Top MQM leaders among NRO beneficiaries

And these murderers were opposing NRO. I hope that CJ will take up NRO and bring these scumbags to justice.

DAWN.COM | Pakistan | Top MQM leaders among NRO beneficiaries

ISLAMABAD: Top leaders of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement, including its chief Altaf Hussain, Parliamentary Leader in the National Assembly Dr Farooq Sattar, Federal Minister Babar Ghauri, Sindh Minister Shoaib Bokhari and a number of former lawmakers, are among the beneficiaries of the National Reconciliation Ordinance, according to the list sent by the National Accountability Bureau to the government on Thursday.

According to the list, eight cases were registered against Altaf Hussain in Mirpurkhas, Zaman Town, Kalakot, Brigade, Quaidabad and Nazimabad police stations between 1986 and 1995.

One case was registered against Dr Farooq Sattar in 1992 in Korangi police station, while four in Quaidabad, Aziz Bhatti, Landhi and Korangi police stations in 1994.

Six cases were registered against Shoaib Bokhari in Nazimabad, Orangi Town, Korangi, Mominabad and Zaman Town police stations.

Five cases were registered against MNA Waseem Akhtar in Korangi, Quaidabad, Zaman Town and Aziz Bhatti police stations.

The list included the names of Karachi’s deputy Nazim, Nasrin Jalil, former adviser to the Sindh chief minister S. Manzoor Hussain, former senator Ishtiaq Azhar, former convener of the MQM Rabita Committee Dr Imran Farooq and two members of the committee Saleem Shahzad and Tariq Javed.

A former provincial minister, Qazi Khalid, who was appointed judge of the Sindh High Court on the recommendation of former chief justice Abdul Hameed Dogar, is also among the beneficiaries of NRO, according to the bureau.

Former members of the Sindh Assembly Azhar Mian, Irshad Baig, Jawed Akhtar, Dr Sagheer Ahmed, M. Haroon Siddiqui, S. M. Mohiuddin, Abdul Qadir Lakhani, Mirza Afzal Baig, Suhail Saleem Mashahdi and Kamran Jaffery also benefited from the NRO, the list said.
Ajmal Dehlvi is also on the list of beneficiaries. The names of certain people, including Ishtiaq Azhar and Khalid Murtaza, appeared on the list more than once.

Khalid Murtaza was a leading trade unionist of the Pakistan Steel Mills. He was paralysed in alleged firing by Rangers in early 90s and is currently working in MQM’s Khidmat-i-Khalq Foundation.

The names of former MNA Shaikh Liaquat Hussain, who passed away recently, former MPA Afzal Anwar, who expired some 4-5 years ago, and former MNA and member of the Rabita Committee Hassan Musanna Alvi, who died last year, are also on the list.

Other NRO beneficiaries belonging to the MQM are former president of the Karachi Bar Association, Amin Lakhani, and Liaquatabad town nazim Usama Qadri, the NAB said.

Rabita Committee member Kanwar Khalid Younus told Dawn that almost all cases against leaders and workers of the MQM were criminal in nature. He said it was easy to book one in a criminal case and FIRs were registered in one go.

He said there were no cases of financial irregularity against the MQM leadership as one had to substantiate the charges with evidence.

He said 94 criminal cases were registered against him and he contested all of them and got himself cleared.

He said his party would fight any cases brought against its leaders by the government.

Re: Top MQM leaders among NRO beneficiaries

No Surprise , not only MQM but every parties Top leaders are among the beneficiaries

May be we can request all the rich Pakistanis that are dodging the NRO to move to India where all the worlds richest people live!.....................LOL

other than PMLN, almost everyone else got a relief from NRO..

About MQM, not only their leaders, but thousands of their terrorists also got relieved cause of NRO... which was sucha shame.

You are absolutely wrong. PML (N) also benefited from NRO. Besides this, father in Law of son of NS also had disclosed money laundering by NS. A separate thread has been opened on that. Don’t ever think that PML(N) is a parasa party, perhaps biggest chors are hiding there.

JI, JUI, ANP and TI of IK are the only parties, are not the beneficiaries of this draconian illegal ordinance.

DAWN.COM | Front Page | Punjab provides list of 77 NRO beneficiaries

Punjab provides list of 77 NRO beneficiaries

ISLAMABAD, Nov 17: The government of Punjab has sent to the centre a list of 77 beneficiaries of the National Reconciliation Ordinance whose cases were disposed of after Feb 5, 2008.

The list, made available to Dawn, includes names of 17 politicians, a couple of businessmen and a large number of government employees.

