Re: Travelogues
^^ Awww, nice one! So did you enjoy your view then?
LOL italians are funny people....when you go to Italy do not expect a very easy going time becuz noone speaks a word of English...there will be some blood rush times. I just found most elderly italians like above 55 or 60 were super nice and sweet and anyone below is extremely rude and proud...it might be generalization but 8 days in that country can teach you a lot about the attitude.
oh absolutely! Tuscany is a must do area. Italy is truly blessed with natural beauty.
Particularly the train ride is great - I got some really nice wine and grabbed some fantastic pasta to enjoy in the train. It was hot outside, so chilled wine and (spiced up) pasta while watching the green pastures pass by is simply soothing. (it's all very 'mood making')
“MadinaY kaa safar hai … aur…” - Rewind to the Best days of Life
Somewhere in mid 80’s when I was hardly in class/grade 1, Abbu got a job in Madinah Munawwarah in some company name Al Mohandis which in Arabic means “The Engineer” .. Abbu is a civil engineer. He was on the project for two years… We went to Saudia for three months… I remember visiting Makkah for Umrah several times during that time and The Hajj of 1983 when the total Hujajj were 3.5 millions - highest numbers of Pilgrims to this year, if I am not mistaken.
So he was on the project of Al-Hijraah Road or as named in Arabic Al Tareeqat ul Hijraah,which is now is the main Highway between Makkah and Madinah through which Pilgrims travel between the two beautiful cities. This road is unique. It is bulit on the path of “Hijrah” - The migration of Prophet:saw2: along with Syedena Abu Bakr:razi:… A very research was done through the history to find out where the holy footmarks of the beloved of Allah:subhanahu: left their impression on his journey to Yathrib- soon to be Al Madinatun Nabi:saw2:
There are some hilarious moments of those three months which I will try to share here. They are just random and may not necessarilly be in any chronological order but I will try them to be.
One thing I remember is the Flight number that we took to Jeddah
PK 786 :halo:
My uncle (Abbu’s younger brother) a Geologist was on the same project as well and his family was to travel during the same time and stayed a little far from Madinah but occassinally visited us many times in a week.
I remember those were the days of Ramadhaan and the extremely HOT month of May. My whole nanhiyaal had come from Meer Pur Khaas. Maamoo had arranged the mini bus so that EVERYONE would go with us to airport to see us off :D..
We had Sahoor and after Faj’r each one of us were sitting in the mini buss to catch the flight leaving at 7:30 AM..
(To be Cont’d)
I appreciate the idea of starting this thread....
AT Karachi Airport -Terminal #3:
Cont’d From the previous entry]
I forgot to mention that two of my elder sisters had already gone to Madinah with the Uncle’s family who’d left a month earlier.
Now, our mini bus was runnig on Shahrah-e-Faisal towards Karachi International Airport.
Back then, there was no Jinnah Terminal and it was not Quaid-e-Azam International airport either but rather Karachi International airport.
Normally, Terminal # 3 was used for International flights which is now used for Hajj flights.
When we reached at airport, everyone including my naani (May ALLAH:subhanahu: give her a longer life.. She is around 80+ now Masha ALLAH) and all Maamoos were with us. ManjhlaY Maamoo had brought two Crates of SindhRi mangoes from Meer Pur Khas, which later we had to return for it was not allowed to carry them on the flights
D:D and further we found it out in Madinah that they were already available in the Markets of Madinah…
I remember my immediate elder sister holding my hand while entering into the custom area. I was too little to realise what was actually going on but to think that Ok we are going to Madinah and only reason I would’ve been happy was because I were to see Abbu whom I haven’t seen for an year and I was really missing him ![]()
While walking into the deisgnated area, I glimpsed at my right towards my sister and saw a 32 sparkling white shinning teeth showing at her face. I really did not know what was the real reason behind that:konfused: but quickly enough I was ready to immitate her and the very next moment I too was acting in a Sparkle Tooth Paste ad. ![]()
Later, in the flight the cute air hostess aunties:blush: gave us yummy candies .. and then brought a magic book with a pencil.
One charming lady:blush: from the crew showed me how to scratch the book so that different pictures magically appear ![]()
You guys can imagine that next four hours in the flight were spent palying with the book ![]()
(To be Cont’d)
Landing at Jeddah - A Journey down the desert to Madinah tul Munawwarah …
continued from the previous entry]
PIA flight 786 landed at Jeddah Airport at 9:30 AM local time.
