TIME’s Aryn Baker Discusses Imran Khan’s Chances of Becoming Pakistan’s PM

The following is a realistic assessment of Imran Khan’s political chances. I support him but don’t expect him to get more than 10-15 seats in the next election (even that is a big if). He might do well after 5 years

PML-N is looking strong at present.

Behind the Story: TIME’s Aryn Baker Discusses Imran Khan’s Chances of Becoming Pakistan’s Prime Minister | TIME.com

Opinion polls in Pakistan consistently show that Imran Khan, the former captain of his country’s cricket team, is by far the most popular politician in Pakistan. Frustratingly for Khan and his supporters, it is not popular support that matters in Pakistan’s political system but patronage and feudal power. But even though most political analysts say Khan’s popularity will be almost impossible to turn into real political power, the charismatic leader of a party that currently has no seats in parliament believes his populist message and appeal to middle-class and young voters will help him and his party overcome entrenched voting blocs. He is convinced that he will win a parliamentary majority—and the position of Prime Minister—in next year’s elections.
TIME’s Middle East bureau chief Aryn Baker, who covers both Pakistan and Afghanistan, interviewed Khan for her magazine story on the sporting hero who believes his greatest glories lie ahead of him. TIME spoke with Baker to get the story behind the story.
(**TIME COVER STORY: **Imran Khan’s Game Plan)

If Imran Khan is, as you say in the article, a “long shot,” what drew you to profiling him?
He is a long shot but he is also pretty compelling–he has international stature as a cricket star and was married to this drop-dead gorgeous socialite. There is that side of him, and then there is that part of why he is a long shot that is so revealing about the way the **Pakistani political system works. It is not ****based on popularity. He would win by a landslide if it were based on his popularity. He is an unmitigated hero because he brought Pakistan the Cricket World Cup in 1992. Politics in Pakistan does not work that way, however; it is much more of a “what can you get for me” culture, what you can do for individuals in each village. **He is also one of those people as a journalist you want to talk to because he is so quotable, he is likely to say something off-kilter.

He seems very willing to engage with international media, but what about with the local media, many of whom have derided or openly mocked him?
When I interviewed him the first time, earlier this year, there were journalists lined up behind me and there were three or four photographers trying to take his photo. He likes attention. Even back in 2007 and 2008 when I saw him he had a kind of open house; anyone could go to his office and speak to him. He likes to have his voice heard, he is very active on Twitter, more so than any other Pakistani politician.
However, a lot of the English-language media see him as a kind of dumb jock. He’s similar to Reagan in that way; Reagan was kind of a dumb jock too but he was an effective politician partly because he seems to have known his weaknesses and surrounded himself with competent people. Khan has good technocrats for dealing with the media, his economic policies, his energy policy and so on. He has street smarts, but you cannot be an intellectual and an idealist at the same time.
(**VIDEO: **10 Questions for Imran Khan)

How does his international reputation–for example he made the TIME 100 list this year–play out in Pakistan? Does that work in his favor?
I think Pakistanis like that they are getting attention for something other than terrorism and corrupt politics. He doesn’t appeal to the English-speaking class–they are terrified of him and regard him as somewhat of an apologist for the Taliban. The middle-class voters love him however because of his rhetoric about wanting to take America to an international tribune for drone attacks; they want politicians to stand up to the U.S. He is quite popular in the Urdu media, which is more representative of the middle class.

Given his many statements against U.S. drone strikes and his criticism of U.S. policy in Pakistan, what kind of relationship does he envisage he will have with the United States if he did come to power?
I don’t get the sense that he’s really thought that through. He uses very populist sentiments. I was sitting on a conference call with him and a moderator suggested that he sounded anti-American, to which he responded, no, you can’t be anti-geography. He said he is anti-drone-strikes. But he never takes these arguments further; he never takes it a step beyond to address the complexity of what is involved.
He once said to me that he believes Pakistan needs to stop receiving U.S. aid, that it is a crutch. It stood out to me as a clear illustration of the extent to which he does not think things through. There is no way Pakistan could survive at the moment without American aid, but he just thinks it is getting in the way of figuring out how they will stand up on their own.

Have you been to any of his rallies? What is the atmosphere like?
It’s like a pop concert; people are thrilled and energized to be there. A lot of political parties traditionally bus in supporters; they give them a little lunch box, and it’s all part of the political theater. But at Imran Khan’s rallies people seem to show up on their own, they want to be there. These aren’t the people you usually see at rallies—from the countryside—they are well dressed and have come there to have a good time, to talk to people of the same mind-set. There’s a different kind of energy there.

