to All the mothers, doctors, mothers to be, pls help!!!

Salam everyone. I am 11 weeks 6 days (almost 12 weeks) pregnant. I got to know I was preg exactly a week back. I didnt get any pregnancy symptoms except no periods all this while and since I am PCOS patient I didnt suspect I was pregnant. I had an ultrascan done, MA the baby is doin fine, heartbeat is ok. everything seems ok MA. I was wonderin what tests should I have done rite now? my doc didnt do any tests on me so far. She has asked me to see her in week 14. Should I have any tests before that?
This is my first pregnancy so I dont know what should b done etc. please mention the tests I should b gettin done like blood, sugar, etc. thanks alot!!

Re: to All the mothers, doctors, mothers to be, pls help!!!

9-13 weeks there is usually an ultrasound and bloodwork that is a preliminary screening for genetic issues (downs syndrome, trisomy 18, etc). This is usually done at a specialist, tho some OB offices will do it themselves. Is that what you did?

You should also be getting a series of pregnancy bloodwork and urine analysis done, usually in the first and second trimester. This will check for STDs, anemia, urinary infections and all sorts of other stuff.

In the second trimester (around weeks 18-20) you will get a more thorough ultrasound and bloodwork to check for genetic defects. This is also when you can find out the gender of the baby.

Also, at this stage you should be going to the OB every 4 weeks. Mine does a urine test every time I go in (urine infections can cause premature labor, which is why they are very careful about that).

At around 25 weeks you will do a screening for gestational diabetes. They make you drink a sugary liquid (mine tasted like orange soda -- even more super sweet). An hour later you'll have a blood test. If the results are okay, then you're done. If there is a concern, they'll make you do follow-up tests.

Congratulations! I hope you will have a healthy happy pregnancy, and an easy delivery. :D

thx alot sahar for the detailed reply. as i said ive not had any test done yet. no urine, bloodwork, down syndrome, NOTHIN :( she asked me to come in week 14. wot shud i do? shud i ask her to have these done before 14 week??? i m so confused.

My doctor made it seem like the 9-13 month screening was standard and that they will not do it after 13 weeks. I'm in the US. Where are you? Maybe the standards are different.

Also, have you joined Babycenter.com? They give regular updates and benchmarks that have been really helpful! You just register your email address and due date.

Are you due in May, inshAllah?

Just like Sahar02 said,is the normal protocol for scans and bloodwork.This is what got from my OB too.
One thing,if you are PCOS then you might want to discuss the possibility of having the screening test for gestational diabetes done earlier than its normally done as PCOS patients are at a higher risk.

thanks guys!! sahar i live in UAE. so what shud i do? shud i ask her for the tests? i will also definitely ask her abt diabetes screening before its normally done...

hey sahar another thing i m so so confused abt. my LMP was 15 june and i didnt get any period after that. now keepin that date in mind, i am almost in 18 weeks or so!!! :S but then is it possible to conceive even when u DONT get period??? cus i m sure i conceived in july end although had no period that month. honestly i have no idea when is my due date? i think it will be april? am i rite... i m in 12 weeks today Mashallah.

*How come your are 11 weeks? if your LMP was on 15th jun? Mine was 1st Jul and my EDD will be first week of april, IA... *

Plus which hospital in dubai you are going to? I a also in Dubai...

And they had my blood work/urine sample in almost 11 weeks..

Like you, mall, my ovulation and periods are irregular. I was on meds and being tested. Using the LMP to predict the due date only works if you have a regular 28 day cycle where ovulation occurs on day 14. Then it works out that your due date is LMP + 40 weeks.

Because the cycle I conceived was longer than 28 days, I guessed that the due date would be calculated from two weeks before my ovulation date, and not from the actual LMP. I was being closely monitered, so I knew what day ovulation was. And that date matches what the doctors are predicting is my due date.

If you ovulated at the end of July, I’m just going to use July 26th for your ovulation day, and therefore July 12th for your pretend LMP – I just plugged it in to the due date calculator on babycenter.com and I got April 18, 2010, inshAllah!

I can imagine that for many people, doing genetic screening and testing would not be considered good. Because if you find out something is wrong you are faced with a very difficult decision about keeping the baby. Hubby and I did decide to do it, but we both also decided that unless there was actually a risk to my health, we would keep our baby and raise it as best as we could, even if there were genetic defects (some children can survive with these, others are fatal very early, so it depends on what the issue is). MashAllah our little one is doing well and has had no health issues so far, thank God.

You can ask your doctor about it, but I think the more important testing is the regular prenatal bloodwork and urine analysis as well as the gestational diabetes screening and test.

The bloodwork tests for STDs, cervical cancer, RH compatibility, anemia, and other health issues that can compromise the mother’s health or the child’s . The urine analysis will test for a urine infection. As I mentioned earlier, that is very regularly monitered for fear of preterm labor.
Here’s a good informative link: Common first trimester blood tests | BabyCenter

I REALLY recommend you join the following, so you know what other mothers-to-be in the same stage as you are experiencing and you have a sense of what is expected and what you should be asking your doctor about:
BabyCenter | Homepage - Pregnancy, Baby, Toddler, Kids
*** April 2010 Due Date Buddies *** - FertilityCommunity.com](http://forums.fertilitycommunity.com/due-date-buddies/2020184693-april-2010-due-date-buddies.html)

tashfeen i dunno myself even m confused. my last period was indeed 15 june and didnt get any period to date after that. doc said its possible to conceive even if u dun have periods.. i m so confused. i m goin to zulekha shj.. shud i ask for the bloodwork/urine?

tashfeen how many weeks r u in rite now if ur EDD is in april.. maybe urs and mine will be almost same...i dunno my due date :(

Tashfeen,

PCOS patients usually do not ovulate/menstruate regularly. The LMP usually becomes irrelevant in that case.

Like I said, mall, the LMP is really just used to match up the ovulation. You don't ovulate on a predictible cycle, but somewhere between June 15th and the end of July you did! So what's important is the ovulation date, not the actual LMP.

sahar thx a lot!! u r a gem of a person really. May Allah bless u with a smooth delivery. Amin. :slight_smile: which week r u in sahar?? and when is ur EDD? like me r u also PCOS patient?
ok so am gonna call my doc in a few mins and ask her when can i have these tests.
seriously sahar is it possible i ovulated although i din get period in july?? ill ask her for genetic testin also.. but for now like u said, atleast ill push her to have my blood and urine test before week 14. will let u know in a jiffy. thanks again.. hugs

You can definitely ovulate without having a period before. A period is usually an indication that you recently ovulated -- not that you WILL ovulate. The period is caused by an unfertilized egg and uterine lining leaving your body. This time the egg was fertilized (yay!), so that's why you haven't had a period. The problem with having irregular periods is that you never know when you will ovulate.

I guess the doctor that said you are about 12 weeks is able to tell based on the development of you and the baby. They usually know what they are doing. When cycles are irregular and ovulation dates are unknown, sometimes the doctors continue to adjust the EDD as they monitor the progress of you and the baby. But it will probably be around the 18th of April.

thx sweetie. i understand now much better :)
ok so i just spoke to my doc she seems to think its ok and that i can come and see her a week before the date she had asked me to come now (she asked me to come and see her on nov 9, week 14, so now i m gonna meet her nov 2 instead (13 week, 4mnth) yay, to that!!! she seems to think aisa koi urgency nahi hia tests ki but she said theek hia come 1 week before the date i give u and then she will have blood, urine and diabetes checked. i did tell her that my other pals on GS has had that done in their first trimester but she said 1 week, 2 week se koi fark nahi padta.. silly woman .. i m gettin all worried here :D thnks again for everythin sahar

^ No problem. I wonder why the Gestational diabetes test is done in the second trimester usually. Make sure it isn't actually too early to get helpful or accurate results. Or maybe make sure your doctor will do it again in the 2nd trimester.

And yeah, the bloodwork can be done in 1st or 2nd tri. I had in the 2nd trimester.

hey i didnt understand these lines. u mean i shud hav another diabetes test after the first diabetes test that i will have on nov 2?

The standard is usually to have the Gestational diabetes test around 24-26 weeks (2nd trimester). I'm just wondering if you take the test now if it is too early. Like is there a reason the doctors usually request it at that time?

in her defence she said when i met her last week that she wud have this test in 2nd trimester. but now maybe seein my concern she must have thot she mite as well have it now. i will surely bring this to her attention and have another one done in 2nd trimester :) thanks.

^ Yeah or just do the other stuff, and wait on doing that, so you don't have to do it twice. See what the doc recommends.

Sahar, your actual due date can be more accurately computed when you have your first ultrasound and they measure the baby. The measurement tells the doc how many weeks old the baby is.

Not to worry about the early tests, some of them are unreliable and serve little purpose other than to give stress to the parents! Like the blood markers for Downs syndrome. In two of my pregnancies, I was told that there was an 80 percent chance or greater for downs. Neither of my boys had downs though. Early ultrasound is a little more reliable - they measure the nucal sac in the neck of the baby. If its a certain size then downs can be indicated. But the only truly reliable test for this (and other genetic defects) is either a CVS or amniocentesis. CVS is done around week 10 or 11 and amnio is done around week 18. It sounds like your doc is pretty on target with the diabetes test and will also check for infection, RH compatibility etc. So not to worry! And many congrats to you!