Re: Time to drop the term "Maulana" and start using the term "Mullah"
Thanks for in depth feedaback Sa1eem
Most of the leading characters from "Wafaq-ul-Madaras Arabia" and MMA have exhibited shameful rather treasonous role in the Lal-Masjid action.
Not one of them deserves to be called "Maulana" or "Scholar". From now on they should be called by their name or if you have to, just use Mullah as their title. Mullah is not derogatory, and Persian literature is filled with this term. For example Mullah Nasirud Din.
Peace.
I think we should stall calling General Musharraf either General or President, as he himself has exhibited shameful behavior and treasonous acts. From now on, we should refer to him as either Mr. Musharraf, or even Uncle Musharraf (if you happen to like him).
Peace.
In fact, ulema present this very logic to prove that just arabic recitation of quran without understanding gives sawaab and in line with the intention of of Allah (s.w.t)
yes and thats the mentality most of these mullahs have, learn the odd surat, especially the one on Jihad. How can you claim to KNOW Islam when you have never REALLY read the Quran?
Edit: Infact you can just recite Bismillah on every line and get sawab. So why should one ever bother learning to read some Arabic?
To Fraudia and Mufakkar
I dont want to arugue any further on the word Maulana.
but I do :D if not for you to read then for the other posters to read.
It has been used to show respect and general people do that when they dont know the actual rank of the Aalim. Amongst Ulema, they show respect to each other by calling each other Sheikhul Hadees, Sheikhul Tafseer, Mufti, Muhaddis, Mufassir (and Maulana too)etc.
How many maulanas do you know in arab world? hmmmmmmmmm
and if you want to use a generic term to show respect (when it is earned) why not use mullah?
How many of the imam e kaaba in the last lets say century have used the term maulana for themselves?
How many people were referred to as maulana in the prophet's time? How many scholars of islam in the early few centuries had the title maulana?
You think that only you realized that calling them Maulana might be bringing them next to Sahabi and these Ulama never realized that in last so many hundred years of Indo-muslim history and they were happy about being equal to Sahaba. That is a good one.
Nope others porbably realized too, but were ignored and the mullahs were dheet enough to continue using this self made title.
how many maulanas do you find in the arab world?
You call them Mr. or whatever you want to. People who still think that they should be refered as Maulana or Ulema will do that any way.
people can call these people god for all I care, but it will not make it right ..would it?
yes and thats the mentality most of these mullahs have, learn the odd surat, especially the one on Jihad. How can you claim to KNOW Islam when you have never REALLY read the Quran?
Have YOU??
Most of the leading characters from "Wafaq-ul-Madaras Arabia" and MMA have exhibited shameful rather treasonous role in the Lal-Masjid action.
Not one of them deserves to be called "Maulana" or "Scholar". From now on they should be called by their name or if you have to, just use Mullah as their title. Mullah is not derogatory, and Persian literature is filled with this term. For example Mullah Nasirud Din.
Peace.
remind me, why did you call them maulanas and scholars in the first place?
I dont think they ever desrved those terms, EVER.
Edit: Infact you can just recite Bismillah on every line and get sawab. So why should one ever bother learning to read some Arabic?
What?? Where did I say what you just answered. You seem you be satisfied with your self created explanations. There is no point discussing things with you.
Re: Time to drop the term “Maulana” and start using the term “Mullah”
err… in Arabic with a stick up my arse for every verbal mistake yes, did I learn anything big fat NO. In English yes, did I learn something YES.
What?? Where did I say what you just answered. You seem you be satisfied with your self created explanations. There is no point discussing things with you.
If you read your quote I included in my original post it might help -- or have you got same disease like other Mullah's, namely short memory e.g. no guns, only 14 guns etc...?
Good one (that is not a compliment)
Bhai sahib, you must be new to this forum. Oldies around here know very well that I am the inventor of the choice terms that are everything but Ullu-Ma Mullu-na (there you go! another set of choice terms).
Agreed! Thanks.
