To share or not to share ...

:naraz:

Usually friends and family visit and I go nuts making tonns of dishes to welcome them … and i share my recipes open heartedly with them , when they ask for them … :sahar02:

But …the favour is never returned to me :crying:… I have noticed women are so chalaak these days.. they just wont share their recipes … or if they do, they will intentionally miss an ingredient :naak:

Why does this happen… or does it just happen with me : :aq: ..should i stop sharing my recipes with them too?

Ohhh I am so with you on this CB.

You’re not the only one.At several dawats,I have sat and practically given the recipes for nearly all my dishes.
Or,they don’t tell you which order to add ingredients…or as you said they **will **miss something out,and say later it didn’t matter.
Or,they say ‘it’s so easy’ and then shut up!!
I am more than happy to share my recipes with anyone…
…there is this lady in my moholla who makes fabby zeera chicken…and who gave her the recipe???I did…:bummer:

Re: To share or not to share …

:hehe: You are so right. Kuch log nai chahte ke koi aur bhi achha khana pakaye :emmy:

Do as the others do.
I used to give all recipes as well, but others never gave :hinna:

So now when they ask me, i just murmel something and bas :smiley:

Re: To share or not to share ...

Naaa.. don't stop sharing CB....I know you won't.. :)

It really is weird as no one is going in any cooking competition, I don't get the point of hiding something as silly as recipes..I mean c'mon internet/cooking channels are bursting with info and one day or other the other person will come up with the perfect thing by trying over and over again so why not oblige? kher silliness needs no reasons..:)

also from religious pov, sharing of knowledge is encouraged..:k:

Masi, yeah i havnt stopped sharing at all .. but i have stopped sharing with those aunty types who never tell me their recipes .. I have this little paper stuck under the magnet on the fridge … in a little corner , i have initials of aunties who refuse to oblige me :mad:

so next time they ask , i just say , oho its easy like your korma dish :omg: and if they ask further : acha is me kai ander yoghrt bi dala tha .. I just turn back and say , waise hi bana hai jise aapka korma tha :omg:

LOL...that is soooo true!

Ive got this thing for Dam ka Qeema...I can never find anyone who knows how to make it right. Or if they do, they wont tell me the real recipe.

I always share my recipes though...its nice to share!

CharmedOne could you please share your zeera chicken recipe with us too? i would love to try but will always tell every one who gave me this recipe :)

Ahem…ahem…it’s really easy peasy..you take some..*mumble mumble mumble…*and at the end you just…mumble mumble;).

Seriously…it really is the most easist dish to make.

1 kilo chicken wings (or any small pieces)
3 tblspns of whole zeera (I know it sounds a lot)
dried red chillis…it depends on how hot they are,but I use about 1 tblspn
salt to taste
3/4 tblspns of yoghurt

In a pan put enough oil to just coat the bottom on a low heat.
Bhoon the zeera and roughly grind in a pestle and mortar with chillis.PLEASE be careful with the chillis…they can really get up your nose,which is why I sometimes use crushed red chillis.
Throw the zeera and chillis in the oil…add the chicken and turn until well coated.In fact on medium heat bhoon a bit.Then add salt and leave to cook on a low heat.I don’t add any extra water.When the chicken is cooked and there is no water remaining add the yogurt and bhoon on a high heat.when all the yoghurt has been mixed in take off the cooker and serve.I tend to serve these as starters.
You can adjust the chilli to suit your palate.
Hope you enjoy it.Bon apetit:yummy:

charmed , please add this recipe to the recipe portal so that it will be searchable under your name , when we need it in the future ... otherwise it will be lost one the thread dies ...

Oooh...okie dokie.

Sorry to be a divy but what section would this come under?

yess it happens with me too :bummer:

but :nahi: u should not do teh same.jo aapko khud nahi pasand why do teh same?
y be like others :aq:
be urself :@:

Thanks CharmedOne :)

Charmed , you know the grey bar on the top.. it says “portals”… if you point your mouse on that , it will give you a drop down menu saying “recipes” … just go to submit a recipe and you will start loving that recipe section pretty soon :cb:

sharing recipes

one of my cousins (M) had a dawat and everything was delishious! One of my other cousins (F) had asked her how to make all the dishes, but (M) made some excuse and didnt tell her. So (F) ended up calling (M)'s mother (without M knowing) and got all the recipes. The next week (F) did a dawat and cooked all the food that (M) had made using her recipes. LOL. Everyone at the second dawat thought the food was yum yum.

(M) wasnt too please.

So another dawat comes along, and (F) makes one of the dishes again. And then for a potluck she decides to make it and bring it to the party, and now calls is "my dish".

so (M) again isnt too pleased.

I kind of agree with (M). I mean its nice to share recipes with friends and family, but another thing, giving them recipes of everything you make and having them make it all the time for other people, and now the dish is "theirs".

I once told some of my relatives how to make butter chicken, and now practically at every dawat you see butter chicken. And honestly, I'm sick of butter chicken now.

And now since a lot of relatives share recipes, every dawat has practically the same food.

Yes, we do a lot of dawats in our family. =).

What do you guys think? Would you share all your recipes? or have a few dishes that are just "your speciality"?

CB, although this isn't something I'd go around bragging I'd done, if someone kept asking me for recipes but wasn't willing to share I'd give them a recipe with a few ingriedents missing I mean come on CB...it's not like we ain't human and can't forget things once in a while :@:

:smack: You women need a life ..

To share!

I share recipes, and if aunty's don't share don't invite them ever again!

PSQ, i'll post the recipe of dum ka keema soon Inshallah...

Tail wala Keema :s

i agree... 100 percent to ur last line! i dun mind sharing with aunties and all cus i know it wud not taste exactly like mine but if i were to share with my rivals, like my devrani etc i wud make sure i skip a few ingredients cus of the same prb that M faced. i wudnt like her takin full credit and she wud definitely not tell everyone she got recipe from me! i wud never mind sayin i learnt so and so dish from so and so aunt but someone who is direct competition, i wud have a major prb!!! and btw sharing recipes on GS is not a big deal in my eyes cus these ppl are far away and are not directly related to us so there is no need to feel threatened by them. i wud always love to have some things as my speciality which are tikkas and biryani .. ive shared recipe with my hub's side but m not gonna share it with my devrani for sure :P