Trafficked from Pakistan, raped and jailed in Saudi Arabia

A truly horrifying experience!!! Especially because her rape occured in Medina of all places. But thankfully she’s back in Pakistan now.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2006\04\24\story_24-4-2006_pg7_11

KARACHI: Sixteen-year-old Isma Mahmood was deported to Pakistan last month after serving six months in shackles and handcuffs in a prison in Saudi Arabia. Her crime: being raped by a Saudi man.

“It’s difficult for me to talk about what happened to me, from rape to prison and from prison to deportation,” Isma told AFP in the office of a rescue trust in Karachi where she sat with her sister Muna, 18, who was also deported.

Isma’s parents, originally from Multan, were trafficked to Saudi Arabia around 20 years ago. But in Isma’s case, being born in Saudi Arabia was no help when she was raped last year in Medina. “I was the victim, I was raped and molested but I was named as the accused, and the man who committed the crime was not touched,” she said.

“He first kidnapped me, dragged me into his car,” Isma said. “At first he asked me to sleep with him and offered good money. When I refused and tried to resist, he warned me of dire consequences and raped me in the car.” The unnamed man warned her she would be imprisoned if she went to the police, and said that the Saudi sponsor who brought her parents to the country through a Pakistani agent would have them all expelled.

The sponsor too threatened Isma and Muna, she said, asking that the sponsor’s name not be revealed to spare her family any additional grief. “I and my sister went to the police expecting justice, but after a few hours of filing the report the police changed it,” Isma said. Under pressure from the Saudi sponsor, Isma’s parents asked her to withdraw her report. “My sister Muna tried to help me out but was also arrested and put in prison only because she spoke for me,” she said.

Once in jail, their nightmare began in earnest, Isma said. The women prisoners were mostly Pakistanis, Indonesians, Bangladeshis and Nigerians who came to Saudi Arabia through trafficking networks and were charged with prostitution, she said.

“When I used to protest against the ill treatment they beat me on my back,” Isma added. “We were chained all during this period. The only time jail officials removed the chain was during lunch or when anyone went to the bathroom or at prayer time,” she said. “Once a jail official offered me help and assured me I would be released if I agreed to sleep with him. There was a Pakistani woman who was over 40 years old and developed AIDS in prison, but she remained in chains before she was deported to Pakistan,” she added.

Isma and Muna are now in the care of the Ansar Burney Trust. “It’s pathetic that all this happened with Isma at the hands of a fellow Muslim,” the trust’s president Ansar Burney told AFP. Burney says many poor women and girls from South Asia are lured with promises of good money working as maids or nurses, but their Arab sponsors and Pakistan agents later force them into prostitution. AFP

Re: Trafficked from Pakistan, raped and jailed in Saudi Arabia

Medina-rape? then victim is treated like the criminal? if there is a jihad required it is against such evils, acts which not only desecrate our holy place but also defiles Allah's creation.

Leikin, nothing will happen......cause money talks.....and Paki walks.....

Wonder what lajawwab uncle thinks, probablt the girl was too westernized and deserved that. Astagfirrulaah.

What a sad story , the devil who did this evil crime should be hanged.

Disgusting.

Truly, the Arabs ARE the BEST muslims, wasn't there some schlep saying that in another thread somewhere. Having lived in the Middle east for 16 years, I've seen this happen over and over again. But you know, this kind of thing doesn't bother me anymore or anger me, because I know that in the end, they WILL be judged by the Best Judge. On that day, they will remember what they did. Ba$tards.

Should I name the schelp?

Plz do

Wow, absolutely horrific. I agree completely with Farguru. Tsk, God help help her get through this. I wonder if the Pakistani government will step in and demand justice. :(

Horrible. May Allah protect everyone and punish such beasts.

i agree with aahmed. criminals are one thing, but the arab (gulf) system is one where criminals are constantly favoured over victims on the basis of ethnicity. it is a dissipated, corrupt, consumer oriented and extremely racist society and the shabab typically have zero motivation to make something of themselves, build themselves. extremely sad that these are emblems of Musalmaniyat.

Allah rehem karay larki pe.

Truly sad and shows what a pathetic justice system (If you can call it one) they have in Saudi Arabia. They should be ashamed to call themselves Muslims and stop talk about practicing Sharia.

Will the Pakistani Govt. take up her case. No chance. As fartguru said money talks. Very sad.

horrible,

why am I not surprised with this crap? because I have seen countless instances in the past...my wifes cousing works with a social welfare org in Hyd (india) and i hear a lot of instances when the teenages girls are sold to arabs as their wives...those people will marry these hapless girls - use them and then go back to thier countries whereas the the parents and the bride would be waiting for some communication from him (which never comes)
arab log bhi bade tharki hote hai..60-70 saal ke hoke shaadi ka shauk laga rehta hain..

Many a times my wifes cousin tried to ask Andhra Pradesh govt to help..but she soon realised that
a) govt does not have balls
b) even if they had Arabs cared ****

I dont blame arabs for this - its more to do with our peoples mindset and our govts

in this case the brutality is deplorable

Mehnaz, the only thing Pakistani government can do is to send more "sarkari officers" to Saudia for hajj and Umrah on "Sarkari expense", nothing more. For them it would be a waste of money and effort to ask for justice, soon they will start blaming that 16 year old for trying to get a visa for US or Canada.

You will see that within the next few posts the whole thread would be turned into an Arab bashing thread, its almost like burning motor cycles in Lahore. if we start by bashing a whole set of population then can we achieve anything? But very few will ask "our representative government" to provide justice for that young girl. Can’t they a file a case in Pakistan to extradite that person to Pakistan? Can the Pakistani FM call the Saudi ambassador for some clarification? Or at least can you ask the FO spokeswomen about what the Pakistani Government is doing on this case? But all this will never happen, because people, ordinary people are not important in the eyes of the Pakistani government. If I don’t respect you, honor you, why would I want my neighbor to do that for you?

These are the victims for whom we should protest, held the authorities and the people who did these crimes responsible to get them the justice they deserve, but if we start by bashing a whole set of population then we will achieve nothing. At least we should not burn more motor cycles.

sad, I have lived there too and I am not surprised. Unfortunately I have known some of these jerks.

and yet the girl still didn’t reveal that ba$tard’s name just b/c she don’t watn her family to be kicked out from there? If I were her parent…damn care about living there and would bring the name out!

But oh well…again Money talks…

I lived 13 yrs of my life there…we had a maid..sindhi maid, her daughter, 5 yrs old, was kidnapped and molested and then thrwon out infront of a masjid…yup happened in jeddah …infront of our very own eyes!

The mutawaas they don’t care how they treat women there. Infront of our school these african women used to sit to sell candies and stuff…yeah they were not allowed to but once Muttawaas came and they didn’t care whether they r snatching those women’s clothes off in public ..they just had to get rid of them…I was 8 yrs old when I saw that and even today I am pissed about it :naraz:

MiniMe the bashing of the population is not reactionary to this incident or what the foreign office does about this incident. Atleast 4 people on this thread have made personal experience as the basis for their bashing and generalizing to the arab (peninsular gulf) society, and Pakistan's government's inadequacy aside, this can be a valid commentary in its own right. there is no reason to link the two.

Thats the royalness or should I say Saudiness of laws. Islam says no difference between Arabi and Ajami (non-Arabs) but ba$tards have different laws for Arabs and non-Arabs and then claim that they follow Sharia. They do not deserve to put Kalima in their flag, I believe its really blasphemous and hypocrite of them.

I simply say blow these people up... or burn them in hot boiling wax.... URGH...