To whoom it may concern

Please answer the following questions
( Admin, moderators or anyone )

1. This BB used to be so much popular among pakistani resident members untill couple of years ago. There were loads of people who used to log in from pakistan. From Karachi , Islamabad, Peshawar, Lahore , Faisalabad ,Gujrawala, Abotabad etc.
    Particularly there were dozens of Active members from Karachi alone.
    Now there are hardly any , why ?
    The internet usage in pakistan has gone up many times then why Popularity of this site has gone down the drain ? Has GS administration done anything about this trend or playing to do anything. please tell us briefly.

2. Untill couple of years ago GS guppy meet used to take place very frequently. There was get-togethers , picnics , outings , birthday parties celebration, weddings and whatnot. Members of this site used to meet other members and share their episodes, adventures with members of the online community. Toronoto , New york, Karachi, London , Chicago , Newjersy , Amsterdam, Lahore Meets were the norm back then. This was obviously very healthy activity of knowing people from different backgrounds and culture.
    Why is this trend dead now ?

Re: To whoom it may concern

maybe I can comment on #1,

GS scores very high on seo results, I believe we can cancel out search engine traffic. it must be high. the average pakistani is not your forum user, maybe the structure of the forum has gone more complex? don't know about the old pakistani users but this forum generally appeals to educated, middle to high class audiences.
lastly, i think there are many paistanis who come on, but they don't post as often that's why we don't notice them. i would still say, the pakistani user is not used to this type of interaction (forum), they're still getting used to blogs, forum is next step? just my views.

my suggestions to the admins, think over the structure of the site, just too many categories.

As far as i know ppl were really addicted to internet some years back I remember going to chatting channels when i was in uni ......now i see ppl using facebook at most....plus they have friends n family in Pakistan to share their views and they dont depend on forums that much its just a time pass for them when they dont have anything to do............errr

ppl arent sharing their story or personal life issues anymore probably becoz of what is going on in blogs(contents of pvt blogs being shared outside) and plus when we have blog features ,i like sharing such stuff there instead of sharing it publically .Pehlay shayed itnay personal attacks aur stalkers nahi the .shayed iisi liye log chup rehtay hain ab:phati:

.And the part of the world i live in such meets seem nearly impossible here.is liye janay do:naraz:

i dono how it used to b in past but what i have seen is that old guppies have got busier n have been replaced by newbies taht havent mingled in yet

:slight_smile:…it seems things were better on GS while Mushy was in Power…You Thimk!..:smiley:

is that one of the conclusions we can safely arrive at!..:sahar02:

**:rotfl:
**PS: Codo apny nanhy sy dimagh per itna zor kion daity hu

1) dunno, it all boils down to members. there are still a number of active users from pakistan, usually posting in pakistan affairs section. if you have any suggestions on how teh needs of ppl resident in pakistan could be catered better, please let us know.

2a) older crowd was cooler
2b) meets still happen, they are just kept secret to keep riff raff out :)

Bulletin Boards like these are becoming outdated, a thing of the past. The trend these days is blogs and social networks. Check how many pakis in pak and abroad are registered on such sites. Your are allowed much freedom there as you can control the desin, layout and content of your own blog or profile etc and interact w/o being moderated and thrown the book of forum rules at you. Catch me drift?

According to my observation, Pakistan provided 2nd largest member base after North America, from early 2000 to 2005. ( owner or admins might confirm / dismiss the claim)

GS administration seems to have lost the opportunity to capitalise on the popularity.

Guppy meet which was an extrememly popular part of complete GS experience back then is now completely unknown phenomena to new members. Whether you agree or not , it used to play an important role in attracting new active members, and growing network. I know that these meetings were arranged by ordinary members without much assitance from administration but GS benefitted from this immensely. There is food for thought for stake holder of this website ...

Bloging is nothing new , journals were popular part of this website long time ago. But the real turn off is the forums which were full of life and activity back then are now dull and stale. No physical activity, no meeting , no interaction. Most of the member from that time have met other members of this website. People used to travel long distance to meet others , then share stories/picutres here. It was fun. And encouraged non-member to join this place.

Presence of Pakistani residents on world wide web has grown manifold during past years. Just check out some pakistani forum eg pakwheels. But unfortunately this website has not been able to benefit from this growth as it should have.

Karachi's lack of particpant is because of Power Shortage .. when you dont have power for 16 hours day, aap kiya internet Pan-Chakki se chalaa'ain gay

man are you writing a thesis on "why participation of pakistani residents on GS has decreased"? chill out!

Haan Ji…te tussi har gall de wichoun ninnhay khaddan tu baaz nahin aounday…:desimunda:

Thank you Code Red.
I appreciate your sentiment and your persistence.
Many of the factors that contribute to a change in the atmosphere here in the forum have been mentioned.

I have to add that as the membership matures it moves on to diferent phases in life.....priorities change and sometimes we have to focus a bit more on other aspects of our lives. This is a cycle that you can only know and accept comfortably when you have been around as long as some of us old-timers have.

Having said all that, I must assure you that you will see change very shortly.
Yes you will.

because all that ABCD stuff going on here pakistani members don't feel at home here.
We need to restrict access of ABCDs in GS.

hey hey hey :emmy:

when i asked a few of my friends/cousins in pakistan to join gs, they refused saying whatever they post will show up in search engines.. thats the last thing they all need considering the stalkers we have recently seen on here.

shay.....the site provides the ability to be completely anonymous.....how can anything posted here that is discreet in nature be used to stalk anyone?

perhaps I am naive....enlighten me.....

Muzna

I think its about when you are not anonymous, when you share your name, city, college, work, pics etc here. People can find you, find you on other sites, find other ifno about you.

I think that is what shay means.

There are a few parts to it.

1) how much privacy the site itself provides
2) how much does the poster disclose
3) what type of people are reading the stuff

part 1 is in the site's control, part 2 is in the individual poster's control, and part 3 well in no one's control but part 1 and part 2 done right will cancel out #3.

:hinna: