...Travel Agents...

I am going to add the agent’s information because I don’t want anyone else to go through this same headache. The agency is Capricorn Travel located in Houston, TX…The agent’s name is Zakiya. Avoid the travel agency if you can.

Which ones of you have faced mental stress, anger, and emotional stress while dealing with stupid freaking desi travel agents?

I love Pakistan and would love to go back, but it is a pain in the when it’s time to purchase tickets from desi agents. Customer service skills are nil. They don’t like to listen to the entire sentence and like to open their pie hole before you even complete your sentence. Sometimes they don’t even like to speak. I’ll share one of the many phone conversations here, that I had today:

Called the agency, some chick answered.

Me: Can I speak to please?
Other side: The automated machine starts speaking while waiting

About a minute later, some dude picks up the phone:

Dude: Hello?
Me: I was holding for Ms.
Other side: The automated machine starts talking again

A couple of minutes later, finally that woman picks up the phone:

Her: Hello?
Me: I was holding for Ms.
Her: Haan bol rahi hoon bhai
Me: After Salam, this is Sohail, we spoke on Friday, confirmed the airline tickets and paid for them. You said you will overnight them on Monday…
Her: Interrupts me, aik minute aik minute
***Phone is not on hold, people are talking in the background. She’s asking someone “ho gayi na?”

Comes back on the phone

**Her: Haan bolein
Me: As I was saying, you said you’ll mail the tickets on Monday and we’ll have by Tuesday morning, nothing is here yet.
Her: aik minute aik minute and goes back to talking to someone
Her: haan Sohail sahab, kahan jaana tha aap ney? Islamabad?
Me: No, Lahore :mad2:
Her: Oh haan, woh meney send nahi keen, time nahi mila.
Me: Well okay, I didn’t know, that’s why I am calling to find out
Her: I will mail them today
Me: So I should expect them tomorrow?
Her: Yes.
Me: Ok thanks slammed my phone

I may be expecting too much out of a desi business, but come ON! For God sake, listen to the other person, don’t interrupt, it’s rude to put the phone aside and start talking to someone else. It’s not polite when someone asks for someone and you put them on hold without moving your mouth and saying “Hold on” or “I’ll connect you” or SOMETHING!!!

This is the sole reason why I refuse to go to Pakistan. Sure I can take non-desi airlines and purchase the tickets from non-desis but there aren’t many that offer those services and those who do, the tickets are usually more expensive.

Anyone else had pleasant experience with any desi agents that you’d like to share?

Re: …Travel Agents…

har waqt routay rehtay ho :smiley:

have never dealt with them personally. Back in pakistan and also in Saudi Arabia the HR guy used to take care of everything.

But yes, I agree these guys do have an attitude problem and in most cases are not properly trained for their job. Its like Mr. X opened a travel agency, hired his bhanjay bhateejay saalay saaliaaN to fill in all the positions.

Surprizingly most of the stories I have heard, have a Pakistani Staff as the root cause :smack: , on the other hand people say that Indians, Sri Lankans and even Bengalis are very professional and helpfull when dealing with clients in the Travel agencies.

I just wanna give some kind of magic pill or something to all those rude and dumb desi business people, come on damnit, show some customer service skills :mad:

I agree, Indians, Bengalis and other nations are far better than Pakistanis when it comes to customer services. Sure they are rotten eggs too, but very few. I mean what will they lose if they’ll talk to their customer with some respect and give them 2 minutes of their time FOR WHICH THEY GET PAID!

Re: ...Travel Agents...

the same thing goes for our great embassy in DC.
Inteha ke batameez log bharey parey hain........

if u have a flight center like in england then use that its easy and quick u get your ticket more or less there and then if its E ticket then u get it within under 5 minutes while u are talking to he/she.....its that easy

I've had my experiences with them as well. NY one when I had to get a visa for Pakistan and also when I had to get my POC.

Massive I don't think we have those here in the US. Unfortunately, we have to go through travel agents as not as many people fly out of here as often, I guess.

im surprised u dont have them there u can even do it on the internet nowadays print the ticket because nowadays people are using e tickets they're really good easy and swift try the website might be helpful:)

yep i thought so u do have one in america aswell as canada http://www.flightcentre.com

isnt the cost a bit inflated ?

I've flown a dozen times or more... never remember talking to a travel agent?!?!

AM i the only one that does e-ticketing?

na its good because they tell u about good deals and cheap flights so i personaly think its really good

Oh and if you just get a piece of paper instead of the actual
ticket don't be surprised. As far as I know PIA now days only
does E tickets for adults.

My sister just went to Pak couple weeks ago and we were supposed
to receive the tickets over night just like in your case. When we opened the
envelope we were furious to see it only had one actual ticket (for the kid)
and one piece of paper for the adults which the agent told us upon calling her
that it was the e ticket although it didn't say anywhere on that piece of paper that it was a ticket.

nope i use e tickets as well

^ I'll check out the site shortly.

Sajal I would rather prefer the e-tickets because every time we go to Pakistan, the connecting flight information is also on that paper ticket. American airlines' agents get confused and end up tearing the wrong copy and then it always causes problem because they have torn the wrong paper.

Update when I spoke to her on Wednesday, she promised the tickets will arrive on Thursday. Well, they didn't. So dad spoke to her today and she promised again that she'll mail them on Friday, which means we'll get them on Monday. Lets see how true that is.

*The travel agency's name is CAPRICORN TRAVEL in HOUSTON, TX.........The agent's name is Zakiya. Avoid her if you can. *

Report her to the BBB and let's close her down!

I bet you they are so cheap, they are not even a member of BBB.

bwaha

Good point.

thats why I prefer the train :naraz:
no agent shegent - direct interaction between buyer and seller :smooth: