Triangular Series (AUS-IND-NZ)

Now that Yuvraj is also out, Kaif and Zaheer Khan on the crease.

Australia 347/2 (50 ov)
India 258/6 (42.0 ov)

Chances are Australia is home with the victory.

Game is almost over (although in cricket you never know).

Well played australia. They have adopted the India's policy of "make big score and then bowl out Aus". 350 and around is a bit to much to chase. For this you need atleast 2/3 of your batsmen make quick fire 70-80 runs and unfortunately for India only Tendulkar was able to reach the target.

India 286/8 (50.0 ov)

India lost by 61 runs.

If Australia can do this to India in India with a weakened team, it does not bear thinking what it will do to them in Australia with a full squad.

Pakistan can beat Australia for sure... :)

Chaos theory](http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/NOV/002022_TVS2003-04_12NOV2003.html)

The scene near Anil Kumble Circle half an hour before the game would have appealed to those addicted to chaos. Bangalore’s already-stretched traffic network appeared in danger of unravelling altogether. If you were unfortunate enough to be a pedestrian passing by, while thousands of idling vehicles belch exhaust, you’d be forgiven for thinking you were part of some hideous Nazi experiment.

The media enclosure is as crowded as the stands, hardly surprising when you consider some of the dubious characters who have made their way there. Publications which are as closely connected to cricket as the Caesars were to democracy have been granted passes, and many of the so-called writers while away time with idle chatter or leaf through the official souvenir booklet. Yesterday, I saw a United Nations Human Rights Commission employee being given a photographer’s pass. UNHRC? What was he going to document? Adam Gilchrist’s abuse of Indian fast bowlers?

Corporate billboards and banners are everywhere. The crowd composition also says much about the changing times. A significant number are there just to be seen, and don’t give a toss about the game. They can be seen wolfing down the snacks at the restaurant downstairs, or discussing stock options in front of the whisky and beer counters set up for corporate guests. A certain school of thought says that these men and women are a necessary evil, but when you watch them, you can fully comprehend Roy Keane’s (Manchester United captain) loathing of the prawn-sandwich types.

Mind you, the bulk of the crowd are fantastic, cheering everything with a spirit that suggests jingoism isn’t top priority in Bangalore. Though a Krakatoa-like explosion of noise greeted Matthew Hayden’s dismissal, there’s a similar outpouring of emotion when Gilchrist gets to his century. A capacity crowd at the MCG would have struggled to match the standing ovation he received when he walked off after a 111 that was swashbuckling enough to keep even the low-attention-span brigade teetering on the edges of their seats.

“At least Ricky Ponting’s out of form,” said one wag as I waited for a cup of coffee. The scoreboard certainly suggested that – 26 from 49 balls. The carnage that followed opened our eyes. A lot of batsmen would kill for a chance to be that out of form and smashing straight sixes with utter disdain. One that was thumped with awesome power landed 20 yards to my left on the top tier, within a few feet of a lady attired in a white salwar-kameez and tricolour dupatta. By then, the flags had long ceased to be waved.

“I’m more and more convinced that the Australian way isn’t for us,” said Sanjay Manjrekar when we had a chat midway through the innings. “Our fast bowlers are far more supple than theirs, and don’t need the same sort of training or coaching regimen. We should be playing to our strengths.” He was clearly feeling sorry for Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra, whose flexibility was called into action only so they could crane their necks and watch the ball disappear to all parts.

Certain placards in the crowd mentioned Kangaroo Curry. By the end of the innings, the flavour was unpalatable for most Indian fans. Maybe Indian mincemeat would have been more appropriate. Oh well, the UNHRC guy will be taking Australia to task for such gross abuses

Kya match tha!

Indians proving that long rest and too many flash bulbs is not good for their health. They played like arthritic Joes. Can't believe when India reached 260 it was actually ahead of Aus by 14 runs or so...but the tail sucks! Kaif can't be blamed and now I'll say it -DROP VVS.

Well, some good came out of it. Shewag found part of his form. And we learn yet again that Kumble should retire and Sri should come back!

Dileep and his vitriolic pen! LOL

Great article. :hehe:

how come whenever you guys lose, you go after a batsman? Either it is Laxman's fault or Kaif's.

