Travelogues

Re: Travelogues

cont’d from the previous entry]

Mārika-e-wajood maiN “Minnah-O-Arafaaat” bhee hai ishQ

That night in the desert of Arabia has left a permanent mark on my soul.

Before, I fell asleep around 2 in the morning, I was just looking outside of the window of the van.

I heard the air was praising Allah. Moon was shinning with the light of Allah. Looking at sky made me feel as if angels were descending down from there. Even though, it was all black around me and the inner lights in van were yellowishly dim, the words of Talbeeh and the fact that we all were wearing a white Ahraam gave me a word-less comfort in the heart.

I remember, later in 1998, when I went back for Umrah with Abbu, One day after Faj’r I was sitting in the Masjid-e-Nabawi:saw2:, and with my eyes closed and face towards the green dome of the prophet:saw2:, I was reading my usual tasbeeh of durood shareef. Suddenly, I felt like going into sleep but remember that I was still reading the tasbeeh, and all of a sudden it felt like Sun had come out from the top of the dome. The light was piercing on top corner of my left eye. It took only 4-5 seconds that I could not bear it. Then, I realized that my eyes were closed and as if I woke up from sleep and durood was still on my lips. I opened my eyes, looked around only to find that Sun was still to rise in about half an hour. It was quite dark. I told Abbu, and he said quitely that Noor of the prophet:saw2: is but Rehma. Read durood and ask Allah:subhanahu: for forgiveness. That incident gave me comfort in the heart too.

By morning, we reached Minnah. During our journey, we had been seeing caravans of Hujjaj marching on foot towards the destination.

When we reached Minnah, our gas stove was taken in custody by authorities and they took it to a place where everyone else’s stoves were. It is also sad to say that even after such precautions, accidents happen and there was one arsenal incident that happened next day nearby.

We had two big camps to stay in. When we reached there, we found that one of our camp was alrady occupied by a Pakistani family. It took us only a little time to find our “Mo’allim” and sort the issue out. Apparently, our camps were little bigger due to the number of family members and our other Pakistani brothern found them quite comfortable to occupy. Anyway, we became quite a bit of friends by the next day.

I remember praying Qasr with Asr and Dhuhar praying together.

I remember the days and nights of Rami and there are quite a few stories lurking around somewhere in my mind. I am soon going to collect them in a writeable format:insh:

Right now we are in Minnah, and looking at the ground full of camps, remind me of my imagination of yesteryears during the days of Prophet:saw2: and his companions ridhwanullah AleyhaY Ajm’aeem.

I gather during the Ghazawaat, Siraayaas, and other battles, they must’ve used to camp in similar fashion.

Sidq-e-Khaleel:Allaih: bhee hai ishQ, sabar-e-Hussain:razi: bhee hai ishQ
Māaaaaaarikaa-e-wajooooood maiN Bada’r-o-Hunayn bheeeeee hai ishQ

(To be Cont’d)

Really?

I've been on BA dozens of times, and they haven't lost my luggage once.

Rami & In the Shadow of Jabal Ar Rehma …

Rami -throwing pebbles at the places of Shaitaan- was the most difficult part of Hajj as far as I remember.

At that time, govt. of Saudi Arabia had already built a bridge with couple of levels so that more people can be accomodated for the mendotary ritual yet it felt out of control many times… People specially our brotheran from sub-continent try to gather more sawaab. So, there, we had people trying to do it in Masnoon time that is before Zuh’r… The time however remains after even maghrib according to what I know.

We had decided that only the elder men of our group will go in the morning session and in the evening women and children will go but two out of three times, even in the evening, Abbu,Ammi, Chacha, Chachi and elder sisters went and did the Rami on behalf of us all children.

On the last Rami, I had a chance with Abbu to go after maghrib and what I saw was scary. The place was full of Ahraam and chappals on the ground… People did not even have a chance to grab the things that fall on the ground for the consequences can be fatal.