Prominent among the politicians are Begum Nusrat Bhutto and Jehangir Badar of the Pakistan People’s Party. **Four former legislators of the Pakistan Muslim League-N are also on the list. **

NRO is now only a tool to play against democracy.
However situation is so complicated and everyone capable is so involved in his past that he is unable to play a possitive role if he desires or not.

Welcome back Anwar Pasha.

I think we should start with our corrupt politicians...

Don't worry nothing will happen to democracy. If NRO is nullified by CJ, barhay barhay dakoo aor qatil ya to jail mein hongay ya in ko phansi lagay gi. Pakistan should really be clean of any corruption in every walk of life including military. This corruption will make lives of pakistanis more miserable if not checked now.

yeh kaisay musalman hain ke Prophet Mohammad PBUH ke qol ko bhi nahin maantay. " Rishwat lenay wala aor rishwat denay wala donon jahanumi hain"

Thank you very much for remembering me.
Actually I was busy in 'Nikkah' of my daughter.

See the statment of Ch Shujaat of Gujrat.

But must read this before reading his statement.

Lo Woh Bhi Keh rahay hain Benang o Nam Hoon
Yeh Janta agar to Lutata nah Ghar ko Main

By the way being a son of Ex head constable of police/alleged to be rasah gir later , he knew much about corruption and also knew very well about criminal activeties.
Shujaat urges separate list for corruption, criminal cases Updated at: 2206 PST, Saturday, November 21, 2009

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League (PML-Q) President Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain Saturday said the NRO-benefited people should face the courts.

Addressing a press conference after the list of National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO) beneficiaries was issued, he said the government officials who took advantage of the Ordinance in corruption cases, should resign and face the courts.

He also expected that the courts will deliver justice in the NRO cases, adding the corruption and criminal cases should be reviewed separately.

Shujaat Hussain said the most of cases filed against Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) are criminal in nature which have been politically activated.

[quote=“niden, post:61, topic:211850”]

And these murderers were opposing NRO. I hope that CJ will take up NRO and bring these scumbags to justice.

[

It was PPP who partnered with these murderers.. now suddenly this kind of language for your partners??? and that is because they did not support you in one matter…](“http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/12-top+mqm+leaders+among+nro+beneficiaries--bi-09”)

Well MQM is the most corrupt party in pakistan and all people knew already that they will be doing something new in the field of corruption. MQM only stands for personal interest no matter if the country and the nation goes to hell. they just want $$$$$$

Congratulations. I am missing the tasty food prepared on these occasions.

Your post is really out of contest. PPP and MQM are still enjoying the good relations as they were before NRO issue.

What you read is my personal thoughts which is nothing to do with any one as you know I am NRP (non resident Pakistani):). I support PPP since my childhood becasue I think it is the only national party which still can hold the whole nation together. Is that a sin? Go ahead and read my posts since 1997 though with different nicks(banned and had no choice) if you were born and had senses then.:)

Every system including Anglo-Saxon, Islamic Sharia etc. etc. gives a way out for "Good behavior".

In fact Islamic Sharia is much more liberal when it comes to the BIGGEST CRIME, aka murder. It allows the "payment" of money $$ in return for the forgiveness.

Even Allah Mian in Quran clearly says that repentance and good behavior will save even the worst of criminals from the hell fire.

Sometimes in order to keep the peace in the society, "forgiveness" is necessary as way forward.

NRO is bad in many many ways. It allows criminals to get away with murder.

However in this case, Paks must look forward and forgive the people.

Lynching and killing our so-called leaders will not solve any problem. Instead it will turn Pakistan into Afghanistan and Somalia.

Don't be emotional, please don't cry

The right to 'forgive' is with the people who were wronged and families of those who were murdered. It is not with a chief of army. Secondly, those people are not willing to repent. Not a single one has offered to resign or defend the allegations.

Neither I am emotional nor crying. You are still hiding which party you support. Be a honest person as you propogate in your posts. If not, I assume you are one jamaitee in denial.:)

It didn't take to find out which party i support, my stance is loud and clear, but for Jiyala type of guys it is big project and a real mind teaser...

I do not support any party, i support who ever take a stand for nation, may it be a Asif Zardari's Khapay Pakistan or MQM's National stand for NRO or PML(N) standing on restoration of Judges... My loyality is not for a person nor for a peer, but for my country and my dedication is to my religion ( i think it would be hard for you to grasp). Generally speaking, I appreciate good things and critcize bad thing... which many party loyals cannot do because they have made Zardari-likes their GOD...