To Dance or Not To Dance...?

Re: To Dance or Not To Dance...?

[note] Please refrain form putting down other religions even if you disagree. [/note]

Re: To Dance or Not To Dance…?

yeah, it’s OK…even with close friends. It’s not like anyone is looking at me and falling in love with my moves :yawn:.

Niksik: How can anyone know what are the thoughts of the person watching? I think you were really sleepy when posted that. :)

Agree with that surely. I have seen these girls getting rishta offers right, left and center.

True. Somehow I don’t think any of my family members will be looking at me in a negative sort of way…it’s just an expectation. But the again, kya pataa :hmmm:!

On the flip side there are some who'll think a girl has loose morals just because they saw her dance in a wedding.

So true ^^But I guess in that case the girls dancing probably dont care about ristha offers ( or the lack thereof) from such folks.

@EDAL... WOW that is quite a few weddings all over the place. Ive been to a handful of weddings too and there was dancing in all of them(mixed in most), but to be fair I have only been to New England weddings and there were pretty much no hijabis in sight. So maybe that is a factor.

And when those people ring my doorbell (which lately, has been about once a month), I choose not to answer. I take my kids to the masjid (which is about 3 miles from my house) for Quran class 3 days a week, and they go to Sunday School every week from 10-2pm. I'd say that's a pretty good chunk of our lives spent at the masjid, and we enjoy every second of it. I don't need bearded stranges showing up at my doorstep telling me how to be a better Muslim.

And as far as most Pakistani people in America go, I can honestly say that I have NEVER been to a wedding in my 30+ years of being born and raised here where there was not dancing, mixed or segregated. I guess that makes me/my family/social circle a bunch of god forsaken heathens.

He's not banging his head. He's telling you, he thinks you're a moron and it's pointless trying to explain his superior logic to you. These are the other ways he communicates the same feelings --> :) and ;)

The rest of us are well versed in diwana smiley communications, ergo my providing the translation services.

P.S. That's not my opinion of you - I don't know you well enough to have an opinion. I'm just explaining diwana-speak to the uninitiated.

^ Thanks! Fortunately or unfortunately, I am al too familiar with Diwana Saab-speak

You two sound as if you have done research and pHD on me. But very sorry to say you are still not quite there. :frowning:

Keep trying. Who knows some day you will get there! :hehe:

My well wishes and prayers for you. :wink:

;)

Ph.D or PhD

wow. I was friggin FORCED to dance at my cousins' weddings. Scaring away potential rishtas in the process

Rishta or no rishta. No one can predict.

But you seem to have blown away men who have religious minds or those who are not in to women dancing in a crowd.

**A Humble Advice:

One should look into how many men really would like their "potential wives" dancing in a crowd (regardless of the gender of the crowd) before embarking on dancing all open in desi marriages/social gatherings.**

Thanks ghandi. It was only a matter of time before somebody unleashed the holier than thou comments. For the record, my family are moderate middle of the road in terms of religion. It was supposed to be a light hearted humourous comment but if ur gonna get all heavy and serious then you go right ahead

Who is ghandi?

It was not me. You said "scaring away potential rishtas in process". Short memory syndrome?

We dont dance in my family. Its a big no-no. Actually most people dont dance at weddings here. Recently girls related to the bride or groom has started to shake a bit when most guests have left. I dont really classify it as dancing tho.

jaldio bataoo bhai kia faisla howa? danceNA hai n nahi danceNA hai? song khatam ho jayee ga :chai: