Re: Time to drop the term "Maulana" and start using the term "Mullah"
Dude, you have been hanging out with wrong arabs, you should be hanging out with arabs in shalwar kameez
Ya rite the wanna bes. :D
Dude, you have been hanging out with wrong arabs, you should be hanging out with arabs in shalwar kameez
Ya rite the wanna bes. :D
i have never heard there was an issue with the usage of word maulana? certainly sounds vain. more info on either side please. as per my knowledge in old times the words, mufti,maulana and such were titles like we give Dr to Phd. why not call Mr or sir? well translate mister into urdu, you get qibla, hazrat ,janab and maulana, i think now these words are used just to show respect. now if one argues qibla is used for khana qabaa then may Allah show them sense.
Croquet
I have posted a link to a previous thread that on this topic, please read it. There are other scholars who are against using this term. and as I asked how many Maulanas do you find in history. If it was okay we would have found atleast a dozen maulanas immediately after teh time of the prophet. so please...find me some maulanas from that era.
^Shut your trap oye.
Re: Time to drop the term “Maulana” and start using the term “Mullah”
hmmmm so the word is in use for 300 years. okay.
how old is islam :halo:
I think that says enough.
the ‘recent fitnah’ is not people questioning the use of ths word. the’recent fitna’ is 300 years old as you say when people started using that word.
How many Maulanas were present during khulfa e rashideen’s era? how many maulanas were there at karbala?
so youa re telling me that aside from ‘ulema’ no one else wore a turban in that era?
no issue with a mufti being called a mufti if he has completed the required training. No issues with other titles of respect liek sheikh or imam.
I am not going to call anyone my lord. only Allah is my lord. so i can address them by other titles of respect as long as they have earned teh right to use them, imam, mufti, sheikh .. but not maulana. Not now, not in the future.
which thread with link?
anyways didnt some one say they have never come across an arabic maulana, its an urdu term, designed to show respect.there are often similar sounding words in urdu and arabic but with different meanings. nothing more nothing less. havent you ever read urdu books people use it loosely for any character. certainly isnt blasphemous (spel?) aap ko maulana per aitaraz hai aap hazrat, janab,qibla, bhai jaan jo mizaj main ayay kahain.
This clearly shows us how Mullahs distort Quranic teachings.
Janab Tariq Khan sahib, what book are you reading? Who says wrong and right has no value.
If you care to think (a kind of difficult for a Mullah-sympathizer), there are universal truths and universally accepted good values.
Unfortunately Arab-inspired "Islamic fashion" has taken many young "so called Muslims" straight back to the Jahiliya. Yes those were the times of Jahiliya when right and wrong had no value. Everyday the tribal warlords decided the "flavor of the day" law. Then they used terrorism to enforce those brutal laws on the hapless Arabs Bidduins.
This was exactly the same way, as these modern day Bidduins are using terrorism to scare people into submission. Modern day Jahils have turned places of worship into den of terrorism. They have brainwashed young women into "danda bardar Ninjas".
And sadly there many on this forum who support the Jahiliya all in the name of Islam. What a pity! What an irony!
Janab Tariq Khan sahib, what book are you reading? Who says wrong and right has no value.
!
A good one from you. You picked few word from my sentance and made a newsentance out of that. The whole sentance was
"as a Muslim we believe that right and wrong has no value unless it helps you to be successful in Akhirat"
is was post #53 in this thread.
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?p=5154190&highlight=maulana+pcg#post5154190
pointing to the discussion we had in this thread..
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=133964&highlight=maulana
It was I. really how many maulanas are there in the arab world and how many maulanas were there in the sahaba? or taba tabaeen?
Its an arabic word, its used in quran. mullahs should know better. whats next, khuda, rabbee, rabbana etc will become titles too because you know..its urdu dawg, its cool n shyt..we can use it. wazzup rabbana nomi…nada rabbana kami, all is cool.
okay so if it is nothing more nothing less and someone points out thatthere can be a big issue with this then it should not be a big issue using a safer term should there be?
hazrat is not a term used for god, I dont see too many people walkign around with a dum challa of a title qibla in their name.
Aren't Pakistani muslims - the very religious - always arguing that we should follow the Prophet's sunnah? The term Maulana was used for God in the Prophet's time period, as seen by its use in the Quran.
