Tribute to the Rawalpindi Express Shoaib Akhtar

As well all know Shoaib Akhtar has announced his retirement from International Cricket After the World Cup…So I would like to Pay a Tribute to him by Opening A Thread on it :jhanda:

**It’s good that he has realized to quit after the WC. He didn’t want to linger on and wanted to make way for the youngsters and thats appreciated.

He was controversial for all those years yet he was charismatic. We would have compared him with the likes of Marshall, Lillee by now had he not lost those precious 5 years of his cricket. All said and done !

Cricket will surely miss him and would hardly be able to find such a flamboyant character both on and off the field.

Salute for the services he rendered to Pakistan !

Wishing you a good future ahead.**

Shoaib Akhtar announces his retirement in A Press Conference

* "The first day, when I got announced for Pakistan, I did not believe that someone like me could play for this greatest team ever," he said, unable to suppress a smile. "And there were my idols like Wasim and Waqar, and Imran was there to support us every now and again … Inzamam, everyone, every senior player I used to see on TV. I always dreamed of playing with them. The best moment was when I got the first kit for my first Test and I had a huge star on my chest. I wore that kit and I slept in it and I couldn't believe I would wake up in it. I did not take it off for three days."*

Shahid Afridi:

**“We feel sad for Akhtar as he has been a very nice team-mate and we’ll always remember him as someone who always tried hard for the team and every player thanks him,” said skipper Shahid Afridi.

Team-mates embraced Akhtar before Thursday’s practice at R. Premadasa stadium where Pakistan play Australia on Saturday in their final group game ahead of the quarter-finals.

“Akhtar told us about his decision and we respect that, so everyone wished him the best of luck in his future. I enjoyed playing with him,” said Afridi. **

**Coach Waqar Younis praised Akhtar’s decision.

“I played with him and then coached him. He has been a great bowler for the country and served the team well. It is a nice way to leave the place for youngsters and that’s somehting we must appreciate,” he said. **

Former captain Ramiz Raja said he would like to remember Akhtar as a fighter.

“I would like to remember him as a tearaway bowler who with his strike-rate was a match winner on his day. He battled through injuries and controversies with a lot of heart throughout his career,” said Ramiz.**

Re: Tribute to the Rawalpindi Express Shoaib Akhtar

****Diamonds, Mother Teresa and Tarzan

A collection of quotes from Shoaib Akhtar and by others about him over his colourful career
“How many diamonds can you retrieve from one single mine; there has to be an end somewhere. I don’t see any natural fast bowler after me.”
Shoaib Akhtar, the last of Pakistan’s gems, foretells a grim future (June 14, 2008)

“I think I will donate the money to Mother Teresa or something like that.”
Shoaib’s latest ‘Shoaibism’ when asked about his IPL earnings. (May 30, 2008)

“Once Shoaib sees the crowds, and of course the babes around, I think he will be able to perform.”
Wasim Akram has a dig at Shoaib (May 7, 2008)

“The Shoaib Akhtar [of our team] is Asmavia Iqbal … The only difference between him and her is that she’s completely fit, sticks to her game and does the job she’s asked to do.”
Urooj Mumtaz, the Pakistan women’s captain, gets candid (April 24, 2008)

“I don’t know - for us or for Pakistan?”
Graeme Smith wittily replies when asked if the absence of Shoaib would be an advantage during South Africa’s tour of Pakistan (September 29, 2007)

“This would be a first for Shoaib, who is widely regarded as a more committed playboy than cricketer.”
Journalist Malcolm Conn reacts to a quote from Shoaib that he had been keeping himself in shape during his lay-off (May 11, 2007)

“He said I looked like Tarzan, and wondered how I could bowl fast looking like that.”
Shoaib reveals how Andrew Flintoff inadvertently boosted his will to win (December 14, 2005)

“Shoaib, leave the chicken man alone, and start your practice.”
Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer to Shoaib as he chatted to Kevin Pietersen (November 27, 2005)

“I didn’t see him in Australia because he didn’t turn up for the first three days of the Test.”
Steve Harmison on Shoaib’s laissez-faire attitude to the Super Test (November 11, 2005)**

**“This is not a joke, so just shut up.”
John Wright cracks the whip as Shoaib interrupts him during a Super Series team meeting (October 20, 2005)

“A bloke’s bowling at 150kph trying to rip the fingers off your arms or probably even worse. It gets your blood going and the adrenalin pumping. You are in a fight. And to me that’s what Test cricket is all about.”
Justin Langer on the joys of facing Shoaib (January 1, 2005)

It is quite surprising that one is unfit in Pakistan and by reaching England gets fit overnight."
Shaharyar Khan, the PCB chairman, is piqued at Shoaib playing for Durham immediately after landing in England (May 12, 2004)

“I am not an angel, I have my bad days and good days. I am still learning day by day.”
Shoaib makes a candid confession after Pakistan’s victory in the Lahore Test (April 10, 2004)