I also witnessed some Desi people throwing Chappals at shaitaan:smack:

One of the two old persons who were doing Hajj with us and on whose hand Abbu is Baya’it (Bayaah’ as done in School of Tassawuff :-)) described us what happened to him after the first Rami. He lost his right chappal during the time but he continued to walk and then he felt a chappal came in his foot… then he lost the second one during a stempead-kind-of situation but got another soon… later he foud out that he had a pair of chappals in his feet identical to each other but different than his original. That was hilarious to think about :smiley:

Arafat and the Khutba-e-Hajj at Masjid-un-Numrah was our next destination.

Arafat is the ground where according to ahaadeeth, day of Judgement will be established. I saw a scene similar to it with millions of heads in one dress.

Islam is all about practicality. It teaches you in this world about hereafter.

Jabal-e-Rehmat - the mountain of Mercy - was standing in the middle under the hot sun.

Looking at it and found it full of people really amazed me.

This was the mountain where Prophet:saw2: gave his last khutbah in 9th Hijrah. This was the mountain where Prophet:saw2: said that He was leaving two things among us and if we follow them, we will be guided. One: Quran and the second: which is similar to Quran that is his sunnah

This was the mountain where Prophet:saw2: took shahaadah that he had accomplished his mission and that now it was the mission of his ummah to convey his message to the people of next generations.

We as muslims are muslims just because of the hard work of Prophet:saw2: and his great companons (RA) … This is their love of ALLAH:subhanahu: that Islam spread in masses and we could be born as muslims.

Are we keeping the promise to Rasoolulah:saw2:? Are we trying to convey the Deen Al Islam to the world as it ought to be or are we too ashamed of our status being muslims? These were the some questions that have been bugging my head for too long now. During the Hajj, I did not have that much knowledge of all this historic background for I was very very little. But when I learnt all that later in my life after coming from Hajj, I related all that stuff with my experience of Hajj.. I remember each and every place and I remember each and every moment of those days and it always brings tears to my eyes that I was under the shadow of the mountain of Rehma, once upon a time.

In 1998, I visited that place (not during Hajj), went on top of that mountain, prayed two nafil, stayed on top of it looking down at the ground.

I felt that somewhere from the side of mountain, suddenly a caravan of horses will arise and with the flag of Islam and with the name of Allah on their lips, they will pass by me and will keep running to the mountains of Faaraan and fields of Hind, and from there to the Churches of Europe, the glorified past of Muslim spain, and eventually will conquer Africa.

Andaaz-e-BayaaN garchaY bahut shokh naheeN hai
Shaaayad kaY utar jaaaYe teraY dil maiN meri baaat

Yaaa wus’at-e-Aflaak maiN Takbeer-e-Musalsal
Yaa Khaak ke Aaghosh maiN tasbeeh-O-munaajaat

Woh Mazhab-e-Mardaan-e-Khud Aagaah-O-Khudaa Mast
Yeh Mazhab-e-Mullaaah-O-Jamaaaadaaat-O-Nabaaataaaat!

(To be Cont’d)

Very interesting read AQ.. If I am not mistaken you were around 6-7 years of age at the time of haj? You must be very blessed for being able to remember all that..

Thanks for sharing..keep it coming

something like that as I mentioned I was in grade one:)

Last Day of Hajj - Eid-ul-Adha

Ninth of Zil Hajja was Friday when we had Sermon of Hajj and the next day on 10th of Zil Hajj we were to sacrifice animals, take showers and take off the Ahraam.

Hajj was completed.

I remember, on that day, people were walking with literally open knives in their hands full of blood. Abbu, Chacha and the cousin who is in Canada went to slaughter house. Yes the same Mr. N :smack: who was our navigator to Masjid Al Quba from Masjid-e-Nabawi:saw2: and the same one who bought yougurt instead of butter:D

He used to be the most “chipku” son of his father :smack: … Everyone tried to scare him that it will be very dangerous to go for he was a child. But, everything in vain. When they all came back, their Ahraam was full of blood. Abbu just brought with him a small portion of meet and everything else was given in charity.

All of us had to perform “Halaq” - to get hair cut; for all men, we all had shaved our heads and all the women had to cut their hair for about two fingers of a hand.

Then, we took shower and our Hajj was completed.