In Islam, if you are uncertain about something, aren't you supposed to err on the same side? Therefore, its safer to not use the term Maulana, if there is uncertainty (clearly, there is - just read the thread).
Or do we choose not to listen to certain aspects of our religion when things don't go our way?
i have never heard there was an issue with the usage of word maulana? certainly sounds vain. more info on either side please. as per my knowledge in old times the words, mufti,maulana and such were titles like we give Dr to Phd. why not call Mr or sir? well translate mister into urdu, you get qibla, hazrat ,janab and maulana, i think now these words are used just to show respect. now if one argues qibla is used for khana qabaa then may Allah show them sense.
I am living in Arab word for 32 years and have never met any Arab moulana.
Keep em coming...I am sure there are sayings about mullahs in other languages of Pakistan as well.
When you want to get rid of someone you can say.
Moulana, kal aana.
Croquet bhai, you hit the nail in these terrorist Mullahs' head.
This thread is precisely making this plea against the use of this deceitful term Maulana as they are now proven liars.
They do not deserve any respect. No credible Mullu have come out against Jahannam-raseed Mullu-Rasheed. This simply shows none of these "big beard hazrats" need to be called using a respectful term (even a Mr.). That's all.
peace.
Mr. Vs Maulana
People opposing the word Maulana are the victim of a recent "Fitna" in Pakistan. The word is in use from last 300 years and was never questioned by any and now some college graduates started showing their knowledge of arabic language and Islam by questioning everything.
An effort to degrade Ulema in sub continent is not a new one. It started during British Raj. One example is the use of turban. Gora people knew that all Ulema wear tutban. Just to bring their significance down in the front of public, they ordered all the Waiters in big hotels and in railway dining cars, all chowkidars in govt. buildings to start wearing them.
This new thing about why can’t we call them Mr. is not an opinion, its an effort. They did it in Turkey, Bhutto did that in Pakistan to achieve the same result, namely bring all Ulema’s to the level of common man. I am surprised that no one mentioned the usage of word “SIR”. I think we should respectfully reserve that for Rushdie.
I am not pro-taliban or Jamaati or JUI supporter and one can have political views against them. But when people bring Wafaq and qualified mufti’s in conversation without even knowing about them, that bothers me.
I am not against any body forming an opinion against anyone. But forming an opinion based on Jang Akhbar and U-tube videos is a proof of narrow mindedness and stupidity.
At the end, if you think that it’s the right thing to do than its OK with me. But remember, as a Muslim we believe that right and wrong has no value unless it helps you to be successful in Akhirat (after life). If me calling them maulana and you calling them Mr. is going to help according to standards set by Shariah then it should be OK for you to call them Mr.
I am living in Arab word for 32 years and have never met any Arab moulana.
Dude, you have been hanging out with wrong arabs, you should be hanging out with arabs in shalwar kameez :D
Mr. Vs Maulana
People opposing the word Maulana are the victim of a recent "Fitna" in Pakistan. The word is in use from last 300 years and was never questioned by any and now some college graduates started showing their knowledge of arabic language and Islam by questioning everything.
So what? if the generations before us were making mistakes should we follow the same? The people before us never questioned it because maybe they did not have the guts/balls to do so. Still it does not make it right.
This new thing about why can’t we call them Mr. is not an opinion, its an effort. They did it in Turkey, Bhutto did that in Pakistan to achieve the same result, namely bring all Ulema’s to the level of common man. I am surprised that no one mentioned the usage of word “SIR”. I think we should respectfully reserve that for Rushdie.
Are you implying that tese so-called mullah are not common man? Then who do you think they are prophet? angels? or what?
At the end, if you think that it’s the right thing to do than its OK with me. But remember, as a Muslim we believe that right and wrong has no value unless it helps you to be successful in Akhirat (after life). If me calling them maulana and you calling them Mr. is going to help according to standards set by Shariah then it should be OK for you to call them Mr.
I 100% think that we need to remove these people from pedestals and treat them like any normal person.