:insha: she will be fine and keep us posted.dont worry too much could be a false alarm.

Usually thalasemia is diagnosed with electrophoresis, and alot of time alpha thalasemia cannot be diagnosed with electrophoresis.
But anyways, just keep giving her the medicines as the doctor said.
By the way, do you know exacltly what her lab values are like hemoglobin, hematocrit, bilirubin etc.
Inshallah everything will be ok. Just have faith. You are in our prayers.

Afia, sorry for coming late into this thread, but I hope and pray for your daughter Zanib, don't worry everything will be alright.

I dont know what exactly these illness are but I hope that Allah mian gives her fully recovery. Dont stress too much, be strong for your kids.

Allah will bless her with a long and healthy life insahallah.

Afia
inshALLAH she wil be fine.

Afia baji…
:flower1:
i posted these ayahs in another thread too..

3:139. So do not become weak, nor be sad, and you will be superior if you are indeed believers.
3:140. If a wound has touched you, be sure a similar wound has touched the others. And so are the days (good and not so good), We give to men by turns, that Allah may test those who believe, and that He may take martyrs from among you. And Allah likes not the Zalimun (polytheists and wrong-doers).

My prayers are with her. :flower1:

thanx everyone ... so sweet of you!

saadia it doesn't matter if you come late or not ....all i need is prayers ....!!!

femme, sajal, MQ n wiseone...thanx!!

proud pakistani ....i don't know about the lab values except for hb...according to mydoc. it should be between 7-20.....n she has 2.7

irem....thank you for this reminder .....this is something i tend to forget , whenever needed ....may Allah guide me to righ path!

Afia,
whats the progress? is the little one showing signs of improvement with extra dozes of iron? and whatre the updates from the doc?
just keep feeding her red meat, apples, juices, pomegranate.
InshaAllah all will be fine.

Salaam Afia,
A hb of 2.7 is very low. I hope it comes back up. Its strange that she is not very symptomatic. Seriously telling you I am not sure how helpfull iron will be; cause as far as i remember, iron is usually not given to thalasemic patients.

Re: ........

Afia,
I came across this thread ......i know it goes a while back but i just wanted to know how your daughter was doing?? Hope she's doing well:) What did the doctors say ....

Afia i also come to this thread for the first time, i too want to know about ur daughter how is she now?

WoW....!!!
Thanks to Almighty Allah k I didn't even remember this thread. :)

Faryat n aish ...thank you for concern....MashaAllah she's doing great!!

In the end it wasn't Thallasemia(sp??) Alhamdulillah....just severe iron deficiency...n her iron level was improved a lot after some oral drops therapy.....

She is now the most active member of my family, mashaAllah!!

You can see her, if you like, in image 2.....I just posted her pics a month or so back!:)

Re: …

awww nice news :hugz:

alhumdulilah.May god bless ur family with happiness.

I was shocked and scared to come across this thread. Could’nt wait to get to the end to see what the results were. Alhumdolillah, all is well!!! Allah Mian sub bachoon ko apni hifaazat mei rakhain aur sehat aur zindagi atta farmain! Ameen!
For Zainab :kiss:

So glad to know your daughter MashaAllah is doing fine. And good that it was just ‘low iron’ which can be cured with healthy diet and medication.

I was a very active child among all of my parent’s kids so they never thought I could be suferring from thalassemia. It was not before last year in Ramadhan when for the first time in life I felt so drained of energy that I thought something was terribly wrong with me.

I felt fatigued all the time, no interest in anything, lost vitality and very tired all the time. Thought it was my usual anemia started taking my iron tablets regularly. Got a complete blood test and doctors found that it was actually thalassemia which doctors incorrectly diagnosed as mild anemia previously.

Taking more iron is never good with this condition so the doctor told me to immediately discontinue doses of iron. He told me to come again so that they could check the level of it but I could never find time to go through those boring tests.

Although it is minor thalassemia this is why I’ve survived (that too pretty actively :blush: ) till now. I am gonna be 30 november this year.

People with thalassemia minor must not marry a partner with the same condition or complications may arise in their children.

Afia, Very happy to hear that your little one is doing great, MashaAllah....may Allah always keep her safe and healthy!!

will check out her latest pics:)

Thanks.

Oh Afia, this thread gave me a heart-attack.
Reading your first post till the last one, I was totally shocked, until I realized that it was an old thread.
I am so glad that she's doing fine now. I was also really anemic during my childhood. My HB was always lower than 6/7. But while I was pregnant with my son, I thought that I might have to go for iron shots or whatever they do to boost your HB level. I had a blood test in 7th month and amazingly it went up to 13. And still on 13.

lol…sorry sadaf n Mahru…Infact I myself was shocked seeing k i opened a thread n thought perhaps i opened it last night when i was tooo sleepy n don’t remember now…:hehe: only after opening the thread i realised k this was the old one…

Alhamdulillah for every blessing I have…nobody can tell now k she has had any problems. :slight_smile:

Faryat…thank you for your nice words. :slight_smile:

Big Mouth…may Allah keep you in His protection…amen!

Afia, I think I remember that she has these tests once before a while back? The docs at that time thought she had thalessemia but then they told you it was iron levels? You should really look into that, find a good doc and get to the bottom of it, why is her iron level so low so often or whether it is indeed thalessemia....