To Dance or Not To Dance...?

Re: To Dance or Not To Dance...?

no restriction from my parents in fact they would love me to do it but I dont like to dance whether its a mixed gathering or all girls party.

We won't let our daughters to dance, males can dance as much as they want. ^we are also a stereo type society, where we love to watch other's daughters dance, like in films and bring dancers to our family events but not our!!!

Re: To Dance or Not To Dance…?

As if convincing a Hijaban wasn’t enough already. Gotta be prepared to deal with a susarr moulvi uncle as well. Thats quiet a revelation in itself, something that actually never crossed my mind. Sweets. Thankyou for the heads up.

:mad:

it depends if you are fat or hot.

Nah.... no one in my family dances

Bhai can dance, I on the other hand cant even if my life was at stake. I'd do a few index finger ups to try and not disappoint the one adamant enough to get me out of my comfy little setting, but that is pretty much all I could do.

depends on the family I guess. Acceptable in mine though

its ok.I am a molvi too! sometimes.

Well me, my brother, sis in law and sisters and cousins all dance in our weddings. My parents have never said anything when we dance and stuff. And yo..i can't stand those weddings where all ya do is eat and go home. Entertainment is must..at least for me..

LOL, so true hahaha.

Oh my..Im surprised to hear so many no's....wow! Anyways when its time to dance ..meray pair tiktay hi naheen hai.lol But I am in shock hearing that so many girls don't even dance at their family weddings!I thought it was so common now, this really opened my eyes. But yeah...everyone around me is super laid back about it. lol so I thought this was a non issue in desi community. The auntys and moms can't say much cause they are busting some serious moves too!! They are the ones that encourage us to start the party and get our thumkas going. Even the uncles are on the dance floors at weddings..lol. I've dance at weddings and occasions where there were men present whome I did not know and was not related to...my dad and mom didn't mind at all. AM I REALLY A MINORITY HERE?!!?!SERIOUSLY?!...

jaise aap baray dublay patlay ho :rolleyes:

No - we invite professional - tawaiffs and *****yan for such stuff :)

Wait so to all the ladies that don't like to participate in dancing and don't approve of such entertainments...what do yo guys do for eid?!...IM NOT BEING RUDE AT ALL!!(Please no one yell at me!)

Actually you are and so as my sisters. Majority of Pakistanis are conservatives...but thumbs up to you for being such a brave girl!..

Shadi pe tau thek hai eid pe kubse dancing ki itni shiddat se zarurat mehsus shuru hogai logon ko?

Yay!! I feel better now.lol

They wake up early - wear fancy dresses - Put churiyaN and Menhdi - cook delicious food - visit friends and relatives - Go out and have fun :)

^ Same question as the Hijaban above asked. :blush:

Dandiya maybe? But thats usually played on “mehendi ki raat aayee mehendi ki raat”

I’ve no idea myself.

You know like all those Eid milans and eid community parties ( some are even for ladies only), where everyone gets their bhangra and desi dance moves going...I was just wondering cause thats all ive seen people do for Eid. Or even house parties where dancing seems to be what everyone looks forward to.