TLK's daal!

Me too but all I have is chana daal and no meat masala? Is it going to turn out okay!???!??!?!?!

Re: TLK's daal!

Just do moong and masoor then. Dont add Urad.

aap loug thoree see shopping kar lain ja ke pehlay please :(

oho, I don't have any desi shops close by TLK, do you think I should not make it, and wait when I have all the daals on hand?

Try it with just chanaa. Chanaa is a very tasty daal. Instead of meet masala, use some other masala. Kofta, biryani, Karaahi .. any other meat dish masala

great.. thank you! We may develop some liking for daal eventually!

ps: I have a same problem as belle.. no desi store in 30 miles vicinity so have to rely on whats already at home!!

I think the beauty of this recipe is that most any light color daal(s) will work.

^ after its cooked half way add sliks of chicken and blend it a little.................waolla............there is your haleem ready......................:D

Haleem has maize and barley also, this recipe has just daal.

so why this daal taste like haleem when there is no meat in it? and why taste so good with roti and not with rice?

I think because it has a thicker textre than regular daal, so eats better with roti. Why it taste likes haleem? Maybe because of all the spices.

acha theek hai i will make it then on weekends

i cudnt find pigeon peas (arhar?) so i just got ummm this bean soup mix

and i remembered i bought this haleem daal pack from shaan masala a few weeks ago...it should have all diff daals mxied in. :D

sara, woh tu haleem mix hai tu woh haleem hee banae ga..not tlk daal :p

Re: TLK’s daal!

I found a pressure cooker! woohoO!

now i have to clean it.

i guess ill have daal tomorrow :hinna:

ok I just made this daal without pressure cooker and one more change that is I used only moong and masoor daal and here is my review..

-turned out really yummy- the only time I ever liked daal was once made by my father in law and now today.. my husband and I both hate daal and tonite each of us had a bowl of daal with spoons :smiley:

-It’s a LOT of daaal.. we are only two people so probably I will just freeze the rest for rainy days. (picture below is just half of the daal- rest is in handi)

• I used biryani, chicken handi, and nihari masala

• It could have been more thick but my tarka was ready and I dunno if we can wait to pour it over once it’s ready!

ok I will shut up.. here is the picture :slight_smile:

Thanks Niksik for sharing the recipe :flower1:

bechari daal pressure cooker mein phas gaye. :frowning: couldn’t get the damn thing open :crying:

hahahaha are you serious?!!?!?

I don;t have a pressure cooker and it took me 2 and half hours from start to the end!

GTG, that looks yum. I soaked my chana daal (6 hours ago) but still haven't made it :-/.

Belle.. get off the msn and you will get time to cook it :p

When I came back from work, both hubby and i were starving and didn't have anything else to eat so I had to cook something right away. :-(