I want to visit my parents in Saudi Arabia end of this year with my elder daughter who will be 3 by that and my other one who is due end of sept. But it seems to be a nightmare for me to even think about the journey. Most probably I will be alone with kids and the flight will be direct with no stops. Please share your such experiences and advices how to carry them both easily.
Re: Traveling abroad with a toddler and an infant
you will have your hands full for sure. better take someone along with you. it's a long flight. kids aren't always in their best moods. i would strongly suggest that you should not travel alone with one kid and an infant.
Wonderful advice from a non parent
U really dont have to reply in every single thread in parenting bhai sahab ![]()
OP: look up this section… This topic has been discussed in great detail loads of times ![]()
And yes, it can be done. Go for it!
you don’t have to be a parent to know…i observe. i travel a lot…thanx for your advice. ![]()
I want to visit my parents in Saudi Arabia end of this year with my elder daughter who will be 3 by that and my other one who is due end of sept. But it seems to be a nightmare for me to even think about the journey. Most probably I will be alone with kids and the flight will be direct with no stops. Please share your such experiences and advices how to carry them both easily.
I'm not a mother myself but hubby and I travel often (both domestically & internationally) so I've observed parents travelling with children countless times. And based on what I have observed.......you travelling by yourself with a 3 year old and a newborn (you're due end of Sept.)........2-3 months after giving birth is a BAD idea. I've seen mothers travelling by themselves with multiple children under the age of 5 and it's looks awful. I can't tell you how often I've seen mothers trying to control toddlers who's running around, refuses to sit near the mother OR is plain simply throwing a tantrum.........while trying to take of a newborn. I wouldn't advise you do this on your own UNLESS there is a reason for you to travel at that time (ie. maybe someone in Saudi is sick?).
Can it be done? Yes. But the experience itself won't be pleasant (unless you knock out the 3 year old with meds). Why put yourself through the ordeal so soon after giving birth? If this is just a vacation to visit your parents.....I'd highly recommend you wait a bit longer.
I think its going to be hard.
My SIL did travel twice with 4 kids, all alone with PIA in an 6,5-7 hours (I think?) flight:
1st time: 4 months, 2 years, 3 years and 5 years
2nd time: 1, 3, 4 and 6 years.
I’ve no idea how she does it, but they all arrived in one piece.
She is superwoman I think
.. if it was me I would just lay down and cry!
ok my exp.
total travel time with stopover : 12 hours.
i had a 2.5 yr old and a 2 month old.
flew with emirates.
a LOT depends on what kinda kid you have.
my eldest is very good mannered in public (well mostly at home too :D ) mashallah so i knew he wouldnt be a threat to my sanity nor others on teh plane. my 2 month old had a bad case of allergies and was serverely congested so i knew that my time would be devoted to her on the plane
neither slept, and i had the baby in my lap the whole time. even though she had a bassinet... she didnt want to be in it
was it hard? yes .. very. not for anything else other than just being plain tiring for me as a parent taking care of 2 kids that didnt wanna sleep. i didnt eat. i wont lie. i did not. but.. the crew were very very courteous to me, my kids.. and helped a whole lot!
i took this trip cuz i wanted to. it wasnt easy but it was not impossible.
so if you really wanna make the trip.. go for it. keep the older kid occupied with whatever they like doing.. lots of food, activities for them to do etc.. the baby (if everything is normal with it) will really not be a problem on the plane.. they mostly sleep right? ... so your priority will be the older one.
oh and try to take a direct flight.
good luck ... the whole excitemen of meeing your folks will keep you going and motivated.. where there's a will. there's a way :)
sweetimoi: you have a superwoman sil indeed.. if not for travelling, then definately for having kids so close together in age :D
some of the replies made me laugh n made me afraid at the same time, actually this trip is not necessary but the thing is I want to go because if I don't go I will be in great depression after my delivery.
I will be taking a direct flight insha ALLAH, thanks a lot khawa for your detailed reply, but you didn't mention how did you carry them both, I mean a 3 year old can't walk or stand in lines for long, masha ALLAH my daughter is also a good kid but I am most concerned about moving around especially on airports with 2 kids, then our visits to bathrooms in the plane or at airport, n then how to carry hand luggage.
she really is a superwoman, just a khawa said masha ALLAH
Stroller and a carrier? Try those moby wraps that you can put the infant in without help.
Make the three year old carry a backpack for her stuff..use diaper bag for your stuff too..I was over packed but you really don't need too much during flight. Keep it light. Emirates is very nice to parents with kids..font hesitate to ask for help. If you plan to use bassinet, which I highly recommend, call in advance for reservation.
It will be hard but once you reach home, you will be glad you did.
I carried the baby in a baby bjorn and the kid in a stroller. They took it at the gate but the airport i was transitting at had strollers for passengers so no biggy...BUT dont be expecting one the min u get off the plane.. Some have it near or after security check. A 3 yr old can walk for that much.
But since ures is direct... Just take ure stroller... U can keep it until u get to the gate... And once at the destination airport... Well.. Arabia doesnt have huge airports.. If its jeddah... The kid can easily manage to ealk the few stwps from gate to immigration. I made my son just sit on the chairs until my time came ...
Seeing u wi 2 kids, they will rush u through. They did me...
Pack very light, dont go overboard. i had only a diaper bag ( a big one) and a small back pack for the kid. (be prepared to carry this ureself so dont go crazy stuffing it).
I flew with emirates and it was superb! His backpack wasnt even opened cyz the airline provided so much!
I made the older one pee before getting on the plane. Before landing and then same routine on the second flight.
When the baby had to changed, i just asked a cabin crew to keep an eye on the son whilst i changed the baby.
Once the ball gets rolling, u fig out what to do. It seems scary but it really isnt. U delivered a baby.. This is nothing in comaprison to that..
Himmat se raho..it will all work out :)
think of it this way.... 2 kids = 4 more luggages full of stuff. :D
^ no Sara it doesn't work that way.......the baby's ticket does not allow luggage......no seat, no luggage.
The both times I have traveled with an under 2 years of age kid,there is 1 piece of luggage allowed(PIA & Emirates).The weight limit was same as my luggage but Emirates required a smaller sized bag.There was no seat for the kid.
It might be best to check with the airline if it is a concern.
with the infant ticket.. you do get one luggage allowance and pay about $100-150 for their ticket!
and with a 2 year old, you have to pay for the seat.. I am not sure if you can have 1 or 2 bags for that ticket!
If you are alone, dont carry the hand luggage, try to book as much as possible!
^^I think it is 2 bags for a kid over 2 years of age,with a seat because you pay for it.
For infants,it is just 1 piece for $100-$200.To me it feels like we are just paying for an extra piece of luggage...no...??.because infant (or a kid under 2 years) is going to be in your lap all the time..!
luggage allowance varies from airline to airline...best thing is to check with them or go to their website and look it up for the most recent updates. most western airlines now charge for luggage...yes, even for the first piece...some airlines charge more for the second bag.
i would recommend to check with your airline before packing.
NOTE: most airlines even charge if the bag is more than 23 kg...they usually have a flat fee for bags weighing between 23 and 32 kg...$50 by most airlines.
Good Luck! :)
I wasn’t being serious, but really??? that’s interesting!!! I know this much, a baby’s ticket isn’t free…so some kind of luggage is allowed.
My many many many years of travelling on PIA and seeing families with chotay chotay bachay carry their entire lives (and take up practically all of the space in the overhead compartments
) says otherwise.
oh well, 4 nahi toh 2 sahi.
I carried the baby in a baby bjorn and the kid in a stroller. They took it at the gate but the airport i was transitting at had strollers for passengers so no biggy...BUT dont be expecting one the min u get off the plane.. Some have it near or after security check. A 3 yr old can walk for that much.
But since ures is direct... Just take ure stroller... U can keep it until u get to the gate... And once at the destination airport... Well.. Arabia doesnt have huge airports.. If its jeddah... The kid can easily manage to ealk the few stwps from gate to immigration. I made my son just sit on the chairs until my time came ...
Seeing u wi 2 kids, they will rush u through. They did me...
Pack very light, dont go overboard. i had only a diaper bag ( a big one) and a small back pack for the kid. (be prepared to carry this ureself so dont go crazy stuffing it).
I flew with emirates and it was superb! His backpack wasnt even opened cyz the airline provided so much!
I made the older one pee before getting on the plane. Before landing and then same routine on the second flight.
When the baby had to changed, i just asked a cabin crew to keep an eye on the son whilst i changed the baby.
Once the ball gets rolling, u fig out what to do. It seems scary but it really isnt. U delivered a baby.. This is nothing in comaprison to that..
Himmat se raho..it will all work out :)
backpack is a good idea. but did your elder one stayed quiet while you took the younger one for change? and how you went to bathroom? I know if i want to go i have to face all these things.
When i delivered my baby my husband n my mom were there for me but on flight none will be there so that's why little reluctant, but insha ALLAH i know I will make it.
^I think when you need to use the bathroom, you can ask the staff to keep an eye on your kid. Or perhaps a nice person sitting next to you. I personally wouldnt mind watching a kid or two for 10 minutes time.
I think thats at least how my SIL did it.