Triangular Series (AUS-IND-NZ)

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

Please read Fleming's interview, he said the conditions are not good for the first half of the innings and then it turns normal.
My arguement is, why aren't the Indians made to play in these conditions.
Why give the home teams good batting tracks but when 2 neutrals play you give them junk.

Pls tell me if you call these pitches junk then what were NZ pitches when they seamed for 100 overs. The pot calling the kettle black!

Again, you have either not understood or do not want to understand that NZ and Aus were presented the itinery of the series and they did not protest at that time. Why didn't they?? The D/N matches are played on a rotational basis and what's more India is playing one D/N match with NZ too. The reason for alloting the D/N matches to India have more to do with MONEY than devious designs to outwit the visitors. More people watch the game on TV if India is playing and there is too much revenue to be lost if India is not visible on TV screens post 6pm! That's life - money rules these days.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

Can someone inform Chandu Maama that no one is complaining about the safety of the players but the conditions.

LOL- good point!

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Saby - Once again you are being naive here - the pitches are helping Seamers not because they are prepared to do that but because of the moisture in the air and the pitch. The moment it dries up, pitch starts behaving normal batting track. BCCI has prepared sporting wickets for both TESTs & ODIs. If the BCCI really wanted to prepare dusty wickets like they did in the past, they would have done it for the TESTs as well.

Oh leaving grass on the pitch will help the seamers and its not the air or moisture that grass is there. If Curator knew that air and moisture would helo the ball to seam around, he shouldnt have left this much grass on the pitch and let atmosphere be the only factor. This Pune pitch could have been an ideal test match pitch which seams in the morning and eases in the afternoon.

Test match pitches Should change thier behavior from third day onwards. A pitch will always be labelled as unsporting if it does not change its behavior at all during 5 days of a match. Anyways we were not talking about test matches, that was just to asnwer the test part of your post.

There is no double standard here, Both NZ & Australian board had approved this schedule. No one forced them to play, this schedule was given to them well in advance and they had a choice to reject the schedule, if they were not happy with it. They should cry in front of their own BOARDs not in the media.

Fleming does not have moral ground esp after they made us play on GOBER in stead of a pitch. India has done them a favor by giving them a decent batting track. They have failed because of their poor batting, fielding and poor captaincy. Fleming failed with bat and as a leader.

World is not fair - Ponting should prepare tracks which suit Indian for our next tour and then he can complain as much as he wants about Indian pitches and conditions.

As if you are in a position to do that :hehe: . You have to suck up to the various boards to get a tour in your country.

You are so full of lies. Just open the archives and see how many times D/N conditions were blamed for the loss. As far as winning the toss is concerned - Fleming did win the TOSS once, didnt he ? He was lucky but stupid. :slight_smile:

*Originally posted by saby: *
Oh leaving grass on the pitch will help the seamers and its not the air or moisture that grass is there. If Curator knew that air and moisture would helo the ball to seam around, he shouldnt have left this much grass on the pitch and let atmosphere be the only factor.

Awww - as if the curators knew Fleming was going to loose the TOSS or even after winning the TOSS insert his team to bat. Yeah there was a little grass, so ?? It was the moisture on the pitch which helped the Ball Swing. This is not the first time it has happened in PUNE, Pune has a history of teams batting second winning most of the time. NZ lost because of their shoddy fielding and not because of PITCH or moisture or anything.

NZ made 259 on the same pitch which is the second highest score on this pitch and that means the wicket wasn't really as bad as it is made out to be. Had they taken all those catches, Fleming would have been gloating about the win. :)

Both NZ & Australian board had approved this schedule. No one forced them to play, this schedule was given to them well in advance and they had a choice to reject the schedule, if they were not happy with it.

:konfused: :ahaa: You mean Fleming is crying in Media like INDIAN STARS were crying before worldcup 2003 about the sponsership issue? INDIAN BOARD had signed the deal (well in advance) with ICC so Indian players should have cried in front of BOARD not in MEDIA… Yeah you are right NZ captain should cry in front of his board rather than in media.

oops yee main nai kia post ker dia? :smack:
is waqat tu ye he example samajh ayee thee :wink:

Chorey - Comparing apples & oranges ??

Indian players fought with Indian Board not the ICC or the South African or Zimbabwe Board (The organizers).

Same way NZ players should talk and whine to the NZ board for accepting such schedule. They can't complain to the BCCI.

Chorey - Comparing apples & oranges ??

Indian players fought with Indian Board not the ICC or the South African or Zimbabwe Board (The organizers).

Same way NZ players should talk and whine to the NZ board for accepting such schedule. They can't complain to the BCCI.

Lets agree to disagree at least on this WC matter and lets comeback to the current triangular series and i think that Fliming has weight in his complain when he talks about the quality of pitch but he is whining for nothing when he complains about D/N and DAY matches. Playing conditions changes in both types of games equally.

But then again, no one but the Indians knew how the track would fair throughout the one day series. It is the job of the Indians to make it fair.

Really?
Do I smell something burning? or Sour Grapes?
Pakistan just completed a successfull and exciting test series while the Indians can’t decide which kind of pitches to prepare because they fail 99% of the time.

Really?
Since you are so good at digging into past threads, please go back and confirm your false assumptions.
Yes England did get lucky by winning the toss but we all whined about how bad the umpiring was in that match.
Now you know what happens when you Assume things. :wink:

So what, according to you, are ‘good’ playing conditions? A pitch that produces 350 runs? When the Windies were here last the ODI matches consistently saw a target of 300 being set and reached, and the world cried fowl. And can’t Fleming see by now how much grass plus moisture equals swing/hour? He should have listened to the pitch report…:bukbuk:

Awww - as if the curators knew Fleming was going to loose the TOSS or even after winning the TOSS insert his team to bat. Yeah there was a little grass, so ?? It was the moisture on the pitch which helped the Ball Swing. This is not the first time it has happened in PUNE, Pune has a history of teams batting second winning most of the time. NZ lost because of their shoddy fielding and not because of PITCH or moisture or anything.

NZ made 259 on the same pitch which is the second highest score on this pitch and that means the wicket wasn't really as bad as it is made out to be. Had they taken all those catches, Fleming would have been gloating about the win. :)

Now if the same thing happened to India in Kiwistan, Indians would have been labeled chokers who can't play on sporting pitches. Life's a b**** :)

OK lads let's calm down, enough arguments over the pitches, lets get back to the triangular series and discuss what the teams are doing. None of you are going to convince the other.

Kumble to miss Cuttack ODI](http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/NOV/556736_TVS2003-04_05NOV2003.html)

Anil Kumble will miss India’s next match in the TVS Cup against New Zealand at Cuttack, due to the death of his father. The Indian team sent condolences to the Kumble family for this bereavement.

Sairaj Bahutule, the legspinner from Mumbai, has been included in the squad as Kumble’s replacement. Aashish Nehra looked comfortable during a four-hour team practice session on Tuesday and is likely to play in the match at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack. Murali Kartik, the left-arm spinner, is also a likely replacement for Kumble in the playing XI.

Here’s an excerpt from today’s TOI article -

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cms.dll/html/uncomp/articleshow?msid=268022&Curpg=1

Stop Cribbing Fleming, get on

To start with who is Stephen Fleming to talk about discrimination? Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly shouted himself hoarse during the Test series in New Zealand when subjected to appalling playing conditions only to be castigated as a spoilsport by the New Zealand press.

Perhaps the Kiwi skipper needs to get back to his cricket board who okayed the schedule. In fact, a contingent from New Zealand came to India before the series to check out the venues and have a look at the wickets.

Somehow the Kiwis and the Aussies expecting the traditional India dirt tracks favouring spin have been unnerved by the ball seaming and jumping.

If anything the Kiwis and the Aussies should be delighted with the change in playing conditions in India. Visiting sides have been cribbing in the past about crumbling wickets and tracks which were a seam bowlers graveyard.

New ball bowlers have got ideal conditions to showcase their wares in India but that was something that the Kiwis were not prepared for. They did their homework by creating spin tracks in preparatory camps back in New Zealand.

Ehsan - I would think India needs to concentrate on their batting- particularly if they lose the toss and are forced to chase. No two ways about it, the bowlers can only do so much.:slight_smile:

Anil Kumble is not playin... ummm.... will it effect india in anyway? I think if Sairaj Bahutule/Murali Kartik are playing and if they bowl their maximum overs, they will cost 50 runs or above..

Lets see...

