Travelogues

Correction: Fraudz and Funguy weren't negative :p

Hmmm…Well I have got these other travel experiences that are positive…I always remember them whenever I think of my flights and stuff…

This one time I was at the Karachi airport…and you know what the trolleys are like at the airport, like majorly rusted and antiquated and immobile… [gosh, WHEN are they going to replace them???]…so I was trying to handle the trolley by myself lol [not a good idea] and it rammed into my foot real hard and my foot started bleeding really bad :frowning: so I went to the restroom and there I was trying to wash away the blood but it won’t stop bleeding. So this old lady who worked at the airport came up to me and saw the blood coming out of my foot…she said something quickly and then tore a piece of cloth from her dupatta and tied it hard around my foot to stop the bleeding and gave me a small lecture :slight_smile:

:clown:

This other time, I was on a flight from Islamabad to Karachi and I was travelling by myself on Shaheen Air. This lady who works at Shaheen Air too, I think in a high managerial post, was sitting next to me. I was coming back after visting my grandparents and all my extended family and knew I wouldn’t be seeing them for a long time so I was crying on the flight :-/ I wasn’t making any sounds so I still don’t know how she thought I was crying but suddenly she was like bachay kiya hua hae and then me being the little kid I was then lol was like auntyyyyyy bla bla and then she listened to my whole story and took a tissue from her purse and wiped my face with it and told me a lot of things and just made me feel a lot better. She told me a lot about her own life and her own daughter. She was a real sweet and warm lady and had had quite an eventful life. Then when the steward came with the food [she was their high up boss] I was like to him ke naheen mein ne kuch naheen khana…but she told the steward to get the food that they serve to the special people I think the first class or somfin and she was like to me k khana hae tumhein and she forced me to eat. I was crying throughout the flight and throughout she was trying to console me. In the end when we had to say bye she even gave me her phone number. When we got off at Karachi airport, my dad was there to pick me up and I wanted him to meet her and I told him about how nice she had been to me, but we couldnt…I was leaving for the US in two days so I called her to say bye before leaving Pakistan but she was not there…I hope I get to see her again…

Hmmm…more experiences…

Oh, this one time, an uncle from India was sitting next to me on the plane with dhoti and all :smiley: and he was hecka sweet, at lunch time he took out his aaloo ke parathas that his wife had made for him and was like baita ye khao :slight_smile:

This one time this uncle was sitting next to me on the flight from Karachi to London…and I have a habit usually when they are saying the dua-e-safar I put the dupatta on my head…so I did that…and then during the whole flight he was talking to me, and his wife who was a British lady, was also sitting next to him, they both thought I was a Muslim fundo lol and were trying to convert me :smiley: Kaafi mazza aya :smiley: They were nice people..

Then this one time, I was travelling form the US to London and our flight was about to take off…this desi person was sitting like one seat down from me…it was aftari time [it was Ramzaan during those days] and I took out this small packet of dates from my handbag and was eating one…I didn’t know that person was Muslim too…I thought he must be Indian…The person must be like atleast 15 years older than me…He’s like BAJI aik khajoor mil sakta hae…LOL :smiley: heheheheh…

LOL kaaaafiiii experiences haen…kuch aur bhee haen…and met some many interesting ppl…won’t write em all here either :-D…even bumped into old classfellows sometimes…its nice…

travelling is definitely a lot of fun :~)

Okay this isn't exactly a travelogue. but it happened while I was visiting my friend* in Ann Arbor[University of Michigan, Ann Arbor] and more importantly; was fun and interesting. :-D

They have this nice cafe over there and we used to visit it often; particularly for breakfast or dinner. One night we showed up at the cafe for dinner. Okay, before I go on any further let me introduce another character to the scenario; there was this pretty girl who was working there as a cashier. :~)

Everything was going as usual when one of my friends suddenly turned to me and said "Hey hb, how about you asking her out?". I was like wtf! Anywazz, the next thing he said pumped me up: "I dare you; and if it works out I will give you a treat; where ever you want." :-D

After a while, I finally stood up and went up to the girl and said
something. To my surprise she smiled and said: "I am working till close today; How about tommorrow?" hehe The next thing she did confirmed my reservation in a fancy rest.

Now, don't get ahead of me. :-D She wrote her tel no on a piece of paper and handed over to me.

Thats what my friends saw and ofcourse I ended up getting a treat from my friend. What my friends didn't know was the something part. And everytime I thinkof it, it brings a smile on my face. :~) :-D

I had another experience while coming to the states. Not a very good one but something which I will always remember. I will post it when I get time. It can be titled as "Welcome to America" :~)*

Shinoo, love the thread! It's so fun reading everyone's stories. :-)

I don't think I've any out of the ordinary stories to share. I'll just share about my trip to Pakistan. Just things I remembered while reading some of the stories guppies shared.

Reading about lost luggage, I remember the first time I travelled to Pakistan by myself. I was in high school. Very nervous before the trip, especially cuz I had a transit in London, UK. There was this really nice aunty (from Scarborough) who was going somewhere in the middle east. We met her at the airport and she made sure I got a seat with her...cuz my dad told her I was going alone. She told me all about her family and we even exchanged numbers. I had to say goodbye to her when we landed at Heathrow. She had to take a flight to Oman I think, while I had to catch a plane to Islamabad from Gatewick. I was a hecka nervous about changing airports. I kept asking the airport staff if I was going the right way. I had to take a shuttle bus to the other airport. I had about 4 hours altogether to catch the next plane.
I got to the other airport, which was filled with desi's. All I had with me was a backpack. No other luggage, as it was supposed to be transferred over. So all these people are staring me up and down, looking at me roaming around. They probably thought I was eloping. :D (Eek, I won't forget the stares.) The plane ride was sort of noisy and annoying. All these aunties sharing their life stories with each other. I even heard a few talk about me...asking each other whom I was with. :-D Then this uncle came and sat on the seat beside me. He seemed very graceful ...probably in his 60s. He started talking to me telling me about his whole khandan who'd be there at the airport to receive him. He kept telling me to eat during our meal. Lecturing me on how I should take care of myself. He also said, if I didn't eat, he'd tell my mom. :D (My mom was already in Pak before me.)

So, we get to Islamabad, and I've no luggage. The uncle stayed with me for a long time, while we waited for my luggage. I felt so bad cuz he was stuck there. I told him he could go if he wanted. He's like Acha beta I'll go and tell my family I'm here...then I'll be back. I didn't expect him to return, but after like 5 mins, he was back. :-) I found out, my luggage had been lost in transfer. The uncle stayed with me until I found my mom and other relatives who were there to pick me up. He even met my mom. (Didn't complain about me not eating.)
I had to wait for 3 days before I got my luggage. (Had to go shopping for clothes the day I got there...cuz all I had on me was a pair of jeans and a sweater.) :-D

On the way back from Pakistan, I had to stay a night in London. When I got back to Toronto, guess what? No luggage again! But, like an hour after I got home, they called and said they found it..and someone came and delivered it to our house.

Funny thing is, one of my major concerns for the trip was carrying the luggage. Throughout the whole trip, I never had to even touch my suitcases. Everything was taken "care" of. :-D

I'll be back with more. :-)

I am really enjoying this thread… great to read all the stories!!
And all those ppl who ‘will be back’ with more stories please hurry up :slight_smile:

I also met quite a few ppl during saffar, that’s the fun part in my opinion. They just start talking to u and tell everything about their family etc.
I once met a girl on my flight from Karachi to London. She was newly wed and recently moved to UK. She kept me busy the whole flight, told me everything about her susraal. How mean her sister-in-law were how she missed her family and some more personal stuff. I just kept hmm-ing :slight_smile: We exchanged phone numbers but I never called, and neither did she.

HeartBeat,
You have GOT to tell us the ‘something’ part!! :hoonh:

Thanks Mehnaz :-) That was a good read.
Seems like u have travelled alot! What is the most beautiful place u have ever visited?