What struck you most about the supporters of his that you met?
I think there is such a hunger in Pakistan for a hero, for a new face. People believe it will bring in a new political system. They have a hunger for change and believe in the idea that change in itself will fix the country. When I asked his supporters about this, asking what they thought of his undeveloped policies, their response was that it didn’t matter, what’s most important is change.
(**LIST: **Should Imran Khan Have Made the TIME 100 of 2012?)

What do you think his chances are in the elections next year?
He is very charismatic—that is something that should be remarked on. He is the only politician in Pakistan who has the ability to engage with voters on a personal level. There are no other politicians there who are able to do that. But the system is stacked against him. There are two or three parties who have entrenched themselves in power. If he does well he could get enough seats to build some momentum, which could eventually bring enough representatives who are then able to put in the elbow grease to deliver at the village level. Once his party has been in parliament in significant numbers for long enough, maybe in a few years, then he can perhaps do well in the next election.

Re: TIME’s Aryn Baker Discusses Imran Khan’s Chances of Becoming Pakistan’s Prime Min

If he doesn't win these elections, I believe it could well be his last chance as he is over 60 now and in 5 years time he would be over 65. People fed up with the pmln government would be looking towards PPP again (as the current tenure would have faded from the people's memory by that time).

Re: TIME’s Aryn Baker Discusses Imran Khan’s Chances of Becoming Pakistan’s Prime Min

65 is not that old in Politics. Hillary Clinton (will be 69 in 2016) might become the next US President

^ you are right but its Imran khan versus sharifs (hamza and maryam being prepared) and bhuttos (bilawal). Pti is Imran khan, where as the other personal fiefdoms are preparing their younger generation for ruling the country in the coming years.

Besides if the people vote for the same parties in the next elections, what will compel them to vote for Pti in the next?

I believe that saying the truth is more important than trying to be a populist leader. Because when the goal is only to be a populist leader then the person says what people want to hear, which may not be the best thing for the country. It is not just Imran, rather this is what all our popular leaders do.
I don't recall any of these leaders taking a stand which would hurt them in getting popular votes in anyway. And this includes Imran.

IMRAN, THE SIMPLETON:
That interview shows the same simpleton side of Imran Khan which I have been saying all along. His views are unrealistic and naive. And it is amazing why people don't challenge him for such nonsense.

**Given his many statements against U.S. drone strikes and his criticism of U.S. policy in Pakistan, what kind of relationship does he envisage he will have with the United States if he did come to power?
**I don’t get the sense that he’s really thought that through. He uses very populist sentiments. I was sitting on a conference call with him and a moderator suggested that he sounded anti-American, to which he responded, no, you can’t be anti-geography. He said he is anti-drone-strikes. But he never takes these arguments further; he never takes it a step beyond to address the complexity of what is involved.
He once said to me that he believes Pakistan needs to stop receiving U.S. aid, that it is a crutch. It stood out to me as a clear illustration of the extent to which he does not think things through. There is no way Pakistan could survive at the moment without American aid, but he just thinks it is getting in the way of figuring out how they will stand up on their own.

IMRAN, THE KHAAB-FAROSH:
Right now Imran's stars have risen relatively higher due to incompetence of present government. He is selling Pakistanis impossible dreams, and most people are naively buying them.

**What struck you most about the supporters of his that you met?
**I think there is such a hunger in Pakistan for a hero, for a new face. People believe it will bring in a new political system. They have a hunger for change and believe in the idea that change in itself will fix the country. When I asked his supporters about this, asking what they thought of his undeveloped policies, their response was that it didn’t matter, what’s most important is change.

If current economic mayhem is the reason people want to vote for a change then vote for a person in whose tenure Pakistan saw rapid economic growth. Yes, I am talking about Musahrraf's APML.

So please don't make it sound like there are no other options besides PTI for bringing the change in the country.

economically musharrafs rule was better no doubt, but at the same time he was a dictator who mishandled fata and balochistan. Besides he needs to be in Pakistan first thats another thing if he prefers to become another Altaf Hussain.

But there is also a wider cultural problem.

People need to change as well and stop voting for corrupt people. Let’s face it. Blacks and Desis in general are very dishonest and chakkarbaaz races. There are some dodgy people among Whites as well but the vast majority (80%+) are law abiding citizens

For the vast majority of Pakistanis, Islam is all about just dikhawa (praying, fasting, the way you (esp. women) dress) and shameless selfishness (bas apna sab kuch theek ho jaye, apney bachey best schools mein jayein, apna ghar acha ho, apni gaari achi ho, apni job achi ho chahe uss k liye rishwat, sifarish aur hera pheri hee kyon na karni parey!!)