We, two brothers and three sisters, were following Ammi huzoor:clown: towards the exit where Abbu was waiting.
I saw a lightful face with a dark black and thick beard on it and with that a usual smile decorating the beauty of that very face. Wearing his usual Jinnah Cap on his head and his regular shalwaar qameez attire, Abbu was waving at us. The emotions of that moment can not be encompassed by some mere words.
One of Abbu’s friends had come to pick us up in his big chevy impala.
Our car was running on the barren land of Arabia under the fire throwing sun. The small mountains of rock and sand were passing by without any sign of a living being.
Ocassionally, after every few miles, a car or a jeep could be seen in passing by trenches. God knows, if any one would’ve survived those horrible accidents.
Air filled with desert’s sand was whispering about the history that consists of several centuries, and was reminding me of the glorious past our fore-fathers had. This was the land where Prophet of Allah
had fought against the evils of all times. This was the place where people whose hearts filled with Imaan, raised the flag of Islam and took it to the end of the world. Without whom efforts, none of us would’ve been muslims today. Sad that we have forgotten those lessons and have become ignorant of our duties to our coming generations.
This was the place where Syedana Siddiq-e-Akbar Abu Bakar:razi: kept the company of the beloved of Allah:saw2: during Hijrah. This was the place where Syedana Umer Ibn ul Khattab al Farooq al Azam:razi: became the sole reason for handful of Muslims to pray in congregation in Ka’abatullah. This was the place where Syedana Usmaan ibn-e-Affan:razi: showed with his charity how a muslim can be “Ghani” and thakful to Allah:subhanahu: at the same time. This was the place where Haider-e-karraar Syedana Ali Ibn-e-Abi Taalib:razi: let his sword talk about his courage in the battlefields.
We were driving through the land of Arabia which became the source of guidance 1400 years ago for the whole humanity to come.
It was Zuhr time when we reached in the valley of Uhud. Place where Sydedush Shuhadaa Syedana Ameer-e-Hamzah:razi: got martyred so that we after 1400 years later would born and be raised as muslims. Jabal-ul-Uhud [The mountain of Uhud] was standing up high touching the sky. Abbu’s friend’s house was in the valley down at the bottom of the mountain. There, we stopped to pray Zuhar .. [After Ramadhaan, once we visited him again, he offered us goat milk, that too without sugar and amazingly we felt that we did not need sugar anyway. The milk was sweet already without the sugar. This is my personal experience and one could’ve many doubts about the truth of what I’am saying but I certainly do not have any.]
Soon, our car was again running on the highway leaving the valley of Uhud behind and our destination was the city where 1400 years ago, the young girls of Yathrib sang to welcome the most perfect man ever to come:
Tala Al Badr-O-AlaYina
Min Suni Yaatil Widaai
Wajaba Shukro AlaYina
Ma’da aa Lillahe Da’ai
I was hearing clearly those words in my ears when we saw the minarets of Masjid-e-Nabawi:saw2: at the time we reached the outskirts of the city and were only a mile or so away.
The heart started beating fast. That green dome was about to be visible that I’d seen in pictures and the beauty of which is un-describeable.
The minarets started to coming close as we were getting close to the city.
(To be Cont’d)
… Hum FaqeeroN ko MadinaY kee Ga’li achi lagee
cont’d from the previous entry]
Our car entered around 3:00 PM into the City of Rehmat, into the city of Rehmatul LiL Aalameen:saw2:, the city named Madinatun Nabi.
Uncle’s family along with my other two elder sisters were already waiting for us in the apartment.
From the window of the back room, I peeped into the outside world. The green dome of Masjid-e-Nabawi:saw2: along with its unique white minar [a monument of the great Turkish Ottoman Empire - Khilaafat-e-Usmaaniya] was challenging the sunlight. I was but mesmerized with the fact that our house was just at a walking distance of hardly 15 minutes to Sarkaar-e-Dau Aalam:saw2:.
Woh daana-e-subul, khatam-ur-rusul, maula-e-kul jiss naY
Ghubaaaar-e-raaah ko bakhshaa farogh-e-waaadi-e-seena
Nigaaah-e-ishq-o-masti maiN wo hee awwal wo hee aaakhir
Wo hee QuraN, wo hee FurqaN, wo hee YaseeN, wo hee Taha
Allahuma SallaY Alaa syedana MuhammadiyouN wa ala Aalehi wa Ashaabehi Wassallim …
Just across the apartment was a bordered ground where later I saw Arabs playing Football (Soccer). Right after the ground was a convinient store/Deli. Owner of that shop was a middle aged egyptian and was very very good hearted person. We used to buy miranda cans for a Riyaal from him:D
At this point, I think it is appropriate to mention that I’ve personally felt an obvious difference between the residents of Madinah and Makkah. You feel calmness and love in the attitude of people of Madinah and its environment; whereas, a Makkan will normally be very strict and stiff when talking to you. The attitude is quite harsh. When I mentioned this to my father, his answer was “Madinah is the city of Prophet:saw2: who is Rehmatul Lil Aalameen. His Shafqat and his love for his ummah is evident in his city; while we find the JALAAL of Allah:subhanahu: in His city. His house is a place of worship and it is His Darbaar …”
I think I satisfactorily found my answer to the difference of Madinah and Makkah…
There is somewhat a funny incident related to that Deli. One of my elder cousin, who now lives in Canada, once went there to buy butter for breakfast early in the morning. All his way, he walked memorizing the arabic word for butter >>Zubdaa but by the time he reached there, it had become >>Zubaadi -the yougurt:D and he did come with the bin of yougurt in his hand:rotfl:
So, after we all took shower and got fresh, it was about As’r time. We were to pray As’r in the Masjid of Sarwar-e-Kaainaat:saw2:
That first short travel to the mosque has its own beautiful moments that are imprinted on my mind and will never perish until my last breath.
(To be Cont’d)
SaaraY Nabi teraY Dar kaY Sawaali - Shah-e-Madinah …
All of us left the apartment for Masjid-e-Nabawi:saw2: at As’r time. During our stay in Madinah, we always walked towards the mosque than going on a car.
Fruits for Iftaar were in Ammi, chachi’s, and Baaji’s purses
… There were two infants in our caravan too, one my youngest sister at that time and second one of the cousin. Rooh Afza was poured in their milk bottles hehe … The reason was that, it is not allowed to take food inside the mosque other than dates … you get regular water and zam zam anyway but people (Read: Women) did use to take things inside and authorities were little soft on the issue during Ramadhan anyway, as long as nothing is dropped on the floor/carpet.
We walked and walked and walked… Every inch of Madinah was beautiful. We passed by an under construction mosque Masjid Al Bilaal underneath of which was a market to be built. In 1998, when I visited Arabia again, that mosque was standing their with all its glory.
Then, came the bridge joining the Al Tareeqtul Hijrah with Madinah and Abbu’s office was currently located their as Material Engineer. I remember, during Ramadhaan, the work was done after Isha till before Sahoor and the rest of the day was off. I remember going with Abbu at site many times. I really enjoyed the nights of Madinah full of blessed breezes… Nothing can come close to cherish me as the memories of those time. How I wish I can go back and spend my rest of life there, praying all 5 times in Riyaadhul Jannah with Roza-e-Rasool:saw2: on my left and unlimited oppertunities to say salaam directly to the prophet(SAW)… Only if my wish could come true.
After the bridge construction site, we came across with Masjid Al Ghammama .. Ghammamaa in Arabic means “Clouds.” The tradition related to this mosque is that Rasoolulah(SAW) offered Salaahtul Istasqa there once when there was a situation of drought in Madinah. And right after offering the prayer, Madinah was covered by clouds and light rain started.
Soon, we saw Masjid-e-Nabawi (SAW) very close to us. There used to be an area of prayer outside of the mosque covered by “Sheds.” It was on the right side of the mosque where Baab-us-Saalam was right across Baab Al Jibreal. During my visit in 1998, I saw no sheds left anymore but the extension of the mosque itself in that area.
We were going from the front of the mosque… where the door named Baab-us-Salaam is… Every gate of Masjid has a name and so does in Makkah.