347 was not their fault - it was the bowler's fault. 10-80 and 10-60 something from the next Wasim Akrams is pretty damn pathetic. How about dropping Zaheer and giving someone else a chance? Someone who would rather bowl than stare and scowl especially when he does not have what it takes to back up his antics?

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
how come whenever you guys lose, you go after a batsman? Either it is Laxman's fault or Kaif's.

347 was not their fault - it was the bowler's fault. 10-80 and 10-60 something from the next Wasim Akrams is pretty damn pathetic. How about dropping Zaheer and giving someone else a chance? Someone who would rather bowl than stare and scowl especially when he does not have what it takes to back up his antics?

Arey Samb bhai drop Zaheer and bring in whom. The cupboard is more or less empty.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

Arey Samb bhai drop Zaheer and bring in whom. The cupboard is more or less empty.

how about Adnan Sami? he is an honorary Indian now, eh Karina.

waisay what was the hype about Munaf Patel and Irfan Pathan? bring them in - surely they'll do better than the Wasim Akram reincarnate.

*Originally posted by karina: *
Kaif can't be blamed and now I'll say it -DROP VVS.

Well, some good came out of it. Shewag found part of his form.

Karina - did you watch the game ? We were chasing 350 runs and Sehwag wasted 30 balls. Had it not been for his burst in one over his strike rate would have been 10. I still say drop Sehwag, go back to our Sachin-Ganguly opening pair, Drop VVS and bring Badani.

Anil Kumble bowled well and it was sloppy fielding & wicket keeping which was responsible for at least 15 of his runs.

Karthik Bowled well and almost had Ponting but Dravid missed stumping by yards.

Infact I would say drop all the bowlers and play with 11 batsmen. It can't be worse.

I got up at 3 AM to make sure if Aus is batting first I don't miss Gilly's onslaught. Boy. lemme tell ya this dude never disappoints me. He always delivers. And my Maharaaja Ganguly never disappoints me either. Matty Hayden played a regulation drive to mid off which could have easily been fielded had Ganguly learnt how to keep his legs closed. But he missed it and the ball went for a FOUR. The look on his face was worth my early wake-up call.

Asif, I hear ya man. I would like to hear your opinion on playing Dravid as a keeper/batsman?.

Funguy - That's a tough one, So far I have seen Parthiv and Dravid in this series and I dont see much difference, Parthiv is slightly better as a WK but very raw. The other day he had no clue when keeping to Kumble/Harbhajan. If I have to chose between parthiv & dravid, I would pick Dravid because of his batting.

India should try some other wicket keepers.

Nice thinking. :k:

[thumb=D]wk.JPG[/thumb]

Wicket Keeper or Ball Stopper ?

Why not Irfan Pathan - uska kya achar dalna hai? Especially when we're in a royal pickle.

how about Adnan Sami? he is an honorary Indian now, eh Karina.

No, no, LUC has been made an honorary Indian by me, and I fancy he'll be better than Sami at least he won't collapse in the middle of his run up.

LUC bhaiya, bowling ko tu lift kara de...thori si maulat dilwa de...;)

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *

Karina - did you watch the game ? We were chasing 350 runs and Sehwag wasted 30 balls. Had it not been for his burst in one over his strike rate would have been 10. I still say drop Sehwag, go back to our Sachin-Ganguly opening pair, Drop VVS and bring Badani.

Anil Kumble bowled well and it was sloppy fielding & wicket keeping which was responsible for at least 15 of his runs.

Karthik Bowled well and almost had Ponting but Dravid missed stumping by yards.

Infact I would say drop all the bowlers and play with 11 batsmen. It can't be worse.

I like your last sentence - I think the best bowling figures were returned by Ganguly today. lol

Fielding was lousy, saale sab sahib ban gaye. If we go back to our original match-winning SG/Sachin opening pair the risk is of losing SG cheap on bouncy wickets and leaving the middle order vulnerable. Now pls don't tell me Badani will fill that slot....he just isn't a Ganguly.

That missing all rounder again!

But on the other hand, this match could have been won if Yuvraj, our supposed all rounder, had played a manly innings. Another thing - Kaif should come in at 3 or 4.