These were the some little memories of those memorable days and I feel as if I am still missing a lot. There is a lot to write…

I will be writing them as I remember :insh: … as I said they are all scattered.

(To be Cont’d)

And then …

Next to the Roza-e-Rasool:saw2:, in Riaadh-ul-Jannah is a big round plateform or as we call “Chabootra” in urdu.

That terrace is called The terrace of Ashaab-us-Suffa …

Ashaab-us-Suffa were the poor companions of the prophet:saw2: who dedicated their lives to learn the deen of Allah:subhanahu:

A great narrator of ahaadeeth Syedana Abu Huraira:razi: was among those people who became the greatest scholars of their time…

Uss chabootraY kee** tasveeraiN aaj bhee zehn maiN taazah haiN**
aur woh maahol, waisaa pur sukoon maahol, mujhaY kabhi zindagi maiN kabhi naa milaa… siwaYe aik jagah kay… Whenever I was attacked by depression, either I remember the days of praying salah at the place of Suffa or I used to go and put my head on Ammi’s lap and close my eyes.

Prophet:saw2: said: The Paradise is beaneth the feet of a mother

Duniyaa-O-Maafeehaa saY baY khabar, I used to spend hours pretending to sleep on Ammi’s lap.

This was my little attempt to create my short travelogue of three months in Arabia long time ago. A struggle to collect major events and memories.

I even did not mention our trips to Badar, Saba Masaajid, Masjid Qiblatain, Ghaar-e-Thor, and many many other places…

I did not even mention some of my memories while walking on the streets of Madinah Munawwarah.

But I guess, those are things that will only remain in the memories and will never come out on piece of paper or on a computer screen for that matter. The reason is simple, they are trivial; many of the connecting parts are missing from what I now remember. For example, I do not remember when I saw a snake coming out of a basket, which was left on main road by someone who rushed at the other end because of the fear of a fast approaching car. I do not remember why a small child was left in the middle of the road in a carriage because of similar incident by the young siblings. I also do not remember if it happened after or during Ramadhaan that a kid got seriously injured running his bicycle with free hands down the under-constrution bridge which was built as part of the project Abbu was working on…

From what I have found out, Madinah is changed a lot … a lot according to the prophecies of the prophet:saw2: … I wish those days were never ended… Like NEVER!..

^ Well I think you are very lucky to have seen so much, I guess all men are. Now they don't permit women to the Roza-e-Nabi Asalaast Wasalaam side, not atleast in the haj days. We were limited to a few squares of Riyad-ul-Jannah and that too in extreme hustle. Lots of women+limited time+ the guides shouting on the top of their voices in speaker fones, it was chaotic. I had to suffice on hubby's accounts of those blessed areas. I hope to perform Umrah in less rush months maybe there are fewer restrictions in those months.

Go for Umrah in Muharram or in Saffar :)

Ma story goes way back august 2000.. I was 13 yrs old at the time..

So ma parents n I were at Lahore airport (old one.. ) waiting in the line 2 check in to get back 2 Holland.. First the stupid flight around 7 am.. so I already was really grumpy at that moment.. ma mom n I sat in the corner n ma dad was standin in the line for checkin in.. after abt an hour it was ma dads turn.. when ma dad start put the suitcase on that band.. that dude behind the desk said “sorry sir.. flight is overbooked.. u cant go with this flight..” ma dad was like “what..?! look at ma ticket..” They double booked a flight.. sumfin they like to do all the time.. even these dayz.. By the way it was the only airline I absolutely hate..PIA.. :mad: rude ppl..

Anywayz.. so ma dad looked at us.. n we were like "whatz wrong..? " so after a loooong discussion with the staff they made new tickets for us to Amsterdam thru Heathrow London.. we werent the only family.. there were 3 other family’s for Amsterdam and 1 family for the states I think.. and there was a guy Bilal (traveling alone.. abt 22 yrs old.. yeah I remember his name..) goin 2 amsterdam..

So we had to wait at the airport for like ages..!! Finally we got on the plane to London..