*Originally posted by karina: *
Ehsan - I would think India needs to concentrate on their batting- particularly if they lose the toss and are forced to chase. No two ways about it, the bowlers can only do so much.:)

Batting is your strength. If they played to their true potential and like a unit I think they can overhaul any total. But alas!!! there are too many who think and play for themselves rather than the team. Reminds me of Pakistan in the early to late 70's when they had an awesome batting side and still could not make much impact. They aslo suffered from the same malaise and also like the current Indian team did not have a very potent attack.

Saby, This is what I posted then, My opinion hasn’t changed since, but you seem to have changed your opinion about Day games now :slight_smile: :-

*"Saby yaar - Once aagin you are taking it in a wrong way - Do you know that in a day match there is a lot of moisture in the morning and it helps the seamers a lot in the first half, now If I use your logic that’s unfair to the team batting first, no ?? :hehe:

Fact is no team gets fair chance even in a day game and sometimes its the toss, sometimes its the weather and sometimes it’s the Umpires. And about my team facing similar fate, hey If you remember 1996 Semi Final in Calcutta - where the pitch started taking super turn in the second innings…We didn’t whine the conditions were bad. Even Part timers like Jaysurya and De silva were getting huge turns. So stop whining and accept the fact that TOSS/Weather/Umpire are all part of the game.*"

Kya ehsan bhai - aap bhi naa bas apni kaitchi chalane lagte ho. Well, Kaitchi to chala di aapne, kam se kam ab apna opinion hi de do is topic par.

Gilchrist on this issue :-

Gilchrist asks for level playing field

Press Trust of India
New Delhi, November 5

Australian vice captain Adam Gilchrist on Wednesday backed New Zealand skipper Stephen Fleming’s views on unfavourable conditions in the ongoing triseries and asked administrators to bring “level playing field” to limited overs cricket internationals.

Gilchrist, while denying there was “too much sinister” on the part of Indian Cricket Board in scheduling matches in the triangular series, agreed with Fleming that playing conditions in some matches were at variance and toss of the coin played too crucial a role.

“I certainly agree to the point that toss has played a major role in certain matches. Fortunately for us, we have been on the winning side but it could be frustrating if important games are too reliant on toss,” Gilchrist said.

"Stephen Fleming has a relevant point when he says there must be level playing field, because there has been unfair variance (in playing conditions) in some of the matches.

“Otherwise** I don’t think there is too much sinister in what the Indian Cricket Board has done,”** the swashbuckling Aussie batsman added.

Fleming was critical of the match schedule in the current series which pitted Australia and New Zealand in day encounters which started at 9.00 am.

Fleming said morning starts meant moisture in the air made things difficult for the team batting first. He also accused the tournament organisers of drawing an itinerary that suited the hosts more than the other two teams.

Gilchrist said Fleming’s outburst was understandable because he had been at the receiving end twice.

“Having played in the same matches, I can identify myself with Stephen (Fleming). Probably it is the frustration of having been at the receiving end,” the Aussie opening batsman said.

In their second match of the series against Australia at Faridabad, New Zealand were dismissed for 97 after winning the toss and electing to bat.

They were off to a disastrous start again in the next encounter, against the Aussies in another day match at Pune, but recovered from 151 for seven to post 258 for nine. Australia went on to win that nail-biter by two wickets.

“New Zealand have played remarkably well. In fact, I told Fleming that these are conditions you don’t expect in India”.

“There has been good bounce and grass, the ball has been winging and seaming … I don’t think that is something to complain about, these are conditions like at home,” Gilchrist said.

Australia next play New Zealand in Guwahati on Sunday when play will start at 8.30 am to make up for early sunset in the north-east region.

The Aussie batsman said administrators should plan the schedule with care and avoid holding matches in such places or have them as day-night fixtures.

“I don’t know … There is difficulty in scheduling. I know Cricket Australia puts a lot of work in trying to arrive at he right balance, getting the matches at the right place at right time (by discussing with host national boards),” Gilchrist said.

“May be they should not have matches at such places or have all matches day-night.”

Gilchrist did not agree that the Kiwis had failed to adjust themselves to difficulties of a subcontinent tour.

"New Zealand are led by a brave captain in Stephen Fleming. They take everything in the right spirit, they have the right attitude.

“They drew the Test series, a result we have not been able to achieve.”

http://www.htcricket.com/news/6592_447443,00160030.htm

See - We are giving them conditions so that they can feel at home, Poor Stephnie is still complaining. :slight_smile: