To whoom it may concern

Re: To whoom it may concern

codey, all joking aside, if you have ideas, and tips on how we can reach pakistan based audience and get them more involved, please share, if there are special projects that we should do, help us. Open to all suggestions.

i was gona stay out of this as I enjoyed the conversation but you multiplied yourself by zero saying the above. Its all a sign of growth. Everyone HAS to redesign, rethink, redo and re-org regularly to stay competitive. And while I agree that the jest of 'discussions' is dying in favor of networking, I still think GS provides a medium for people like you to come and exercise their debating skills. The fact that Muzna engaged you in a dialogue proves the worth of this website. The fact that you care enough to post your albeit rants, proves that we must be doing some ounces of right here. And yes, vast opportunity exist to improve what we are doing. The fact that we have not extracted a single dime out of this website makes us look bad business people. Maybe you are right. But you would make a better argument if you can provide ways to improve. We will listen. As we always have.

take care.

If you truly want to help then join the team.

Yeah, then you would have scores leaving, most of the team that I would join would leave right away. We don't want that, that is not the objective here, we are looking at ways so people would stay. We want to keep people on board, even with their opposing views and opinions with and about each other.

Anyway, here are some suggestions off the top of my head for you to consider:

1. Make an announcement forum. Don't announce important website changes to cafe folks, the same people who can't put together a sentence without... putting... three... dots... every two... words.... and have two other nicks to post praises about their well known nick.
  2. Have a mission statement What is this website? Paklinks? Gupshup? What are you looking for?
  3. Stop changing stuff around all the time
  4. Either unplug it all together or plug GSUP into the mainstream forums. What the hell is quran khatam threads doing in allviews? Define a goal for moderators and stick to it. Moderators are moderators, they moderate and nothing more. The rules should come from the top, a site wide rule. That is to be enforced and followed by you, me, the mod and the user who just signed up.
  5. BAN USERS WITH MULTIPLE NICK NAMES! I can name a few mods and newly elected mods who have many nick names... that should put an end to middle eastern traffic for some time.
  6. ADDRESS mod favoritism for a change
  7. ADDRESS mod gang-baazi and cultist behaviours
  8. Stop the political correctness. If mods have an opinion they must understand that people might disagree with their view so some type of self control is necessary from their side instead of going on a character assassination mission!
  9. With exception of cafe (duh), you should have strict rule against *one liner *replies except in very limited circumstances. I am sure with a mod force as big as a city police department such a rule will be easy to enforce.
  10. Design wise, I would like to see important features of the site highlighted: Chat, games, videos, radio, etc. instead of sticking them on a lousy sidebar which is on the RIGHT side of the screen which an average user never sees. Put those important features on the top, move right sidebar to the left, put google ads on that sidebar(very top) achieve high CTR which forums all over the web struggle to get and make some dough while providing user friendly and visible features to the community.
  11. You shouldn't get defensive or offended by these or any other suggestions; if you do, it only shows that you are doing something wrong. So just relax, sometimes its okay to be wrong in certain areas and that is where the rest of the community comes into play with help.

These are just some of the suggestions. I AM NOT looking for a debate on these nor am I interested in some type of critique.

ciao

yaaar ab pehlay hi pyar say bol detay toh kya harj tha, we dont bite (hard that is)
they are valid points and the majority of these we are working on as we speak.

thanks, and please keep em coming.

JL, bro great suggestions.

No one gets defensive because of being wrong. Rather it's the tone that in which one is being spoken to that sets the mood. I'm sure you know that.

Just my take on it.

chalain koe baat nahi, jo bacha kucha hai wo ap bite kar lain

khair, forgot one more:

Why do the members have to contact some type of ghost admin account to get their custom titles and avatars? vBulletin has features built in, make groups, based on posts or something and then as the user advances through the groups, more features are made available to him/her. That way it eliminates the middle man, administrative overhead and automates the process = less headache for the the user we are trying oh so hard to keep.

teggy, no problem buddy but the tone often is mutual. wo kya kehte hain urdu main, kharbooza kharboozay ko dekh kar hee, aho.

JL that avatar and title stuff is on the table as well. actually tested it out and all.

good to know we ended up the best of friends... reading the first few posts, i thought there was going to be a civil war here :D

1. Design wise, I would like to see important features of the site highlighted: Chat, games, videos, radio, etc. instead of sticking them on a lousy sidebar which is on the RIGHT side of the screen which an average user never sees. Put those important features on the top, move right sidebar to the left, put google ads on that sidebar(very top) achieve high CTR which forums all over the web struggle to get and make some dough while providing user friendly and visible features to the community.

I agree with that one as i did not realise u had games on GS until a few days ago:smack:

JL .. Ok. I take my previous statement back. You can multiply yourself again by 1 now. Thanks for the suggestions. Some are good and doable. Others cant do. Short time will tell which ones we are going to opt. I really like the announcements part. I have been thinking about an Introductions forum. This forum can go along with that section.