If one stands in the mosque facing towards ka’bah or the green dome (Gumbad-e-KhizraaN) then Baab-us-Salaam is on the right side while The dome is on the extreme left where Baab Al Jibreel is… If one wants to visit Jannat-ul-Baqi [a graveyard where hundreds of Companions of the Prophet:saw2: are sleeping] Baab al Jibreel is the one to go through…
There used to be a Jannat Gali in between Masjid and Jannat-ul-Baqi where the house of Syedana Imaam Hussain:razi: was… It was a very narrow street. That too was destroyed by the year 1998 I visited. It is sad that we as muslims in the name of “rooting out bidd’ah” are destructing our own history. It is true that if a nations forgets its past, the future will never remember such a nation.
Anyway, it was As’r time, and my first prayer at a place where Nabi Allah
and his Ashaab ridhwaanullah AliyehaY Ajm’aeen made their lines straight as our Imaams.
Soon after As’r, we went inside the mosque - in the original mosque- where Riyaaz-ul-Jannah is .. a place which is called in a hadeeth as one of the gardens of Jannah. There Rasooulah:saw2: is inside the house of Ummul Mo’mineen Syeda Aisha:razi2: along with his two great companions Abu Bakar:razi: & Umer-e-Farooq:razi: Hujrah of Fatmatuz Zuhra:razi2: is also behind the same grill…
It was the beggining of what we were to do more than five times a day during our stay there… - that is to say salaam to the beloved of Allah where 70,000 angels descend every second for the same purpose and those angels who have come will never get a chance back till Qiyamah according to a hadith.
We saw “roshan daan” for which it is said that Jibreel:Allaih: used to come with Wahi from there…
Soon, it was about the time for Iftaar…
First ever Saum in Madinah was to be completed. I wished the time would’ve stopped. No time can match that moment in life.
(To be Cont’d)
Baab Al Majeed, Baab un Nisaa, Baab Al Jibrael, “Samooli” and Yamani ParaaThaa …
Cont’d from the previous entry]
In the veranda of Masjid-e-Nabawi:saw2:, women’s place is separated on left by a line of racks - racks on which Copies of Quran-e-Kareem are placed.
Being very little, I was allowed to go in women’s section where females of the family were sitting. I among few other young cousins became the “courier” guy of Iftaar. Azaan-e-Maghrib. The most beautiful Azaan I’d ever heard.
After Maghrib, we again visited “RozaY kee jaaliyaaN” to say Salaam. This act of saying Salaam is the most amazing thing happened in my life. The tranquility my heart felt every time, can not be described in words and in any language.
We offered Nawaafil in Riyaaz-ul-Jannah. Every Pole (Sutoon) in that area also has a name. One time, I remember, in a very crowdy situation, I was pushed to a sutoon and I hold to it for quite a time. I can’t forget the fragrance coming out of it. Later, found out the name was Sutoon-e-Aisha …
We stayed even after maghrib and then prayed Isha. In the whole Arab, Haramain Shareefain are the only two mosques where they offer 20 raka’at of Taraaveeh. Although it take a way too long to pray taraaveeh there than anywhere else [Pakistan or US], amazingly, it never seemed or felt for that matter that it was too long.
Finally, after offering ‘Salaam’ again, we came out. Baab-e-Majeed was the one, Abbu used to come out of… or sometime Baab-al-Jibrael right from the front left door infront of “RozaY kee sunheri Jaali,” which is in the direction of Jannat-ul-Baqi - the graveyard where hundred’s of Companions (RA) are sleeping.