“We will try and pull the chain and stop the train midway.”
Sourav Ganguly, when asked how his team plan to counter Shoaib, the “Rawalpindi Express” (March 4, 2004)**

**Ricky Ponting On Shoaib Akhtar **

**Ricky Ponting has been very effusive in his praise of Shoaib Akthar. Snippets: “I had some great duels with Shoaib over the years,” Ponting said. “To this day, I’ve always said he’s the fastest bowler that I’ve ever faced in international cricket. There’s one spell that everyone can watch on the internet of him bowling to me at the WACA. That was reasonably entertaining - more so for Justin Langer, who was at the other end laughing at me all the time when I was trying to keep Shoaib’s deliveries out. He was express pace, a very, very good bowler.”

I had some great duels with Shoaib over the years," Ponting said. “To this day, I’ve always said he’s the fastest bowler that I’ve ever faced in international cricket. There’s one spell that everyone can watch on the internet of him bowling to me at the WACA. That was reasonably entertaining - more so for Justin Langer, who was at the other end laughing at me all the time when I was trying to keep Shoaib’s deliveries out. He was express pace, a very, very good bowler.”**

Six of Shoaib Akhtar’s best

• 4 for 71 v India, Asian Test Championship, Kolkata, 1999

• 3 for 55 v New Zealand, World Cup semi-final, Manchester, 1999

• 6 for 11 v New Zealand, 1st Test, Lahore, 2002

• 5 for 21 v Australia, 1st Test, Colombo, 2002

• 5 for 25 v Australia, 3rd ODI, Brisbane, 2002

• 6 for 30 v New Zealand, 2nd Test, Wellington, 2003

http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/506631.html**

Some of Shoaib Akhtar’s Greatest Bowling Spells

What A delivery by Akhtar :jhanda:

This spell was great

This one was against Australia at colombo

The Fastest Delivery By Akhtar in WC 2003 :jhanda:

Shoaib Akhtar at his best

1st ever bowl By Akhtar to Tendulkar and crowd is silence

Shoaib Akhtar

:d6c: :d6c: :d6c:

*What a great, great thread. I still feel he has one more dynamic spell left in him. Let's leave that for the knockout stage :) *

Its not worth it to use him in the QF...since that game should be controllable even with Gul, Razzaq and maybe Junaid or Wahab. Shoaib should be used in the SF against India or Aussies

saddest moment for cricket... I say Shoib should play for at least 1 more year!

yeah he could have played T20...but I think he will play IPL....India kab tak bhagay ga....I am sure Pak players will return to IPL after this WC...

Thank you :slight_smile:

Itni mushkil se thread banayi banda yehi keh deta hai ke thread ache banayi hai :naraz: :naraz:

Waleed, to be very honest I dont wanna watch, read or see anything related to Shoib! more you read/watch more I hurt myself! I dont wanna this legend to fade away, I wanna see him in action for at least one more year and as a captain which he deserve!

He is all time legend and do not need any proof or certificate for his greatness! He is gem from heart but mistreated by PCB, he should be treated on his merit! I cant see him leaving! I remember when he threw his first ball! I remember how he did trashed indians in 2004
and many more!

Shoaib the legend :d6c: :d6c:

a very nice tribute for shobby…thanks waleed

Its sooo sad that before he wasn’t a part of the team for quite a long time (due to injuries/controversies) and now when he is back its his retirement time. I just wish he changes his decision and play for atleast 1/2 years.

Anyhow he will always be remembered for his speed and those great spells he played…he surely has got the right name…RAWALPINDI EXPRESS.

On a side note i enjoy shoaib’s interview…he is quite fun to watch…especially that interview with rameez raja (in geo’s prog rameez’s lounge) such a fun interview. plus shobby is blessed with a beautiful voice. he sings quite well. mashallah

Okay okay…

Sheesh…Great thread!

Chalo Waleed khush ho…ppl in Pak also feeling the same…

http://www.espncricinfo.com/db/PICTURES/CMS/130300/130349.jpg

Labourers erect a giant billboard of Shoaib Akhtar who will retire after the World Cup

^ :eek: he looks so different there. young

^^ pappu time ki tasvir heay...when he debuted.

^ oh acha...when he was only 22.

In this large poster, he looks like Ajey Devgan :D

I think he is looking like Wahid Murad in that poster :D

lol he does a bit.

BTW yeh uski latest pic hai bhai not debut wali

I know bhai u know im his very big fan too but remember everyone has to retire and thats good he has announced his own retirement and what if he was not picked by PCB again that would be heartbroken for him…u know in Pakistan not every cricketer retires with some respect

Shoaib will always be remember for his fast bowling in the history of Cricket :jhanda:

My Pleasure …he has an amazing personality :slight_smile:

Thank you bhai :jhanda: