Toronto Wedding 101

Hello Ladies (and Gents!)
I’m glad I found this forum, I am quite lost with all this wedding planning, especially since I am doing it all by myself!!

I Just wanted to know, if you guys know of any great videgraphers who also (preferably) provide Dj services as well! I got a hold of a few bridal magazines, and I dont know which one to go with!

Also, i’ve been hearing a lot about Dimple Shah, is she really good??

Thanksss and good luck to all you planning your wedding / Congrats to all of you that are done! :slight_smile:

Re: Toronto Wedding 101

check this thread for reviews on dimple shah - http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=282304

when are you getting married? where are you getting married?
i don’t know anyone who provides videography and dj services… its sort of an odd combo?
but our dj was great- he was gora though, so i don’t know if you’re open to that. he’s played lots of punjabi weddings and so he was able to mix desi and english music together really well at ours. bhangra and justin timberlake go really well together! :slight_smile:
http://www.starproductions.com/ - his name is Alan.

pick up the latest issue of suhaag magazine from chapters,cos they’ve published a beauty supplement with it this time that lists lots of makeup/hair people in the GTA. i can also recommend zebi, cos she did my makeup.

in terms of venues, this is a good site- www.venuesource.ca
this site lists quite a few banquet halls- http://www.banquethallsontario.com/
also, this is quite helpful- www.theperfectweddingguide.com

our mehendi was at Maple Banquet Hall in Mississauga, which had great food and is a nice, decent-looking venue inside. the coordinator there is also very nice- she gave us our chair covers for free, and they’re open to price negotiation which is always nice.

our mehendi stage was done by Midhu Verma, i can pass on her number if you want. she did the whole stage for $500, including chairs, backdrop and flowers.

i bought a really pretty mayyoun outfit from kala kendar on gerrard street. i also got matching gold sandals from there for $15! they have some nice stuff and they’re at 1440 gerrard street east. they’ve also got a large selection of men’s kurta’s, sherwani’s and shoes. we also got the mehendi dandiyan from them.

theres also sari blouse tailors right next to them, up on the second floor. they’re sri lankan ladies and they stitch plain blouses within an hour which is awesome.

our florists were really, really good- they’re used to doing large italian weddings and they did all of our centerpieces, bouquets, boutonnieres, and corsages for a very reasonable price, which also included set-up and delivery at the venue (they’re based in markham, and our wedding was in oshawa so thats quite a distance) - http://www.labelleflowersandgifts.com/
ask for Lina when you call.

i went up to albion road to suhaag, the bridal store to get candles and trays and matching churiyan for all my outfits, as well as for my bm’s. i also found my mehendi earrings there.

hrm… what else did you want to know?

wow, thats a lot of information - Thank you!

I have my dress, the venue, cards and decorator sorted.. all that is left is the DJ and Videographer and the make up and henna and stuff closer to the day.

Yes, there are some Videographers that do Dj stuff as well! I will look into the one you sent me!

Thanks! :)

^ sounds great! i'm sure you'll have a beautiful wedding iA! :)

are you not having a photographer? these were ours and they were fab- www.boyfriendgirlfriendpictures.com

Try Vijdaan.....he is quite good...my sister is getting the photo/videography all done by him....his website doesn't look all that great....but we went to his place to check out the video quality and all...really really nice...

We are lookin' for a DJ ourselves...pls share which one u decide on when u do....:)

^ u guys went with Vijdan, great :D

Whos Vijdaan? (Sorry, stupid qs?)

http://www.vijdanstudios.com/
He’s in Markham. You can make an appointment with him and check out his latest work..i think the website hasnt been updated in a while

and I am getting my make up done from Shirley.....my weddings on may 24th... i ll let you know how that turns out!

how much does vijdan charge? i heard its $4000 for photo and video?

I think hez charging us $1000 a day for the photography....so $3000 in all...and same for the video....that is if we get all three days of video done by him....otherwise its $1500 a day.....and its HD quality...

Hez actually somewhere around Leslie/McCowan…if I am not forgetting…:slight_smile:

UH NO..actually he's in markham....some people think they are so smart..and if he's around leslie/McCowan that still doesnt make you smart.

Chill out girl!! watever u say :P

Oh by the way! I don't need to prove I am smart....cuz i just am...lol :P

All right ladies..no need to fight! lol.. Thanks for the info..!
My wedding is in Dec Inshallah.. we are having it at fuzion banquet hall in Mississauga.
I think i am going to go with Dimple Shah..she seems really professional!

Alishaht, if you are still looking for Djs check out DJ arif...he seems pretty nice>>djarif.com

^ oh man i talked to this guy too... he came by to discuss his "style"... it is so flippin' cheesy, i can't even tell you. his entire cd collection was shania twain, celine dion, and mariah carey. barf. lol :p

I know he is a lot of talk.. he practically gave me his whole schedule for this weekend!
He is open to a lot of suggestions and will play the songs you want! But Im still looking! sigh..

the main thing is, do you want someone just playing songs back to back, or do you actually want a dj? cos a dj will mix songs seamlessly, they'll create a nice atmo for dinner and for dancing, whereas someone like this arif guy is just going to press play on his computer and cycle through the mp3's... in which case, you might as well hook your iPod up to the banquet hall's stereo and cycle through all the songs you want to listen to- it'll save you a lot of money, and you can get a trusted friend or relative to monitor the music.

Hello,
For my wedding, we used Film Style weddings and they were great. We got everything on time and they offer all the services that you are looking for. Also, they have female photographer and female videographer which worked out great for my wedding. I think they have some work on their website that you can check out but for desi wedding demos, you may want to call them.
www dot filmstyleweddings dot com
(no spaces)
Send them an email if you are intrested.

I agree SGC. Please do share if you came across any good DJ’s that you might have considered.
For my shaadi..I came across this beautiful violinist…he plays all sort of songs..and the sound of it is just amazing. I thought I would go for something soothing and this would be perfect…a bit pricey but worth it. Unfortunately, he was booked for my wedding date. Do check him out aswell http://www.gpinto.com/