Too Much Salt (Urgent)

I have guests coming over tomorrow for lunch. I was making masala for two veggie dishes & by mistake I ended up adding double the amount of salt. So dumb of me :s

How do I fix it? I don’t have any potatoes at home so thats out of the question. I am not sure but I think I read somewhere that we can put a paper towel & it’ll absorb the extra salt. I actually did that but took the paper towel out right away. Will the paper towel thing work?

Any other tips?

Re: Too Much Salt (Urgent)

i've heard adding a little ball of atta works too?

yes eitehr potatoes or lil ball of aata as sara said.

I don’t have goonda hua aata & so don’t have time to knead any right now:bummer:

any other suggestions?

ball of atta

:no:

^ wohi to nahi hai. Anything else?

Haven't you guys heard of the paper towel thing? I know I read it some where.

i don't think you have to knead the atta that much to remove the salt...?

maybe try flour if you think it's harder or more time consuming to knead atta?

haven’t heard of paper towel but i’ll do some research :hmmm:

I’m reading up on it… you can add sugar and balsamic vinegar to even out salty taste (although I wouldn’t do that) :bummer:

If you don’t have any dairy in your saalan/masala (like yogurt), you can add a little bit of lemon juice, it removes salt

So lemon juice it is maybe? I didn't add any yogurt.

By flour you mean the same thing right? Knead it & THEN add it.

I also read sugar when I googled but the masala it self is just perfect except the salt part so I don't wanna take any chances.

How much lemon do you think I should add Soundarya? The masala is made of 5 large onions & 5 large tomatoes.

Oh & thanks.

Even the sweet dish is not going as it was supposed to. Man I have never panicked in the kitchen before.

Flour- yes, I meant knead and add. But I guess there's no time to knead?

Yeah, I looked up other sources. Apparently another way to neutralize the extra salt is to add something acidic. So balsamic vinegar or lemon juice can work.

Don't add too much lemon juice. Try just half of one lemon and taste. I wouldn't go beyond 1 big lemon, the sourness might come into the saalan. And maybe add water, heat the food, add little bit of lemon juice, bhoono.

The other choice is to double everything else in the masala... but the color will likely change, especially with turmeric and red chili powder.

Oh okay. I am so hating myself right now.

I'll try the lemon juice & see if that helps. If it doesn't then God help me.

Kneading would probably take 10-15 minutes. But I already have things piling up one after another in the kitchen.

Thanks again :)

No problem :) You could make more masala without salt and mix it in. Or serve with plain rice.

you need a really small ball, half the size of a ping pong ball...like just with couple table spoons of atta....or you can use yougurt or milk/cream

Thanks Lusi. Just talked to my mom. She said to add some water & then leave a couple of paper towels in it for 2-3 minutes. The towel should absorb the salt. If not then I'll just make the aata. Half size of pin pong ball doesn't sound that bad.

yup like everyone said, small atta balls.. doesn't need to be finely kneaded .. just add some water until it forms ball, no need to knead really.. also it's better to add couple of small balls than one big ball..

did it work? what did you end up doing?

Lol. Yes it did work. I added some water in the masala. Brought it to boil & then soaked paper towel. Did it thrice & the saalan was perfectly yummy.

Anyone has extra salt next time. Just soak some paper towel. Do keep in mind the paper towel also soaks up all the oil.

Bint E Naeem. You are my herooooooooo!!! Thanks for the wonderful tip :)