So when a couple of old geezers use the term and wear a turban on their head, the Quran and Sunnah go out the window?
ease up guys i swear !not a word out of you when it coems to legalizing sharab or music yet maulana takes the case. as i said i havent got full information on it, reason i am doubting it haram or wrong to use the title is because the word been used for several ulemas like ashraf ali thanwi for one. now i was under the impression that you had some scholars declaring it wrong to use the word, i would like to know which scholar and exactly what his words were?
i have browsed through the links that you posted but that is just forum members putting their thoughts on it, no one is referring a solid religious source.
PS:am suffering from fever so if i have missed a link go slow with me.
Hazrat Anas r.a would refer to Hassan Basri as Mawlana.
There is nothing wrong with this word.
What a useless thread.
ease up guys i swear !not a word out of you when it coems to legalizing sharab or music yet maulana takes the case.
lets not go on the tangent of sharab and music. lets focus on the topic at hand.
Maulana is at best doubtful, so if people who are preaching about avoiding stuff that is 'doubtful'. themselves are annointing themselves with titles that are doubtful, its a little dodgy is it not?
as i said i havent got full information on it, reason i am doubting it haram or wrong to use the title is because the word been used for several ulemas like ashraf ali thanwi for one. now i was under the impression that you had some scholars declaring it wrong to use the word, i would like to know which scholar and exactly what his words were?
ashraf ali thanwi was born when? again...how many maulanas are there in the arab world? how many maulanas were there during prophets time, how many people gave them a title or allowed others to give them a title of maulana.
as far as which 'scholar' i have posted the link to the thread which has links to what you are looking for.
Hazrat Anas r.a would refer to Hassan Basri as Mawlana.
There is nothing wrong with this word.
What a useless thread.
yep, when there is no answer its a useless thread.
you failed to answer my question
how many maulanas were there in prophets time
how many maulanas were there in ahle bait at karbala
how many maulanas were at badr, sulah e hudaibiya
ever wonder why there were no maulanas around during or immediately after prophets time?
ever wonder why teh imam ekaba does not have the dum challa of maulana in his name?
how many maulanas were there in prophets time
Sahabas were Maulanas.
Most Maulana then than now.
how many maulanas were there in ahle bait at karbala
Hazrat Hussain was a Mawlana.
how many maulanas were at badr, sulah e hudaibiya
All of them
ever wonder why there were no maulanas around during or immediately after prophets time?
LOL, bahi saab just because they were called Sahabas doesnt mean they are not Maulanas.
Dimag use karo.
^exactly.....Sahabah means companions.
and what does Maulana mean...not companions...does it
khan babay
I dont recall any hadeeth where its attributed to one maulana hearing from another maulana..
I dont recall any maulanas among imam e kaaba ...
why is that, why is it that we dont find any maulanas in that region?
The true meaning of MAULANA
No country uses “Maulana” title: The mullahs have adopted for themselves the honorific title of “Maulana” (which means OUR protector, OUR lord, OUR master) – which has the most serious un-Islamic connotation of placing another WITH the Almighty (SHIRK).
The word “maulana” is a compound word – MAULA and NA (our) which, under strict Islamic philosophy is applicable to God ALONE!
The word is used only twice in the Holy Quran, and refers to Allah Subhaanahoo Wa Ta’aala, indicating that it can be referred only to Him and NO ONE ELSE!
(1) “Rabana…anta MAULANA fansoorna alal qaumil Kaafireen – Our Lord…You are our Protector/ Lord/ Master, so grant us victory over the unbelievers” (2:286).
(2) “Huwa MAULANA; wa alal Laahi fal yatawakkalil Mu’minoon – He (Allah) is our Protector/ Lord/ Master, And on Allah let the Believers rely” (9:51).
The argument is supported by the facts that:
*in no other country in the world this honorific title is used;
Article reproduced by kind permission of Al-Balaagh, South Africa.
Now i believe this is the link? i finally i found it in the thread , you could have posted me the link fraud :hoonh: (would have saved me 20 mins)
This is interesting i have never come across this before. Perhaps people can respond to this.
I posted the link to the thread which had this discussion previously so not only can u find the link but read other posts for and against this as well.