice shall be highly appreciated! and i pray to Allah that all of us shall be blessed with this naimat soon inshaAllah.

Confucius - Thank you very much for starting this thread. I feel so alone in my infertility woes and sincerely hope we can all be a means of support, encouragement and hope for one another as we are all TTC.

My story: My husband and I are both 29 years old. We have been married two years and I became pregnant two months after marriage but the pregnancy ended in a very early miscarriage. I was so distraught by the miscarriage I decided I did not want to try again until close to our 1 year anniversary. At that point I went for a lot of bloodwork and discovered that I have hypothyroidism and auto immune disease (anti-thyroid antibodies and anticardiolipin antibodies). I decided to continue preventing pregnancy until I was on meds and my TSH and other hormone levels stabilized. I also have very irregular periods and am currently on my first "investigative cycle" at a local fertility clinic to check if I ovulate normally and am going for a sono on Wednesday to check for tubal defects. We have been trying for approximately 7 months but I have not had 7 cycles during that time because my cycles are very long - 40 - 55 days. This is one of the most frustrating aspects of it - having to wait a LONG time to try again.

During this time, everyone and their mother seems to be getting pregnant around me. Although I am happy for them, I can't help but wonder if I will ever become a mother.

I sincerely beleive that Allah tests those with the strongest faith the most. The stronger your faith the harder your test. InshAllah we will all be blessed with a bundle of joy soon. May Allah give us the strength to remain patient and keep our faith strong and may allah answer all our prayers and reward us for our patience.

confu: very nice thread. Thanx 4 starting it. It give us strength n support...

Pakista .. :hugz: InshALLAH things will be positive for you, stress less. I’ve learnt that stressing is the worst thing you can do to try and conceive. inshALLAH you will be blessed with a little Pakista very soon