They invoke religion in eveything, yet feel absolutely no shame in taking rishwat or seeking someone’s sifarish

They don’t even mend their ways when they move to another country. Here in the UK many blacks and desis are claiming illegal benefits from the state (i.e. in full time job but at the same time claiming unemployment benefits/social security) some of them have been named and shamed in the newspapers

And it is not just politicians. Many people in privileged positions abuse their power khwah woh army brigadier ya general ho, DIG ya IG police ho, businessman ho, judge ho, journalist ho, bureaucrat ho ya doctor ho

sirif Zardari ya NS ko gaalian deney sey kuch nahi hoga. That is like just scratching the tip of the iceberg.** jab tak log khud theek nahin houn gey iss mulk ka kuch nahi ho sakta.**

An honest culture simply does not exist in Pakistan. Everything is possible if you have good contacts or know someone in a privileged position. Corruption and nepotism run from generation to generation. Most people are corrupt and their parents are the same (sad but true) and so it goes. Schools should run courses on ethics and morality

Khuda ney aaj tak uss qaum ki haalat nahin badli
na ho jisko khayaal aap apni haalat ke badalne ka

Look at Turkey’s Erdogan. An honest and sincere leader can make a huge difference.

Aryn Baker is a Lafafa journalist, I hate you die die die.

I don't disagree with you there. I absolutely do not agree with Imran's position wrt Taliban.

But you also missed the most important bit in her opening answer

"Pakistani political system **works. It is not ****based on popularity. He would win by a landslide if it were based on his popularity. He is an unmitigated hero because he brought Pakistan the Cricket World Cup in 1992. Politics in Pakistan does not work that way, however; it is much more of a “what can you get for me” culture, what you can do for individuals in each village."

**i.e. corrupt people will always vote for corrupt people. Therein lies the problem

Age is just the number it doesn't matter here.

IK real problem is something else, it would be better for him and Pakistan that he became part of existing political structure, befriend and change the system with viable and workable solutions instead of tsunami and thunder storms.

IK can easily be the best minister of foreign affairs with some grooming or sports minister ... Start from the first step maybe in 5/10 years he can become PM or President... being President means just a figurehead but so what help strengthen the institution.

their is a beautiful and recommended book I am reading these days "why nations fall" - its the system and institutions which become the ultimate downfall of any nation not culture, economy or decline in wealth, IK should continue to use his skills in welfare & education sector help making the next breed of leaders take on current political order with full force.

Re: TIME’s Aryn Baker Discusses Imran Khan’s Chances of Becoming Pakistan’s PM

^ ^ You make some valid points firenze. IK wants to change the political culture which is his biggest challenge (party elections, solo flights etc). And we as a nation are not ready for ideal democracy and I dont think we will ever be ready as a nation.

IK has some idealist logic (you can call it stupid or whatever) that we need to invest in people by educating them about what they are missing (civic sense, democratic rights, human rights etc) AND build institutions as a country is built on institutions.

But this is why he and his party is a long shot. People are not against him. Its the 65 year old political culture that may be his biggest obstacle in way to power.

p.s. brilliant analysis by the author and suitable title (most polarizing figure) :)

I am sorry to say that I disagree with this statement wholeheartedly.

To say that majority of Pakistanis vote for corrupt people because they are themselves corrupt, is a highly condescending statement.

And did not really miss the point that point about popularity. It is not just Pakistan where personal popularity alone matters less for people than a person's performance and ideas. I don't know why Baker thinks Imran's fame would be enough for his political success.

I think Imran is not able to make a breakthrough because many people still have faith in Nawaz/Shahbaz duo.

Is there really a single party in Pakistan about whom people have absolutely NO reservations at all? Of course not.
So obviously people will have criticism for Musharraf as well. But are these criticisms bigger than the economic prosperity of the country?

If people can give benefit of doubt to the likes of Imran, Nawaz, and Zardari, then a leader with proven record of bringing economic prosperity deserves more of that benefit than anyone of the above.

The point is here is not to defend APML but to say that there are other choices available besides PTI for people who don't want to vote for PPP or PMLN. Besides APML there are other parties too, like ANP or MQM.

Agree Musharraf (from 1999-2003) was good for the country

So you reckon he can ever come to Pakistan?

Asif:

Agree Musharraf (from 1999-2003) was good for the country

^ That's right. He should have left maximum by 2005. He is a smart guy who used to talk of ground realities. But he failed to see the ground reality of people's mood when he went against Iftikhar Chaudhry and tried to lengthen his rule.

Now people remember him as the one who opposed Iftikhar Chaudhry and don't want to remember how satisfied they were economically. Pakistan was going forward with the same pace as India, and there was hope in the eyes of people.

But "democracy" took its revenge on us.

I don't know. But certainly not while Iftikhar Chaudhry is around.

^ that essentially means, not the next elections, and hence out of politics for the next 5 years of course. Besides he is a very very polarizing figure, I dont think if Balochistan will approve of him. he has made a lot of enemies in the country, therefore he will have to think really hard before returning.