Caution: Boring stuff

I was in London in 1997 on a business visit attending a telecom conference. The conference ended earlier than scheduled on Friday morning. My flight back to US was for the next day. I had half day to kill. I was in no mood of going around London or staying put in my hotel room. I wanted to get away. I went to KingsCross (I believe that was the station or was it Victoria?). Anyway, I looked up the schedule and decided to board the next train. It was headed for Leeds. Paid for the 50 pound RT fare and hopped on the train.

It was a 2 hr journey to Leeds. Once the train left proper London, I started enjoying the English countryside. It was lush green. Even got to see a couple of cricket matches being played. The train was going at about 100 MPH.

I got off at Leeds and walked out of the station. Hailed a taxi and asked to be taken to Leeds University (or is it University of Leeds). It was only a 5 minute ride. I walked around the campus and started my walk back towards the station. Ate lunch at an outside flea market type of place. English food really sux man. Either it's too cooked or almost raw. I decided to eat fish n chips for the fourth fking time in two days.

Anyway, walked back to station... got on to the next train back to London... went to the hotel room...turned on the tv, watched some CNN lol and went to sleep.

^^ dur fittay munh. the following doesn't really qualify as a travelogue but was an interesting incident.

This was around the time when I was 10 or so. My family sans my Dad were flying to Pakistan from Saudi Arbia 'cause of the gulf war. We had these three teenagers sitting in the row ahead of us. and they all seemed very modern and stuff; one of the guys had long hair. I got inspired by the guy's locks and I decided to show off all the new words I had been learning in school. So, I go to my Ammi, "Ammi, mera dost key raha thaa keh iss tarah kay baal jo log rakhtay hain, un ko chakka kehtay hain". And despite trying to be discrete and all, I said it so loudly that the guy turned around and started glaring at me. Ammi wasn't paying attention. Every fifteen minutes or so the guy would trun around and make sure that I was still there and good and round for the upcoming feast. Needless to say the rest of the flight I was expecting the guy to jump me as soon as no one was looking. We got separated once people got off though.

He did spot me once the place landed and tried to approach me. But he lost track of me or something. I was terrified the whole flight but when I remember now, I can't help but smile at what a good child I was.

^^ Sambs, you shouldn't be pointing at the quickie bar and saying such derogatory stuff like fittay moonh. tsk tsk

Anyway, your travelogue was as boring as my trip to Leeds.

Tsk Tsk Funguy.
U could've booked a flight to Amsterdam with those 50 quid!
Only a 45 min flight and I can guarantee you it's more fun than Leeds ;)

Adding on to the boring travelogues.

This happened while i was in Pakistan the last time. Our stay was mainly in our gaoon in inner Sindh. Weddings were coming up for a few of our relatives and we needed to get new clothes made and what not. The nearest big city is about 15 miles away so me, my mom, and my khala set out in the morning to do as much shopping as possible during the day and get back home during the late afternoon. My uncles sent us with a taxi (they knew the driver - as it's a small town and every one knows everyone else). So we spent the whole day shopping and going back and forth to the tailors, as they never have anything ready on time. Needless to say it was alrighty dark when we set out to get back to our gaoon. Though it's only 15 miles b/w the city and our gaoon, it can get pretty sunsaan after nightfall as everyone returns home after the working day and it's not very safe to be traveling alone especially if it's all women. So anyway the three of us were pretty quiet as we know we should've been home earlier and everyone's probably getting worried and we'll get some daant once we do reach home. So the taxi was the khatara type and was going very slow, but it was going fine. We must've covered 3/4 of the way when all of a sudden the tire blew out. Not a good thing especially when u wanna get home. So the driver pulls over to the side....all of us are worried sick as there are only fields and fields to our left and right. There's no abadi whatsoever, and there's no light except of an occasional vehicle going by, which were mostly buses. My mom and khala start reciting all the surahs they can recall I'm really afraid now cuz anything could happen. Muder, kidnapping, rape, robbery, and anything in between. I was thinking that at any moment now, someone's going pullover behind us and kidnapp us or something. So i start planning the big heroic escape, which would mean running thru the fields on the left and then somehow going straight would lead me to gaaon. Right then a car pulled over behind us, i was like ok i'm dead...we're dead. The headlights were shining right at our taxi. Our driver was standing outside, and the other driver came up and asked what was the problem. It turned out that the guy behind us was also a taxi guy and he had a spare tire. He then helped our driver to change the tire, and marr marr ke we were back on our way. And finally when we did get home, everyone was awaiting us, and worried sick so every member of the family felt justified in giving a lecture. Shukar hai ke my nana ji wasn't home...unka ghussa Allah maaf kare.

