Trifle layers...

ok share the possibilities!!!

I love those layered trifles but I can never make a good one.. I usually use jelly, fruits, pound cake but nah it doesnt turn out like I want it.

Share your ideas and give me step by step instructions on layering! please!!!

ps: I just want it to look pretty!!! :blush:

Re: Trifle layers...

oh i love those too....yummm...
send me some over when u finally make a "pretty trifle".....:D

Yummmmm trifles....love them!

Ok here is what i do:

Get a nice glass bowl in which you would serve the trifle...

Slice the medeira cake and layer the bottom of the bowl and couple on the side...

In terms of fruit, i use pineapple pieces, strawberries and kiwis but its your choice of fruits..

So just sprinkle some pineapple juice on the cake so its not dry,

Layer the fruit on top of each other. Pour the custard on the top and the jelly. Top with freshly whipped cream - cream should NOT be whisked too full - just so it coats the back of a spoon and at a dropping consistency. MMmmmmmhhh...

Or what you can do is something my mum tried once with 2 jellies...once you have poured the juice on the cake, some fruits, some custard and jelly....repeat the process again...and topping it with another flavoured jelly and finally cream...

chipsy... awww this is the first time you did a "farmaish" to me.. come over and I will serve you a pretty trifle.

oh wait, dun come until I master it. :D

sunset: sounds interesting.. ok girls keep these ideas coming.. if possible with pics please :$

Tum ko mera idea acha nahi laga?

I usually do the layer of cake first and then the jelly. leave it to set and cool. Then one layer of fruits, could be mandarins, pineapple etc. Then a layer of custard, any flavour. then comes another layer of fruit. Now comes fresh cream and you can top it up with pretty fruits like strawberries, kiwi and some mandarins or grapes etc. Grated chocolated or chocolate flakes/strands etc on the top.

aww sunset... boht acha laga!! I am just looking for more variety na!! :-)

Maheen... thanks!!!

Re: Trifle layers…

To theek hai…main bus naraaz…i wrote in such excitement…:naraz:

Only joking…:blush:

But wht to do with custard ? I mean you cant layer the custard unless its chilled, but whn it gets cool you cant really use it because then custard is hard :S

I use ready made custard from supermarkets...

aminas.. now taht’s amillion dollar questions.. my layers usually float in a custard and hence it doesn’t look pretty!!!

sunset eyes.. oh come on give us some ideas for home made custard.. if I had to buy something from supermarket I would just go n get the cake and icecream for dessert! :naraz:

how come I havnt seen any ready made custard, what I have seen are actually trifles not custard :hmmm:

But the thing with home custast is that i find its runny and not thick enough for me...shop bought is much better...jelly sits jst right...dont use the custand when its hot - any idiot can tell you that...

And your layers cant really float...come on...seriously?

Go to the isle where they keep all the baking stuff…or ask someone…im sure you wil find it…

Hmm right ! wht cream can we use ? single cream or double? from which store tesco, sainbury, Marks&spencers or wht? kitna time whisk karna hai cream ko? tell me in details, main zara wakhri type ki hoon :halo:

Aray yar, just get double cream from tescos or sainsburys and whist it…itna whisk kerna hai key its got a silky texture and its foamy…and spread on top of the trifle..prob about 4mins on high speed…

Gem...i had a picture somewhere of the trifle i once made but can't seem to find it now....

anyways,i usually make mine as follows....

in a glass bowl i first put a layer of cake....and add a few tablespoons of pineapple juice on it so it does not get so dry....make sure not to use a lot or it will make the cake soggy....

then a put a layer of vanilla custard....i use the rafhan one we get from Pakistani/desi grocery stores....it has instructions how to cook it right there on the box....after cooking it just let it sit for a while at room temp to cool it a bit and then add a layer on the cake....keep in the fridge to cool....

then put a layer of fruit on the custard ...i use pineapple slices....i usually put a cherry in the middle of each pineapple (do beautify it and make it look all pretty shretty....:D...)....then top it off with pineapple flavored jello(u r able tos ee the pineapple and cherries through the jelly so it looks all nice...)....and put in the fridge to cool...serve...!!

I havent read all the responses so i am sorry if i repeat what someone else already said. But my Ammi makes the best trifle ever. She sets jello in a bowl, usually over night. Then she layers regular yellow cake on top of that, i think pound cake would be too thick, no? And then she makes custard like you normally do and adds canned fruit cocktail to it (fresh fruit gets soggy) and layers on top of the cake. Simple yet delicious.

Now i want to make some today :(

actually i use pound cake and its perfect consistancy, and tastes soo good 2-3 days later.. i use like jarred fruit, u know like mangoes and fresh strawberries!

chipsy… why are you making fun of a “pretty trifle” just because you cook well and present it good doesnt mean you can laugh at me! :naraz:

by the way I can make rafhan custard and instant laziza kheer too. :stuck_out_tongue:

Ira: your mom never served me that!!! do you have a pic of her trifle??

did you make it today? sowwy I missed your call, I was in mall for your damad, his b’day is coming up. :smiley:

snm… I used pound cake but see my problem is first it doesn’t look “pretty” and second custard comes on top of everything.. i mean you can’t see separate layers.. it turnd out to be a hodge podge of everything!!