To start a revolution...

Where does one begin…!?

For years, as far as I can remember, and during all previous regimes there have been during my life, Pakistanis have always whined about the ultimate need for a revolution of one sort or another. Of course the reasons and types of the revolution differ from person to person, party to party, ideology to ideology. Some want it Khomeini style, some want it Taleban style, some urge for an Attaturk, more wait for a Che and Castro, some dream of a French Revolution that swallowed even the pioneers of that revolution and used the guillotine to its best.

For some even too much liberalism is never enough, and for some even too much extremist interpretation of religion is also not enough–each wanting more and yet more of their favoured ideology implemented throughout the nation. That confirms one thing, that no matter which way the situations ever settle, a considerable section of society will always have huge reasons to foresee a grim future.

As a rhyme goes;

As a rule man’s a fool
when it’s hot he wants it cool
when it’s cool he wants it hot
always wanting what is not

So perhaps no leader, ideology or government ever could satisfy an entire nation together at the same time.

With that accepted if we still move on to finding out what ails Pakistan, there’s still always great anticipation for a revolution.

When Gen Zia left, BB was a messiah, when she left Mian was a messiah, this took turns once more before the greatest messiah came back in different shape; people danced with joy and thanked the Almighty for ridding them of the evil duo. But the khaki messiah too had serious mix-ups and again there was no revolution in sight.

SO now we have the liberals wanting a liberal revolution that would allow hem to air porn movies on satellite channels if it is good for better revenues, the extremists wanting a severe Islamic revolution that would send barbers, media and fashion packing home, mothers and sisters appearing burqa clad near sons and brothers, while another section of society more concerned with the issues and problems rather than ideologies and perceptions want the guillotine; starting from either the bottom or the top and slaughter whatever corrupt germs of any sort that may be left; they want to skin the govt employees alive who work for nothing but bribes, they want to torture the police in their own lockups who stir fear in public instead of a sense of protection, they want to blow the many cars and luxurious homes ad offices of all senior officials, ministers, they want to bury the zamindaars in their farms and grow wheat over their graves. They want to hang the immoral, double faced mullahs by the beards on electric poles. They want to kill murderers and rapists that roam free at city centres after every friday prayers for all to see and heed. They want to paint the black and white lawyers and judges black and white in ICI Dulux and push them off cliffs.

So I wonder, for Pakistan with loads of problems and even more personal and political ideologies, a revolution, if ever at all there is one that gains momentum and brings about change, will there be any valid reason for it to be started by none but burqa-clad baton charging women raiding an alleged brothel and CD stores?
Or a few hundred lawyers and a handful of political leaders of the opposition riding their backs to make use of a judicio-political blunder for anti-govt political use?

Is this all there is to Pakistan’s problems that our common Pakistanis have suffered for 60 years? An alleged brothel in G-10 and a CJ sent home on corruption charges?

The millions the poor have to spend each year in bribes never stirred the burqa-clad or the blackcoat-clad, the many innocent killed by the merciless police in fake encounters or torture cells without cases never stirred them, the many losses of pvt and public property due to riots staged by political parties and their hooligans never stirred them, the misery of the many murdered and raped never stirred the burqa & blackcoat clad messiahs of righteousness. The many oppressed laborers and unpaid slaves on the jaagirs of the zamindaars never stirred them, the liberalism of media strangling Pakistani values never stirred them, the govts’ inability to stop ethnic and political terrorism/bomb blasts causing massive loss of life and property never stirred them, the lying and deceiving mullahs who send innocent kids to false jihad while their kids live in western countries never stirred them. The widening gap between the haves and have nots never stirred them. The divide between the educated and uneducated never mattered this much to them and the Prado-BMW-Merc-Hummer driving lifestyle in the face of the semi-naked semi-hungry half of the population of Pakistan never stirred them or inspired them to begin a revolution, help Pakistan and Pakistanis, begin a certain Jihad, create and implement their own laws and take matters as well as batons in their own hands and take to the streets.

Apparently an alleged brothel in G-10 did.
As did the sacking (or what you may call it) of a Chief Justice who nevertheless has cases of corruption and misuse of authority against him if not anything else more serious.

So where does/could a people’s revolution for the benefit of the people and state of Pakistan actually begin…? And where is it ideally supposed to begin…?

Over non issues? Over extremist issues? Or like everything else, over personal/sect’s agenda based issues…!? Or once and for all over the issues that really matter to the average Pakistani at grass root level; the issues which damage Pakistan and all its systems…?

Re: To start a revolution...

I feel so despondent! Its all dark over here! No ray of hopes for this country!

Re: To start a revolution…

Excellent thread Haris.

There is never going to be any revolution in Pakistan.
The existing order will not be overthrown for a return to the ‘Ancien regime.’
For all their public bravado our generals, judges, mullahs and politicians are too busy cutting deals than plotting any inquilab.

The people of Pakistan meanwhile are too busy making money in the booming economy, or on the other end just surviving.

But hey let’s get in the spirit…

“Vive La Revolution, Vive La Republique Islamique du Pakistan” !! :jhanda: :jhanda:

I have since a long time lost all hopes of any improvemnt in the country.

At one hand we have people who beleive that growing beard, wearing burqa and wielding arms can solve all problems

And on the other hand are people who beleive that making Paki women nude will bring prosperity.

"Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow,
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day,
To the last syllable of recorded time,
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools,
The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!" - Macbeth, William Shakespeare

All we need are proper leaders, implementation of the existing systems and laws, and absolutely no leniency to those who deny it - regardless of their identity or status. Only if the existing system was properly used, no one would find the need for a revolution. In our current situation, we don't need a revolutionary system (i.e. a whole new concept of Pakistan), we need a revolution within the system. Above that cooperation from the people is also highly stressed--and we need to eliminate that barrier of mistrust between the people and the govt.

So sad!

very touching thread by haris Bhai...yes..its so sad...Inconolclast also wrote excelllent...and others also did well....

kya pakistan ko aik "khooni ghusal" ki zaroorat hai.....

i will disagree...

i will agree with retroguy.....change in system...and the only way is """strict judiacary "....when your courts are free...nobody will ever think of any hanky panky...from clerk to GM...from worker to party chairman....as umar(ra) did....farooq(ra) nai teer ki tara seedha rakha sub ko....sarai set ho gai thai...but when usman(ra) ...by its nature polite and kind...showed some leniency....phir shararrtti or ghundo ka raaj ho giya.....

as we see in west...despite of many bad....there judicial system does not even spare th PM of Israel...even BLair..even Clinton.....

any corruption..mishandling...exceeding from boundaries...instantly courts call for them..... to nip the evil in the bud.....

regarding what Pakistan should be...in my humble opinion...it should neither be "naked"...nor be "taliban type burqa"....it should be "moderate"...enlightened....but strongle sticking to the Islamic Values as we promissed the Allah on 1947 and before that Pakistan ka matlanb kya...La illah illlalah "....since for 60 years..we did not fulfill this promise...so thats we are midst of nowhere !!!!!!!!!!!

Very nicely written :k:

Who brings revolution - Individuals who join together
so we all need to change ourselves first. Its us who take bribes, its us who don’t pay taxes, its us who treat poor like trash SO we need to change ourselves first - And then we’ll surely start seeing the difference.
Change doesn’t happen over night and change can’t be made without both forces joining together i.e. Govt as well as Public.

We need to find the root cause. focus ourselves and then follow the direction.
Govt is supposed to provide direction and public is supposed to follow with govt’s help.

Unfortunately, we spend all our energies on non-issues such as beard, hijab, entry of religion in passport or ID or watever, co-ed, marathons etc. etc. etc.
we never focus on imp. things.
The main examples: we can’t even come up with a standardized educational system.
more than 50 years have been spent - we still haven’t madeup our mind if we need to be an agricultural country or industrial.

we also need to stop blaming just the politicians - its not only them. Need to clean the army, businessmen, wadairay, chowdery - and everyone who is abusing the power.

The behavior needs to be changed, the perception needs to be changed - And it will automatically bring the +ve effect.

Which leader in our history have clean past ... will u tell me ????

mistrust is also created by the GOVT not ppl .... Ppl in Pakistan is now in the condition af Hand to Mouth..... This is all from aur currupt ministerz who give their bull**** Ideas to President n Prime minister that Everyone is happy in Pakistan n Bush will come to live here after his retirement coz Pakistan is upgrowing country huh......

Pakistan should be cleaned from all that greedy ministerz n currupt politicians then we have to change aur education plans .... after that we can make change in our system

Harris bhai don't be so gloomy, I think of the current situation as we are already at the bottom the only way to go is up.

Ya you sit in US shinning your medical practice,having escaped from the beloved,wanting to change the course of a country 8000 miles away..

i agree with you...
khuda nai aaj tak uus qaum ki......

inshallah

And are you lobbying with -Alnahyan for investing in Pakistan sitting in UAE?

Atleast i m not creating a mess by inciting people for a revolution...which equtes to being a traitor.

CB great point. for all the hue and cry about corruption, avg ppl in Pakistan dont do their part.

btw, haris excelent post, u should send it to a newspaper or atleast get it in opinion pages.

:) funny

The number of times I’ve heard that statement..especially by Pakistani leaders is ridiculous.

The last time was back in 1999 and it went something like this

**My dear countrymen, to conclude my address let me say that, we have hit rock bottom. **
Today, we have reached a stage where our economy has crumbled, our credibility is lost, state institutions lie demolished, provincial disharmony has caused cracks in the federation, and people who were once brothers are now at each other’s throat.

Pervaiz Musharraf 1999

On the positive side at least he sorted out the economy :halo:

very true..Haris you inqilabi..I'd suggest you edit it a bit and definitely send it through..it was obviously straight from the heart and asks a lot of difficult questions.

Did I say that our leaders have had a clean past? Pakistan has been crumbling since independence; it was stabilized during the first decade or two, but since then we've just been in a downward spiral... so the entire issue basically heads up to the leaders (since the British left). I know we didn't have proper leaders for most of the time, but it's ridiculous to say that every Pakistani is like that. Unfortunately in Pakistan criteria for politicians are based more on status, lineage, and political background rather than personality, industriousness, or education... we need to change our criteria for politicians and leaders; we do have some educated leaders but their personality and laziness outweights it.

As far as your opinion that the govt has created mistrust for the people goes, I apologize and agree that you are true to an extent... our first opportunity is to get good leaders, and in recent days we are SOMEWHAT approaching it (Naimatullah Khan, and Mustafa Kamal to an extent), after that the people will automatically pay their taxes; the people in Pakistan aren't that stupid that they don't recognize who's benefiting them and who is not. Everything stems off from the judiciary system; only if it is corrected we will have no corrupt leaders, no election rigging, proper education, healthier environment and what not... and in the end the govt will also benefit from it.

However, let me remind you, that we need our govt to head us - not any private organization - if we really want to move ahead... how is that done, you tell me :).