translation from English to Urdu

Can anyone please tell me the proper Urdu word for the English phrase “blood relative”. Someone else has translated it as 'khoon ka rishtedaar" but that sounds really silly. Any ideas? And it’s going to be used in a medical context, so it’s really important that the translation should convey the idea that they are related by blood. Just translating it as a “rishtedaar” wouldn’t be enough.sighs

Re: translation from English to Urdu

urdu word is saga (سگا ) saga rishtaydaar
khooni rishtaydaar/rishta
khooni rishtay say qarabatdar

KKF,where are you?:)

Aziz-o-aqarab ya rishta-dar or bracket mein likh do (jin se khoon ka rishta ho) :)

yahan kia ho raha hai koi mujy bhi samjha do :konfused:

'Blood relative' ka urdu mein meaning dhoond rahain hain :)

**I think saga rishtaydaar is a very good version of it. Khooni rishta also sounds reasonable. But somehow “khooni rishtadaar” suggests to me a murderous relative :stuck_out_tongue:
Please thank bollywood for perpetually associating the word khooni with a murder!

Thanks a lot theway. Very helpful answers.**

Thank you LK. The thing is I have to translate this for a medical glossary and then I have to record each phrase too. So want to keep it as short as possible. Thank you again for your help.

Translation:hehe:

Blood relative - Khooni Rishta, Khooni rishta-dari, qarabt-dar, Rishta-dar.

^That’s quite good actually. Thanks a lot for pointing out the possibility of “khooni rishtadaari”. Much better than a murderous rishtadar:clown:

the best word that i can think of is the **"Haqeeqii rishtedaar *OR *Haqqeqii rishtedaaraan"****

OR

*"rishtedaar-e-Haqeeqii *OR**** ristedaaraan-e-Haqeeqii****"

*رشتے دار ... رشتے داران* ]**

you are welcome.

Thank you for your valuable input KKF. I too was wondering why you weren't the first one to respond to this thread.

Thanks a lot everyone. I shall keep pestering you with more of these:)

So I know what sawdust means, but what are the meanings of the following:

Cotton dust
Coal dust
And also what's a suitable word for conistency, as in let's say a batter etc. Although in the context of this medical glossary they are referring to sputum. Please don't be grossed out.

khooni rishatadaari ke baad ab yeh cheezein :naak:

You have no idea. Some of the other words are downright gross. One of the biggest challenge with the Urdu is that there aren't enough words in the vocabulary to describe all the medical conditions/body parts. And the few alternatives that are available are so unfamiliar that I know if I were a patient and the doctor asked me, i wouldn't know what he was talking about.

So anyone please?Help!

**there are Urdu Terminologies but the problem is that we are so much used to English words that we do NOT bother to learn Urdu...it's reflected in our conversation...we can NOT speak ONE Urdu sentence without using English words...so, it's our fault and NOT the fault of Urdu.

there is a Board in India called *"Anjuman-e-Taraqqii-e-Urdu"* where they regularly translate new words/terms but they do NOT either get wide publicity or acceptance by the masses. and i'm sure there are such Boards in Pakistan as well. we have kinda 'inferiority complex' that forces us to use English more than Urdu. we feel more comfortable with English.

*ab dekhiye Laptop ko *"aaGhosh Nasheen"**** kahte haiN, Windows ko *"jharokhaa" *aur E-mail ko *"barqii Daak"...magar kitne log jaante haiN?***

we must blame ourselves NOT the language!!! :)**

^ KKF, while agree with some of the points that you raised I do not entirely agree with it.

Yes we have a similar board in Pakistan as well. Of course it's our fault that we do not want to use our own language and insist on speaking a foreign language but some terms that the board have translated sound absurd. For instance, "aaghosh nasheen"?Sorry but I find it hard to associate that with a laptop, even though it's but a literal translation of the word. The problem with our boards is that for technical terms, or for technological or medical terms they tend to use complicated and convulated terms from Arabic and Persian. i will give you an example:

For the English term "pelvis", my Urdu dictionary defines it as "tasht e aani", "haikal e aani" and similar stuff. The point is that for this particular glossary, as well as for other books/leaflets/pamphlets that I have to translate for my work....the target audience is those people who aren't familiar with English. or at least they aren't as proficient as someone highly educated, and their knowledge of Urdu is also not of the same level as someone sophisticated like you. So while translating for them, we (I am referring to translators like me) are constantly faced with the challenge of finding a suitable word or phrase that would convey the meaning to those people.

ideally, I believe the board shouldn't always literally translate words. And whenever possible, they should try to coin new phrases or words, instead of relying on Arabic/Persian too much. What I like about Arabic and English is that they have a HUGE vocabulary compared to our language and somehow the structure of their language allows them to coin so many new words. Urdu is still too young even today. and we have yet to properly explore it.

And I assure you that I am not one of those people who can hardly speak a sentence without using an English word. Just like you, I hate that phenomena, not only because it reeks of inferiority complex, but also because it's slowly killing our local languages and dialects. I am all for diversity of languages and believe that there is no harm in learning a foreign language so you can communicate effectively with other nations. But this shouldn't be done at the cost of your own language. We should preserve our language, because languages are a way of preserving our cultural heritage too.

Now tell me what are the words for "coal dust" and "cotton dust". And I will share some funny translations with you which I spotted in this glossary:)

coal dust - 'khaakh'

not sure.

**i'll iA reply to your previous post [in response to my earlier post]...sorry for the delay:

there are several words for dust depending on what the source of the dust is...these are:****

coal dust is called "raakh" or koyla/kaanii buraadah

sawdust = buraadah [lakRii kaa]

iron dust = aahnii boora**

cotton dust = bhuvaa

Hmmm. agree.

Thanks a lot! Can you please transcribe "bhuwaa". I have never heard this word before, or maybe I am 'pronouncing' it wrong.