its about my daughter …Zainab!

until not so long ago i was the luckiest women on this planet
i have the best parents …the best siblings …great in-laws…n a really super husband !!

Alhamdulillah there is nothing i wished to achieve n couldn’t

then i was blessed with two sons n a daughter…a lovely lovely triangle!!

everything alright …!!smooth sailing…!!!

two weeks ago .. all 3 had some flu etc. … we went to doc.
he said , leave the rest n tell me …wats wrong with ur lil one…???she is soooo pale !!

I had no idea what he was talking about …to me she was just fine …n she is still ok …active , happy , smiling n all !!!

well, he performed a blood test …n said she has very low iren level in her blood …i want to do some more tests but there isn’t sufficient blood (he had to squeeze out the blood for first test )
so he gave me these iron drops n told to come after 2 weeks

in these two weeks i was after her like crazy …from liver to spinach …n from meat to fresh apple juice …i tried everything alongwith the drops!

today i went there!! after 2 weeks!

though he took out more blood …n said he can’t say anything for sure …but he suspects its ‘thalysemia’ (sp??)

I’m asked to call n find out aboout the results on friday!!

looks like all my lovely smooth life was nothing but a sand castle !!

dunno if its a test or a punishment …but whatever it is …its killing me …!!!
there r soooo many unthankful souls …who start mourning when a daughter is born …n then there’s me …who was still celeberating it .
my lil doll …!!
she has just started saying 'ma ma ’ ‘ba ba’ …

there is soooo much to say …but noooo one to listen

its terrible terrible indeed!

as Ramazan-ul-mubarik is approaching…i just wanted to request all of you to please pray for my daughter …!!!

please do pray …i beg you!

May Allah save her from any illness give her complete shifa. ameen.

Beta Allah ki Naimat, our beti Rehmat hoti hai.

Our insaan se niamatoon ke barey main Qayamat ke roze sawal kia jai ga. Many don't relize

Have you and your husband had yourselves checked for thalassemia? It is usually an inherited condition, somewhat common in desi's. Often though if only one parent has the condition, the risk is for thalassemia minor. My mum has thalassemia minor but none of us kids have it. Apart from mild anemia sometimes, everything else is normal.

I hope everything turns out fine for you and your daughter inshallah.

Afia baji … :flower1: hugz

inshallah woh zaroor bilkul theek ho jayay gi

Reading your post made me sad afia. Its true that we do not realize what we have until thats taken away. Health for example is the first requirement to live on but we arent thankful. Three days ago I was having a similar discussion with a friend of mine that though all is fine with us at the moment but we dont know if we wake up to misery tomorrow morning. I did. I too have to request you to pray for me in the belssed month. You and your little angel would be in my prayers Insha Allah.

May Allah grant her health .. she be allright.. I remember when my baby boy was 4 months old his paed doc suspected a heat whisper and referred us to a paed heart specialist.. the 2 weeks waiting time was killing for us..specialist doc and staff were convinced jst by seeing him that hes was fit as he was so healthy that they started smiling.. they were innocent heart murmerings..

hugs afia.. do not worry... ure daugther will grow up just fine inshallah.. thelesemia.. if she does indeed have it.. is nothing to worry bout... and it doesnt go away, no matter how much liver or spinach (which isnt very high in iron,, just so u know).. it wotn go away.. its probably inherited.. u should get ureself checked out and ure hubby.. my mom has it... doc thinks i should i have it too.. so im gettin my tests done aswelll... the only drawback that i can see with this condition in my mom and probably myself (if teh tests prove positive).. is the lack of energy.. thats it... so dont worry too much bout it.. its nothing major or serious :)

p.s) its strange.. its usually teh girls who end up with aneamia adn blood issues like that if the parents have it.. how come the guys dont??? is there a scientific explanation for this, or is it not true at all? for example my sis and i are anaemic and mom has thelesmia.. my dad and brothers are perfectly fine. how come they didnt get effected?????

inshallah ur lil angel will be just fine :) keep faith.

Khawateen Basically, sex linked disease is only at the X chromosome and not Y…if father has an sex-linked disease then most likely only the daughters will have it because they get the X chromosomes from each, father and mother and then get the affected one from father for sure. But the sons can’t have it because they get the Y chromosome from dad and X from mom, thus the sons are not affected.

I dun think if Thalasemia is a sex linked disease and also it could be possible that you or this little grl of Afia is a carrier and not actually affected because a carrier can have one normal gene and one thalasemia gene in cells and can actually lead a normal,healthy life.

Another possibility is that if both the parents are carrier then one out of four kids can inherit both Thalasemic genes from their parents and thus have severe problems. Two out of four can be carrier like the parents by inheriting one of normal and other of thalasemic gene, and then there is a possibility of one out of four can have two normal genes from each parent and disease free at all.

I know it sounds confusing but it seems like both of you sisters are carrier and not actually the affected ones, and your brothers are totally disease free because they inherited the normal genes from both parents.

Afia: Stay strong, and don’t worry about it. Antibiotics or in severe case blood transfusion can lead you to a healthy life. Just make sure that you get the right stage of Thalasemia diagnosed, if there is any, to take a right step that can help to prevent the complications in future. Your little angel is in our prayers and would be fine soon.

Your daughter is beautiful. I remember her picture from when you posted it. She does indeed look like a doll. Inshallah, she will be fine and this will be nothing some meds cannot cure. :flower1:

Afia baji she will be fine :hug: Dont worry , our prayes are with ur lil angel .

What exactly is 'thalysemia' and what are the side affects? Inshallah I hope your daughter will feel better. There are so many GS people to pray for her don't worry.

^Thalassemia consists of a group of inherited diseases of the blood.Thalassemia includes a number of different forms of anemia (red blood cell deficiency). The two main types are called alpha and beta thalassemias, depending on which part of an oxygen-carrying protein (called hemoglobin) is lacking in the red blood cells.

Anyway I hope Afia that everything works out.May Allah bless your little girl with health and happiness.We'll all make duaa for you.

Insha'Allah shell be just fine sis. Hang in there and make dua. I know shell be just fine.

Ive always wanted a baby girl before a baby boy :)

Afia ji..InshAllah she will be fine..don't you worry. I went through the same problem. Although my blood count is still dropping, but there is nothing to worry about. I just need to maintain it 'OKAY' and have to take iron drops (yeah what you are talking about)............ I am sure your little one will be fine. Doctors can call it anything, as they did to me. It scared the S*** outta me....but it turned out to be nothing but anemia (deficiency)................ hug she will be fine,,believe me..

Please try to remain strong and positive Afia. I know too well that as a parent its incredibly hard to see your children suffer. You and Zainab will be in my prayers.

Inshahallah the test results will come back with good news for you all. Please let us know the outcome.

thallassemia can be a very serious condition, but since ur kid has done well uptill now (1 yr???), i'd expect that it will remain well. So keep faith and I'm sure it will turn out to be the minor variant

I am extremely sorry..... we share your pain and the emotional trauma you're going through. Please keep your faith. InshaAllah everything would be fine. I'd remember you in my prayers.

You and your little angel will be in my prayers from now on :flower1:

I’m going 2 look up for some duaein and verses that u should start reciting, will pm them 2 you then… :flower1:

Afia
InshaALLAH everything will be fine.

U just hang in there and pray to ALLAH Mian. hugs