:-) Great account Sehar...

Hmm, the following isn't actually travelogue material. But some similar incidents related randomly to travel.

When I was in sixth grade, my whole immediate family and my uncle's family was in our car, the car was basically totally packed and we were returning from a shaadi in Karachi.
We had a really bad accident and almost all of us got major injuries, we were all awash in blood. Allah ka karam hae there was no permanent damage to anyone though.
So there we were, like about 10 people, all covered in blood, on the street in the submarine chowrangi in Clifton, our car beside us a total wreck.
People had collected around us, but like we were all badly bleeding and there was no ride to the hospital. I don't really remember much, but my dad (he was injured himself... :-/ ] was trying to find a ride. There were no mobile phones those days and it was late in the night so he couldn't just walk into a shop and use their phone as all the shops were closed... Those were also the days of total lawlesness in Karachi and no one would give strangers a ride like that because there was all this police case stuff that one could get into apparently. Suddenly this young couple and their small baby daughter, who were passing by in a nice big car, stopped, and helped get all of us in their car. I still remember that their seat covers were stark white and when we all got off their car, their seat covers were stained with blood. They drove us to the hospital, made sure we got some doctors on our case, and stayed there with us for some time...

This other time my mom was travelling on the public bus in Karachi with my little brother and me, we were both under 10 years of age...She had with her a polythene bag which contained a lot of gold jewelry. We got off the bus at the bus stop and walked for a couple of minutes when mummy realised she had forgotten that bag of gold jewelry on the bus!
She totally panicked and tried to ask for help.
This one guy, a young student, saw how worried she was. He was on a motorbike and didn't look rich or anything. He went after the bus on his bike, when the bus stopped at the next stop, he asked the conductor for the bag, and then he brought the bag back to my mom.

This other time my brother lost his passport in Karachi airport when he was visiting from Canada. His passport had valid Canadian, UK and American visas on it. It was only after coming home that we realised he was missing his passport. He had kept it on the luggage trolley and forgotten to get it from there. Anyways, we filed a police report but there wasn't much else we could do. A couple days later, we received an anonymous letter with bhai's passport in the envelope!
Later on people told us that if someone had tried selling that passport in the black market, it would have fetched lakhs of rupees.

Duniya mei wakai achay logon ki kami naheen hae...

During Gulf war our family along with 4 more familes, drove all the way from kuwait to Pakistan. It took us 18 days to reach karachi. Our longest stay was at Iraqi border which opens to turkey. ( they had closed the border to Iran from Iraq). We had to stay there for a week. there was no food supply, no washrooms, the only thing that was there were water melons, but because of poor hygenic conditions everyone was avoiding it. There was a little hill, which became everyone's washroom because of lot of bushes and trees. Our stove was made of bricks and dried bushes. i remember the best food we ever had there was boiled rice with achar ka oil. hehe. Iraqi's would open the borders for few mins and close it every day. and there were lotssss of people there. Arabs were asking for bribes, jewelries (if had any) or even eyeing teenage daughters in return for getting out of Iraq. I remember the day when we crossed the border, Iraqi's stole our stove along with our food :( khair.. for us we were just glad to get out of that place.
I saw familes breaking, people recognizing true friends and enemies.
I remember eating food in Turkey which tasted awful..lol.. lekin it was probably the first proper food we had in a longest time. we bought it for thousands or liras and the gas was lik 10,000 liras or something. we actually stayed in hotel there after 8 dayz of sleeping or living in the car.
we all showered there with the ice cold water u can ever imagine. ( it was coming straight from the mountains). There were dangerous roads on the mountains, u had to be at the edge of the road for trucks and other cars to pass through , coming from the opposite side. the scenery was awsome. I guess if we were all not so busy with just simply surviving we wud have taken more time to appreciate the nature's beauty. .. even though i was 8 or 9 years old back then but i still remember each and every day of it....*sigh so many stories to tell..
will be back later with more :-)

