Gupshup was my first Pakistani forum and is the last one as well. I have made more friends on this forum then on any other forum in the cyber world [nonpakistani forums]. Most of the people here I trusted in the beginning but then shifted away and with some my frenship went on a level up meaning started to trust them more .. and there were few people who I didn’t trust in the beginning but then later it changed due to few reasons.
My questions:**
How do you go about trusting people online or on a platform like this Gupshup?
How do people on this site decide, which guppy will not backbite them and will respect their privacy till the end?
Is it the blind trust that everyone does based on few interactions with the guppy? or is there any thorough process behind trusting someone that one uses??
How do men on this site go about trusting a women or other man online??
Does the base of trust starts after having a talk with someone over the phone or meeting in person or none?? or both??
I have seen that a trust between guppans starts [mostly not all] from the Wedding forum or Blogs. The desire of knowing what other bride wore on her wedding day is soo charming that it makes the bitter person come out sweet just to see the wedding dresses. And that sweetness and praising someone for the moment gives the key to enter to the private life [blogs] of other person… I could be wrong but this is what 60/70 percent what I have witnessed. And then if there turn out to be some disagreement between same people then private info is used to bash that person. We all have seen and witnessed it gazillions times on this forum.
I would give one little example about my way of trusting people on this site:
There is a guppy on this site with a nick TLK. When he started to post on this site, he was bit funny, bit witty and lil baysharam. These were my initial thoughts about him. But later following his posts and blogs and interaction with him at some occasions made me change my opinion regarding him. Now he is the second most respected and trusted person on Gupshup in my eyes. My opinion changed not by talking to him over the phone or meeting him in person [which i didnt btw] but by seeing how he interact and deal with real life serious situations - this gives one an idea that yea this person does carry around an intuition to be sensible, respect people around him and not to betray ppl’s trust online.
Online life might not be a big deal for many here but one needs to keep in mind there are REAL people operating behind each and every nick. If you treat each nick as if you are talking to that person in real life then you might be able to respect their privacy and trust as you would do in real as well.
what do you all say??
p.s. I would take TLK as my next Director of Gupshup anyday over Ehsan Ji
pps. This thread is NOT aimed at anyone in particular. Recent events just triggered the ongoing thought to make the thread and listen to everyone’s opinion. I apologize in advance if anyone thinks I am pinpointing at someone. If I was then I wouldn’t be afraid to name anyone either =)
“Was” is such an unneseccary word here, especially since you mentioned my besharmi
None taken by JL and ASN, I hope
Yeah X2 ka buchcha always beats me in the trust and respect area. He is such a facade, I am telling you
dekhain ji agar aap ko mujh se milna hai yaa phone pe baat kerni he to direct bolain. Idher udher ki baatain na karain (and you thought that my besharmi was a temporary phase )
Lo buchchoo, iss ke baat na srif aap ban bulkay main bhi ban, Ehsan bhai will think that I am bribing you to say that
BTW, to me it looks that you are too quick in constructing/changing your views about anyone ... not a person I can trust in my real life :)
if thats your opinion then I have no problem with it. But at least you gave the answer which is fair enough.
Thankoo ..... but hey I may be wrong as I myself constituted an opinion about you too quickly :)
that was the point :D
no problem, it happens and its bound to happen on and off I think in online world. Generalizations are there but forming an opinion and judging a specific person online does takes time and TLK was my example b/c it took time over a yr n so to change my opinion about him and yes he did prove me wrong.
p.s. TLK remember to paypal me 500 dollars check in a day, right?
I think everyone here talks about everyone in one way or another.... not necessarily bad... it could be good things too.
I dont think its a wise idea to put too much trust into a person without even meeting/seeing them... some people are very good at lying and acting... while there are some who you can clearly see as liars or hypocrites, there are others who mask it well and their facade almost never breaks down.
I think everyone here talks about everyone in one way or another.... not necessarily bad... it could be good things too.
I dont think its a wise idea to put too much trust into a person without even meeting/seeing them... some people are very good at lying and acting... while there are some who you can clearly see as liars or hypocrites, there are others who mask it well and their facade almost never breaks down.
yes above all is true. BUt lets say you don't have much chance to meet the person in real life then how can you differenciate between that person being on your good fren's list from a person who you can't really trust but can put on a ur fren's list?? or do you deal with everyone at a same level until you meet them?
Trusting some online is blind trust . Blind in the sense that the person you are communicating to and placing your trust in is behind a thick smoke screen. So how can blind trust be good ?
yes above all is true. BUt lets say you don't have much chance to meet the person in real life then how can you differenciate between that person being on your good fren's list from a person who you can't really trust but can put on a ur fren's list?? or do you deal with everyone at a same level until you meet them?
Im pyschic, I can usually tell the good apple from the bad. :p No in all seriousness, I dont usually add just anyone into my friends list... it has to be someone whose been around long enough... I see the way they interact with others... see their comments on important issues... and then try to figure them out. It is very easy to read some people here if you know how to... Having said all that, there's still some people on my friends list who I'm starting to not trust/like very much and it should only be a matter of time before they're ousted. This whole internet friendships is really a tricky business.
As it is advised by Prophet:saw2: to choose your friends wisely because a person is most likely on the religion of his friends, I normally evaluate about what company the person belongs to … If the people around him are proven morons, I just start avoiding the group altogether and become reserved until I find more details about the person…