But when we arrived in Londen they said there r no seats left on the flight to Amsterdam.. and they had to book us another flight to Paris the next morning..! (!!) from Paris we’d go to Amsterdam.. but we had to stay at the hotel.. The guy who guided us at the airport (British airwayz da banda, paki) arranged our dinner n hotel.. so we all walked out n there were 4 cars arranged for us.. we put our luggages in all cars.. we had our own luggage wid us.. that guy Bilal put his luggage in our car.. afterall we were goin 2 the same hotel..

WRONG..!! Once we arrived at the hotel.. we stood outside to wait for the otherz.. then we realized.. they went to another hotel.. I felt sorry for Bilal.. his luggage was wid us.. his mom made paratha’s in pakistan n he put that in his luggage.. n that suitcase was wid us..:hehe: anywayz.. was a gud hotel.. gud food.. great rooms.. the next morning we had to b at the airport around 5 am.. our car was arranged by the same guy who arranged the hotel n dinner n stuff.. so next morning.. me again grumpy.. we’re goin 2 Heathrow Airport..

We’re back.. so thas where we saw the other family’s n we all couldnt stop laughin abt what happend to their luggage.. we brought Bilal’s luggage along n he hugged n kissed his suitcase when he saw it..:hehe: there was sum smell of paratha’'s comin out of is suitcase.. n yet.. he didnt bother to take the paratha’s out of it..

Anywayz.. we had to wait again.. for many hrs.. meanwhile we had breakfast.. that was fun.. sum kidz were ma age.. Bilal entertained us all..:slight_smile: He was juz soooooo funny..:hehe:

then we heared there’s flight abt to leave which had seats for us.. then it was that scene from Home Alone.. where the entire family runs at the airport..:hehe: exact same situation.. 4 family’s.. running..

we got there.. “sorry, plane has left..” so.. again.. we had to wait for hrs.. then finally we got sum news there was a flight to Paris (british airways).. n again.. running to the gate..

FINALLY we made it… so we’re goin 2 Paris.. abt 30 min flight.. we got off at Charles DeGaulle Airport.. there we had to open our suitcases at the custom.. :smack: so everybody got thru there widout problem.. EXCEPT Bilal..:rotfl:

When they opened his suitcase.. Astaghfullah.. his clothes were drowned in the oil of the paratha’s..:rotfl: parathey ki khushboo comin out of his clothes.. he bought sum decoration pieces from pakistan, were also in there.. the custom ppl were like.. ‘what the hell is this..’
So they asked Bilal sum questions in French.. he answered back in Punjabi.. not know at all what they juz asked.. " ae meri ammi ne mere aaste parathey banay san.. par ae te Allah bakshey ho gaye ne.. te ae meri bunain ae..kameez de thalle paan ali.. te enu keande aa tooooop.. u know.. dheeshoon deshoon.. aunty tussi bare khoobsoorat ho.. shaadi waadi hoyi je..?" I was like..:rotfl:

So that airport is like one big round playhall.. we were lost sooo many times.. but eventually we arrived juz on time at the gate.. this time it was a KLM fokker plane.. it was filled wid dutch business ppl.. then a group of desi log talkin their own language.. I mean screamin in their own language comes on board.. juz imagine..:hehe: so we got our seats.. on our way to Amsterdam.. (we could smell Bilal’s parathey’s a bit on the plane..)

We arrived.. all of us lost atleast one suitcase.. we didnt know where it went wrong.. where we lost our luggage.. in pakistan, uk or france.. so made a complaint.. KLM service wale said they’d take care of it.. then outside.. we sat down together.. had a chat.. exchanged phone numbers.. talked abt the journey.. then we all went our own way..

(a week later we got our lost suitcase back..)

It was a loooooooong exhausting journey.. but it was also an adventurous journey.. I think it was an alomost 3 dayz journey.. Ma mom said thnx to Bilal for entertaining her daughter (me).. He really kept entertaining us all.. n I think that made ma journey also fun.. n Bilal ke parathey toh Allah hi Hafiz..

Its a journey I’ll never forget..

(sorry for the long story.. but had 2 describe it in detail..:smiley: )