At the back of mosque, behind Baab un Nissa, was a market.. it has now developed more with couple of 5-stars hotels but I can not forget a name of a Pakistani Restaurant from where we never ate :-p. It was Khwaaja Bahaaud Deen Zakariya Restaurant. It is there No MORE…
But the thing that always attracted me then, was a sandwich shop ![]()
The italian bread and meat of camel
for three riyaals.. I still remember getting that every after Isha … That bread in Arabic was called Samooli so Samooli was one thing I was in love with until one day, we were late and shop was closed:bummer:
I was sad that day:( and Abbu bought me a Yamani ParaaTha
Gosh! it was probably 4 Square Feet Long
… and the stuff it had, like minced meet, tomatoes, potatoes, green peppers, you name it… Since then, Samooli became the second choice…
And then one day, we discovered an Afghaan Tandoor near our house… So our Sahoor and then later on breakfast used to have Afghaani Naans…
After couple of days, our destination was Masjid-e-Quba. The first ever mosque other than Ka’abatullah which is mentioned in Quran and about which Quran itself confirms that its foundation was laid on nothing but TAQWAH and Rasoolulah:saw2: said that offering two nawaafil in this mosque is equivalent to offer an Umrah. This hadeeth is Ahsan and narrated by Ummul Momineen Aisha Siddiqa
… She had said that anyone in Makkah can offer Umrah any time but residents of Madinah can’t do that that often. Hence, the saying of Prophet:saw: about this mosque…
The memorable days of going to Quba are not only cheirshable but were full with the humourous incidents that became part of that journey - a journey I want to do again and again till eternity…
(To be Cont’d)
Quba - “La Masjidun Ussessa Ala’t TaQwa Min Awwal-e-Youmin a’haqqo an taqooma feeh!!”
Our first travel to Masjid Al Quba turned out to be an eventful day…
In this initial visit, only men of the family travelled to the mosque. All of us were sitting in a Jeep given to Chacha from work. The driver was also a person from Pakistan.
We reached Quba. Offered Nawaafil. Went to nearby place of “khaak-e-shifaa” - considered bidah by many Arabs … Then while returning back, dear driver saaaaab drived into one way:smack: aur sonaY par suhaagaa mo’azziz TullaY A.K.A ShutraY in their car were waiting right infront … One can imagine. Aik tau police aur ooper saY an Arab police, no less than a paThan by dimaagh… goyaa Yuk naa Shud kayee kayee shud:bummer: tau huaa youN kaY car and driver baabooo were driven to nearby Precint and we walked back to the apartment in Madinah. BaRay hee namaaqool police waalaY thaY bha’ee:naraz:… I mean it was just a routine violation. Should have given a summon and/or warning and let us all go .. meaning all 11 of us:halo: but No, they had to take the car and driver too. I dunno what was the law but it still seems ridiculous to say the least.
Anyway, we came back. But in couple of days, we decided to “walk” to Quba again :halo:, and this time it were the women with all us “bachaY kachaY” of the family who decided to visit and Abbu and Chacha were not part of our group… and we decided to walk because Quba was hardly on a walking distance of 30-40 minutes from our apartment…
Guess who was our navigotor??? err… he was none other than my cousin N -same cousin who bought yougurt instead of butter because he mixed up the arabic words and who now lives in canada. Ya’ani hamaaraa sirf Allah hee Maalik reh gayaa thaa:D
Mohataram Bhai jaan Qiblaa ‘N’ Mudda’ Zillahul A’ali wa Afi Anhu took all of us towards North first whereas Quba was in South of Madinah. From there, Huzoor-e-waalaa took a long U turn making a Semi Circle and making his qibla correct but by then we had spent almost 1 and half hour… ![]()
JaisaY taisaY, we reached Quba …
I do not exactly remember if it was while coming back or before but I think it was coming back that we were so thirsty and tired that we all took a break for a while in a passing by “garden” of dates. I mean we just entered that area and we saw some Arabs taking care of their Dates’ trees and stuff… It was after as’r time, and maghrib was about there so it was definitely while coming back… We had prayed Zohur in Quba… As’r in between somewhere too.. and now when we entered that oasis kindda place, we were treated with pure cold water and the delicious dates I’d ever ate. I mean they were just so
.. they even gave us crates of dates.. some of those were kachi khajooraiN.. they were yellow and half brown.. man! those were really tasteful:D some of us got their throat “caught up” by those too later on:hehe: but it was worth a treat…
Then, God knows how many times we went to Quba on foot but thank God our navigator was no more Hazrat-e-N … ![]()
(To be Cont’d)
LOST in Masjid-e-Nabawi …
On one Ramadhan evening, I got lost in Masjid-e-Nabawi:saw2:
That evening, we were in the “Shades” area of the mosque which was used to be on the right of the Masjid where Baab Us Salaam is.
It was a common practice in the family that after every breaking of a fast or after every salah or at any time we used to come in the mosque or when leaving, we used to say durood and salaam to Rasoolulah:saw2:…
Looking at the green dome if outside or at golden grill when inside, it became a common habbit. That evening, after breaking the fast, I tried to get a glimpse of the dome over and from between the openings in the shades as I always used to do and while doing so I got myself too far away from Abbu.
Suddenly at time when I was done and when I heard Iqaamah being recited, I found myself somewhere else than where I was before. Abbu was not around. Thousands of people were just standing for salah and I was lost. Completely lost!!!
I looked at the dome, eyes filled with tears and the innocence of that childhood on my face probably, I first tried to run between the lines while people praying and then realize that it is namaaz time… I missed the first rakah but then got myself put together, and prayed the salah with all the thoughts of Abbu and Ammi in my mind…
Childhood can really be so strange and at times when your idea of being with your parents is so strong, if one tells you that a day might come in future when you might will have to leave them for good, you would probably won’t ever want to grow older.
After Salah, I started running between people and calling “Abbu Abbu” with tears falling out of my eyes. Then, from somewhere Abbu came out and grabbed me, kissed me, wiped my tears and took me with him. There after prayers, in the shades, were some Arabs sitting with a lots and lots of food. There is no food allowed inside the mosque but was allowed in the shades. They offered us to join them. It is an Islamic ethic to not to refuse such an offer for it (rizq) is from ALLAH:subhanahu: – we joined them.
For some reason, no wonder how dreadful that moment might have been, I still think it was a blessing to be lost in a place where Rasoolulah:saw2: is… It gave me enough courage later on in life when leaving parents for my future. I thought it can not be worse anymore.
May Allah:subhanahu: have always mercy on my parents.
(To be Cont’d)
AQ, i read half of ur safarnaama,feel like going there asap :(,
Nostalgic.
Same here Aqal-less… This short travelogue came into existence due to the very nostalgic feelings I had been having for years and finally decided to write all that I could remember… often I go back and read it from the middle somewhere when it is unbearable to think about the days…
anyway so:
Scattered Memoirs - Khaak-e-Madinah-O-Haram
I wish I could write everyday of my stay in Madinah/Saudia in a daily diary.
I can’t recall much anymore in a better way…
All the memories are scattered. I was too little to remember all that…
I remember buying toys after faj’r during Ramadhaan outside of Masjid-e-Nabawi:saw2:
I remember going to hundreds of Ziyaaraat. Sabaa Masaajid, The trees of dates from the time of Prophet:saw2: which still give dates even after burnt out. Field of Bad’r.
In Makkah, Jannat-ul-Mo’alla … Masjid-e-Jin, where Jinnat took Bay’at on Rasoolulah:saw2:'s hand …
I can’t recall in a way that I can put things in readable format…
I will probably be able to recall major events of Hajj later… I remember a lot from that… …
I remember Performing Umrahs several times but the most spiritual experience was after Ishaa during Tahajjud time… I remember “tawaaf” of Abaabeels around the ka’aba… Muqaam-e-Ibraaheem:Allaih:, Hateem maiN nawaafil, Rukn-e-Yamaani…hajar-e-aswad…
Next will be about my first Umrah and its memories… Insha Allah! …
meri aankhoN kaa surmaa khaak-e-Madeena-o-Haram
(To be Cont’d)
AQ
In my twenty years stay in Saudi Allah blessed me with numerous visits to the holy places and everytime I went there it was an unforgettable experience. More then me going there I considered it the greatest achievement of my life when I was able to take my parents to Makkah and Medina for haj and umrah.
I was in Iran during the Khomeni revolution of 1979 and have quite a few stories to tell. Will narrate a few here.
Oh man, I will wait for your Irani stories Ehsan bhai. Never heard of any Paki perspective of Iran from 79
Thanks ehsan bhai..
79’s Iran revolution?
things before my time…
I will love to read those stories as well.
First Umrah and the younger brother!!!
I can’t forget my first ever Umrah in the month of Ramadhaan. We did that Umrah under the hot sun with extremely clear skies. The temperature was reaching close to 45 degree centigrade and it was the month of May. We started it around 11 and by the time of Zuh’r we were done with it. Umrah in normal conditions only takes atmost hour and a half to two hours, not more than that.
I remember entering into the Ka’aba and seeing it with my own eyes. I was just mesmerized. The surroundings and the feelings and the environment - those can not be fully described in man-made words.
Kabhi Aye HaQeeeqat-e-Muntazir! Nazar aaa Libaaas-e-Mijaaz maiN
kaY HazaaroN sajdaY taRap rahai haiN, meri Jabeen-e-Niyaaz maiN
I remember looking at Ka’aba all the time, just staring at it. Grabbing the index finger of Abbu I was just looking over my shoulder to have a glimpse of Black Ka’aba, under the arms of passing by men and between the people around, I knew only one thing that this was the ka’aba about which I always read and heard that it was the house of Allah:subhanahu: and it was first built by Adam:Allaih: and later by Ibraaheem-O-Ismaail Alyehimus Salaam. Having not much of the understanding of what it is to a Muslim, even at that age, I remember to be attracted towards Ka’ba. Baitullah, the house of Allah:subhanahu: I saw Black Bricks of the wall of Ka’baa, wanted to just go and kiss those walls and just cry. I did not know what cry means in that context at that age but Ka’aba has put that understanding in me at that time.
I remember after Umrah, Abbu had picked me up and in the heavy crowed made way towards Muqaam-e-Ibraaheem:Allaih:… I remember seeing those holy foot-prints of Syedena Ibraaheem:Allaih: while peeking into it over Abbu’s hands. Those prints are imprinted in my brain for the eternity now.
I remember the Veranda of Kaba’a was really cold in that hot weather. The Marble was not hot. Abbu told me that they had cold waterlines running under the ground. That was amazing. But I remember those black marbles at the corner of the roofed-mosque and the veranda which were about a foot high were hot as hell… I accidentally put my feet on them while going in the Masjid area and almost had screamed …
I remember my younger brother in my Ammi’s gaud. He was around 4 years old. With a gora rung and green eyes, and in white Ahraam, he became the spotlight for Arab women. I saw few Arab women grabbing his feet and kissing’em calling him Al Haaji Sagheer [choTaa Haaji].. I really felt jealous ![]()
However, the most funny part which happened after the Umrah was in Madinah…
During the Umrah, my Brother had slept. So, when it came to get hair cut, all the men got their head clean shaved:D but he did not… he got a minimum required hair cut as he was sleeping.
We came back to Madinah…
next day, after Zuhar, we came from Masjid-e-Nabawi, and everyone of us were taking a nap, when suddenly I woke up…
And the scene I witnessed at that time was something which I did not know to laugh at or become worry about it..
I saw my younger brother had a scissor in his hand and he had cut his hair from the middle front of his head… making a four inches long and 2 inches wide “maaNg” ![]()
Apparently, he was naraaz
that everyone got their head shaved and he did not ![]()
That evening, Abbu took him to a barber and get his head clean shaved as well. When he came back home, he was as happy as if he had found a big treasure… ![]()
(To be Cont’d)
**cont'd from the previous entry]**
Time for the GOLDEN MEMOIRS of Hajj
It's all scattered.
I remember almost everything of Hajj but can not recollect them in a chronological order.
I can perhaps come close to the actual chain of events by splitting "Manaasik-e-hajj" but then again I might be mixing up one event to another..
In my next few entries, I will try my best to list those days and not to forget the spiritual nights....
I remember we were altogether 19 people including Chacha's family. Abbu had chartered a 25-seat coaster van and our driver and coductor were Arabs and knew few urdu words:D like Shukriya.....
I remember we put on Ahraam in Madinah...
If my memory serves me right, we went for Tawaaf-e-ziyaarat - the first Tawaaf of Ka'baa and when our van entered Makkah early at Tahajjud time, we came across with a resident Arab in a street who warned us about the dangerous crowdy situation in the Mosque. About 70 people had died in a stempead in the wee hours.
The decision was made that only elders will go for tawaaf and will do the tawaaf of youngers too and they left us with van in one of residential streets in Makkah.
There, we all stayed in van with windows and doors closed...
After praying Faj'r, all of us got into deep sleep and woke up near sunrise upon screams of one of our cousins. Elders had still not arrived yet.
We all quickly rushed towards the door of the van and what we saw there, was enough to make our blood evaporate..... :-/
(To be Cont'd)
Labbaik Allahuma Labbaik … Here I come, Oh Allah! here I come to your call
What we saw was a cow-size street dog looking at all of us with love
and I am not exaggerating about the size. It seemed about that size given our own size at that age.:halo:
Mosoof kuttaY Saahib was standing right infront of the only door at front of the van.