W. O. W.

suroor, wow... you must have been too young to record everything. You know this is book material. If you need help writing a book, feel free to contact me. I will add some spicy stuff and make it sellable. You know what I mean by spicy...ahaan...yes, wohi wohi. The reason you don't wana have children.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
suroor, wow... you must have been too young to record everything. You know this is book material. If you need help writing a book, feel free to contact me. I will add some spicy stuff and make it sellable. You know what I mean by spicy...ahaan...yes, wohi wohi. The reason you don't wana have children.

achi khasi baat kartay kartay.. fizool harkat par utarna zaroori tha?.. mazak har jagah aur har waqt nahien kiya jata.

hehe okay i just remembered something funny..
we used to start traveling right after fajar prayer till maghrib. so it was around zuhar time when we stopped by this little restaurant in Iran. people in iran are soo nice. so after again couple of days later our aunties had an urge to make some desi pakistani food themselves. so they asked the persian (middle aged) guy if they can use his kitchen and wud pay whatever he asked for. He was such a nice guy, he said no problem, and told us to feel comfortable there. let us use the washrooms and gave us discounts on other items he had. khair u shud have seen his face when mom n other aunties used the red chilli powder..lol.. his jaw dropped, i think they used all the lal mirchay he had in the kitchen.. hehe.. the guy was sweating by just looking at the amount they put in the food.
after eating .. we all thanked him and paid him ( even though he refused to take any) but we paid anywayz. when we were going back to our cars for another endless journey, he came out with 5 bottles of arq-e- gulab ( rose water) and gave them to us as gifts. every one was so touched that one of the aunty started crying :teary1:

just reminded me of naqabi said.. achay log bhee dunya mein hotay hai. :slight_smile:

He gave you guys 5 bottles of arq-e-gulab prolly because he thought you might need it after eating all those spices from his kitchen.

But seriously, that must have been some journey. If I was you, I would sit down with the people who travelled with you and take everyone's account. This kind of stuff happens once in a lifetime. You should seriously record everything down.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
He gave you guys 5 bottles of arq-e-gulab prolly because he thought you might need it after eating all those spices from his kitchen.

But seriously, that must have been some journey. If I was you, I would sit down with the people who travelled with you and take everyone's account. This kind of stuff happens once in a lifetime. You should seriously record everything down.

funguy, the reason i didnt record everything is perhaps because i remember everything like it was yesterday even after all these years. but it is a good idea. :-)
second, out of those four families , i think i know where one of the family is, rest are all over the world, and we have lost contact with some of them :-)

i really enjoyed reading the whole thread :-)

This story that i am sharing is not a travelogue but a short incident..i was travelling once from karachi to toronto with my brother for the first time..and our family wasn't travelling with us. When we had to fill the form kay kia lay ja rahay hain..i tickmarked the dairy product section coz i was carrying some mithae..Once we got to the check-out counter..we were being asked about the dairy product..and i had no clue how that mithae is being made..i couldn't explain to the officer how its cooked..and i was about to cry..so i turned around and asked my brother..tum ko pata hay mithae kaisay banti hay..the officer heard the word mithae and asked me if i am carrying mithae..i said yes i am..he told me that i can go ahead..he smiled and said that lot of pakistanis carry mithae..so he knows :-)