Ladies verdict is here and men have to accept it no matter what. After chat with begum we are now postponing the idea of shipping container instead we will use PIA cargo services, as of now we have come to less then 20 large cartons to move. PIA giving quote for 110$ for each which is reasonable, secondly they will deliver in 72 hours to Lahore from where i can clear them easily that much PR i must be entitle to use
I am making list of stuff to sell now, found the buyer for:
living room & Bed room furniture
Looking for Kitchen & Dinning Room now.
Talking with two private persons & a car dealer for vehicles
electronics stuff will be listed on classified websites in few days
will forward my mail to family member 6) made a list of service cancellations:
Cable/Internet/Voice
Cell Phone - me
Cell Phone - wife
Electricity - Coned
Gas - National
Car Insurance - me
Car Insurance - wife
Poland Spring Water Delivery
Gym membership - wife
NY Sports Club - me
Netflix
ez-pass
amazon
…
…
note to self - check other online services
etc..etc
Firenze, why don’t u obtain TR Certificate from Consulate/Embassy of Pakistan? All you have to provide them copy of your passport and sponsor letter stating that you are about to leave country permanently and going back to Pakistan. See the links for more details.
i am thinking about starting the blog about our experience of moving back and whatever the hell problems we are gonna face for others to stay away
a good news, dad told me the average load-shading is less then 8 hours at home and four hours in factory, looks like manageable. apart from that the generators installed with auto start and powerful enough to feed the ACs, i don’t think so we are going to face such electricity problem.
my Mamoo (mom’s brother) who is vice chancellor at reputable government university in Faisalabad offer me to use my knowledge to give weekly presentations to students, haha fun days ahead - as of now everyone i know is quite excited of us moving back but friends are saying: sub log yahan sey baagh rahey hain aur tum loog wapis aa rahey ho
They follow till to date. You have the right to obtain ‘TR Certificate’. If u hav time visit embassy/consulate to obtain this certificate. Also they can give you the list of those items which are exempted from customs etc.
Firenze please do start the thread once you move back and share your experience with us...I might be moving back too from US to Pakistan by the end of this year...your thread would be really helpful for me :)
Good Luck with your move, hope it turns out to be a good step for you and your family.
Subha ka Bhoola agar Shaam ko Ghar aa jaaey to ussey Bhoola nahi kehtey… ussey Bhola kehtey hein.
Best wishes on your migration back to the Pak Homeland, Bholey Baadshaaho.
Veisey didn’t I read somewhere that your wife was Italian ?
If so, don’t you think she will have difficulty adjusting in LayallPur ?
Hope she won’t pick up and leave like Jemima Khan when the little ones start arriving.
Firenze please do start the thread once you move back and share your experience with us...I might be moving back too from US to Pakistan by the end of this year...your thread would be really helpful for me :)
Good Luck with your move, hope it turns out to be a good step for you and your family.
Since you have a generator with ATS, you do not need to worry about loadshedding at all. Trust me, I don’t even notice/care about loadshedding anymore. Your factory though will need your attention because manufacturing is in shambles in Pakistan due to sky high input costs, credit sales and bad debts
*PIA giving quote for 110$ for each *which is reasonable, secondly they will deliver in 72 hours to Lahore from where i can clear them easily that much PR i must be entitle to use
note to self - check other online services
etc..etc
*PIA giving quote for 110$ for each ?
firenze So what was the size L X W X H of each Box allowed and the Max Weight? was it equalent to check in baggage?
1) cars are sold
2) Furniture is sold
3) 80% of electronics are sold (craigslist)
4) Donated some stuff to local mosque
5) Books are donated to library
6) cancellation of services are done
7) 8 cartons are already in Faisalabad
8) Wify is going to Italy first will spend few weeks with her family
9) I will try my best to take flight before Ramadan.
I think we are pretty much good to go, just have to attend a marriage on 13 & 14 that's the last engagement in New York.
Since you have a generator with ATS, you do not need to worry about loadshedding at all. Trust me, I don't even notice/care about loadshedding anymore. Your factory though will need your attention because manufacturing is in shambles in Pakistan due to sky high input costs, credit sales and bad debts
I just receive quarterly report from Pakistan and yup just the cost of running machines (we have a embroidery unit) on Generators add over Half Million RS, account receivable is all time high, but Alhumdolillah still managed to squeeze reasonable profit.
Good. Looks like it worked like clock-work.
How’s sleeping on the floor and eating out everyday going or are you crashing at friends’ ?
Accounts receiveable is money people owe you. Right ?
If so, why are people not paying up and how do you manage them ?
Do you send collection ghundaas to their doors ?
I am planning to move to Pakistan too inshaAllah by the end of this year or early next year. Your experience will be very helpful to me. Lots of questions are lingering in my mind. I am not a US citizen or Green card holder (here on H1B).
Here are my questions to start with:
1. Do you have to close/terminate your Social Security once you leave the country for good?
2. What about taxes? I might leave the country in January 2013. That means I will be earning income in Jan 2013. Will I have to do the 2013 tax returns too?