My cousin was in desperate need of going to the rest room nearby made for Hujjaaj…
The Arab driver came to our rescue and soon was able to make the dog leave…
I remember staying a night in Muzdalfah to collect the pebbles for three day Rami [throwing 7 pebbles for three days in Minna] starting from Jumraah’ Al Sagheer - The Little Shaitaan- to Jumrah AL Kabeer - The Big Shaitaan. A Sunnah of our Father - Syedana Ibraaheem:Allaih: when he threw pebbels at shaitaan during the time when Shaitaan-e-La’een came to him to mislead him. To mislead him from what he was going to do, that is to slaughter his own beloved son syedana Ismaeel:Allaih:… The very Sunnah that we follow on every 10th of Zil Hajj, about which Quran testifies that **niether the flash, nor the blood of the animal reaches to ALLAH:subhanahu: but what reaches Him, is our Piety. **
Thus, another misconception about the day of Eid-ul-Adhaa is that it must be next day of hajj regardless wherever in this world you are.
Well, It is the next day of Hajj for those who are performing Hajj for Hajj is on 9th of Zil Hajj whereas Slaughtering is done on 10th next day. Lunar dates may vary over the globe for different locations so 10th of Zil Hajj could very well be couple of days off from 10th of Zil Hajj in Jazeerat-ul-Arab.
That night in Muzdalfah was so calm when we - millions of us - were under the starry skies of Hijaaz. Those stars must have seen our glorious past when the thousands of Allah’s great devoties made their way out on the earth of Allah to make His name superior.
Yeh Ghaaazi, yeh teraY Pur Asraaar BandaY
JinhaiN Tu naY Bakhshaa hai Zoq-e-Khudaai
Dau Neem in ki Thokar saY Sehra-O-Dariyaa
Sima’T kar pahaaaR inn kee haibat saY Raai
I remember reading a story of a Sahaabi:razi: who went on his horse till he reached the sea and he put his horse in the sea saying that if he could, he would’ve crossed it for the sake of ALLAH:subhanahu:
Dasht tau Dasht haiN, Dariya bhee naa choRay hum naY
Beh’r-e-Zul’maaat maiN dauRaaa diYe ghoRaY hum naY
I remember our van running towards Minna after mid-night where we had to reach before Faj’r…
Before leaving Muzdalfah, we had a Samooli of boiled egg… I wanted of a camel’s meat
but it was not a time of nagging.
While on the black road towards Minna, I was sitting, at the righ hand side of the van near a window right behind the driver seat.
Cool breeze of the desert was coming from outside and colliding with my face and driver had turned on the radio. I heard Talbeeh from radio. On my left my uncle, abbu and all cousins were reading the Talbeeh too in chorus.
From radio, the melodious sound of Talbeeh was reaching my ears and the chilly air from outside and everything black around were just mesmerizing me. I looked at sky. A half moon was alone without any cloud but was not so alone. All the stars were there to give me the proof of the existence of my Lord. I started chanting the Talbeeh with the recording on the Radio:
Labbaik Allahuma Labbaik!
Labbaika Laa Shareeka Laka Labbaik
Innal Hamdaa
Wan’ Ne’matah
lakaawal Mulk
Laaaa Shareeka Luk
Labbaik Allahuma Labbaik!
Here I come, Oh Allah! here I come to your call
Here I come, thou hast no partners, here I come to you
Verily, all the praises are for you alone
and truley, all the blessings/ne’maah are from you
Surely, Thine Alone Is The Sovereignty
thou hast no partners
I was chanting those words in Arabic and continued to look out of the window. A path where my beloved Prophet:saw2: once walked on his feet to perform the Hajj, we were on the same path. It just brings trears to the eyes whenever I think about those days. I want to re-live those days every year for the rest of my life.
While looking at those paths from the past and reading the Talbeeh, I do not know when the sleep-fairy took me in her bossoms. Our van kept on running on the road. Faj’r was near. The moon of the first week of zil hajj was travelling along our caravan while the black mountains under starry night kept travelling back - back in time - when they had witnessed the glory of the Comapnions (RA) - Talbeeh kept coming in my ears from the radio and from the side of the van.
(To be Cont’d)