Transfer of Residence (USA to Pakistan)

Can anyone guide me to how-to or write his/her own experience regarding moving to Pakistan from USA/Europe.

1. What was the total cost of shipping container from your country to Pakistan?

2. Did you pay any duty on electrical items for example: TV, Computer etc..

3. Which documents are required?

Or any other useful information regarding container shipping to Pakistan with transfer of residence.

Re: Transfer of Residence (USA to Pakistan)

Thanks everyone. I really appreciate it.

How about selling everything over there and buying it new over here in Paksitan.

PS: I don't know anything about international shipping, so can't help you.

Firenze, we sent my Papa's belongings via container from the port in Houston to Karachi when he moved back to KHI after taking retirement. This was in 2007. I don't remember exactly what the freight chargers were and the duties/fees involved by I'll check with my husband since he was the one who arranged it all and let you know.

I get some quotes i am shipping from NY to FSD, the figures are from 3500$ to 4500$ not counting Custom duty on electric items.

Thanks.

M wify will never let me sell her precious stuff which includes every little tiny bit of things for example: a frypan :teary1:

try to get in touch with some pakistani freight forwarder. at least he will save you some duty.

you're moving back?

I thought women liked buying new stuff :confused:

Insha Ji Utho Aab Koch Karo..
Is Shehar Main Ji Ko Lagana Kiya...

they like old stuff too, buddy - in k zehan kuch aur tarah sochte hain ..we can’t understand it

But I didnt see aisa kuch on your Fb :(
When are you leaving ?

in less then a month, i don't want to spend my life working my ass off to just pay bills.
i have a business opportunity and plan in hand, this is one of those moments for me which i don't want to to lose because it only comes once in a life time. secondly i am young i can take risk, wify is also on the same page.

why are you moving everything there....just move for a year or two...and see whether you can adjust there or not...its not like you are going on a war or something where you require to burn all your boats.

i am suggesting this cuz i have seen so many families which move to Pakistan permanently but they return with in a year or two.

ps. if the cost of moving frying pan is more than the actual price of a frying pan or trade-in price of 4 frying pans in pakistan then this entire migration looks like a flop idea. if you moving to the new place then also learn to adopt its culture. besides if you will spend money their...in a way it will also help the economy.

Its better to sell everything and start over. I wouldn't want these jalay huway frying pan in my new house.. new house.. new stuff. But okay.. this shipping and moving charges are crazy. I moved from NY to NY and they charged about 3500 .. sab fuzol saman idhar so udhar hua.

omg....only take that which you cannot live without or cannot buy there.....
once upon a time we shipped a container to Karachi from Canada.......it was all fine getting it on its way and even arriving there.....but getting it released from the shipyard was murder!!!!
despite having all documentation in order, despite having paid the rightful duties etc. they wanted stupid amounts of rishwat to release it .....so unless you have connections be sure that you want to do this.

dad told me the same thing :smack:

i am now seriously thinking about dropping the shipping container idea, one way of doing is sell the stuff and buy back in Pak. I got some prices everything else is cheap in Pak except LED tvs … i don’t know why but oh well.
The problem for my reluctance is we bought everything just over a year ago, the heart is crying don’t throw them in junk…

Put it on Craig list.. give me the link too

My parents moved back to Pakistan from USA about 28 years ago.I have no idea what they paid and obviously it will not be relevant today.But one thing I do remember is that the container was stuck in Karachi for quite a while and they asked for big bucks for it to be released.If that was the case 3 decades ago,I wonder how it is today..!

All the best with the move,iA.

sell the stuff.....post the link to your ads here....in fact post the link in the Classifieds section and get as much cash as you can for your items.....I'd take a loss here than fill already stuffed pockets with rishwat there.....