Thousands rally for peace, Shariah in Swat

A rally in Swat … calling on the government for stopping of military action in Swat valley. Is there “local” support for these RAW sponsored terrorists which the government is fighting ???

Thousands rally for peace, Shariah in Swat - GEO.tv

MINGORA: Thousands of people on Friday marched through streets of Mingora to demand an end to the ongoing military operation in restive Swat valley.

Despite heavy rains, thousands of protestors gathered in Odigram area, on the outskirts of Mingora to register their protest.

They called for government to immediately halt the military operation and make all out efforts for the restoration of peace in the troubled valley.

The protestors were holding placards and banners inscribed with slogans of Shariah. They chanted slogans in support of Shariah law

thats it .. i suspict it from very earlier that talibans have support of locals thats why they have so strong hold over swat..otherwise in places where people have not support talibans r rid of them like buner and dir..
people of swat ! may God bless u with taliban's sharia..enjoy life revolving around beard and burka..

Re: Thousands rally for peace, Shariah in Swat

Yes! They have a popular support. Give them independence and seal the borders. Live them their way.

You Indians are a clever bunch… You must have sent Sikhs to infiltrate the valley and convince people to side with terrorists.

And then you wonder why the Pak govt send terrorists to India!

it seems to be official now.. pakistan govt have bowed down to Taliban… it’s said for democracy..pakistan.. and india as well..

Taleban fighters in north-west Pakistan’s restive Swat valley have announced a 10-day ceasefire. The move came after local officials signed a deal with a militant leader to enforce Islamic law in the district.

BBC NEWS | World | South Asia | Taleban announces Swat ceasefire

yes, sikhs, uzbeks, chechens.. but never is it the fault of pakistan's murky policy of using islamists gone bad.. bhai, amir-ul-momineen zia ul haq aur ISI ki fasal kat rahi hai.

well, now that Sharia law has been approved by Zardari I think that is the best move by the govt on this crisis. Like you said, let them live there lives under sharia law. And I'll say this now, in a couple of months to a year after sharia law enforcement, we'll see people of the valley trying to break free of some of the restrictions, i.e. barbers will resume shaving beards, women will start going to bazaar without their man (still in burka though obviously). This is how human nature is, your cant bind people by such strict and harsh regulations, they'll eventually break free. What man wants to go grocery shopping with his wife after a hard day of work? let her go by herself.

Pakistani Army defeated in Swat

The Pakistani Army is a total disgrace.

Not only have they failed utterly to establish any sense of control over the border but criminal elements have effectively taken over large chunks of Pakistan forming a quasi governments and forcing the government and army into surrender.

Pakistan is a total disaster.

Pakistan truce includes enforcement of Islamic law

By NAHAL TOOSI, Associated Press Writer Nahal Toosi, Associated Press Writer – 7 mins ago

ISLAMABAD – Pakistani officials closed in on a peace deal with a Taliban-linked group Sunday that could lead to enforcement of Islamic law in a part of the country that is supposed to be fully under government control. Militants in the Swat Valley responded by declaring a 10-day cease-fire as a goodwill gesture.

The agreement is expected to be formally announced Monday — and draw criticism from the United States, which has said such deals merely give insurgents time to regroup.

Several past deals with militants have failed, but Pakistan says force alone cannot defeat al-Qaida and Taliban fighters wreaking havoc in its northwest and attacking U.S. troops in neighboring Afghanistan.

Regaining the Swat Valley from militants is a major test for Pakistan’s shaky civilian leadership. Unlike the semiautonomous tribal regions where al-Qaida and Taliban have long thrived, the former tourist haven is supposed to be under full government control.

But militants have gained power since a peace deal last year collapsed within months, and violence has increased.

Provincial government leaders confirmed they were talking to a pro-Taliban group about ways to impose Islamic judicial practices in the Malakand division, which includes Swat.

The Swat Taliban’s version of Islamic law is especially harsh. They have declared a ban on female education, forced women to stay mostly indoors and clamped down on many forms of entertainment.

Taliban spokesman Muslim Khan said the militants would adhere to any deal reached with the group if Islamic law is implemented in the region.

He also announced the 10-day cease-fire.

“We reserve the right to retaliate if we are fired upon,” he said. “Once Islamic law is imposed, there will be no problems in Swat. The Taliban will lay down their arms.”

Khan also said the militants had freed a Chinese engineer held captive for nearly six months. Long Xiaowei was freed Saturday, days before a planned visit to China by Pakistani President Asif Ali Zardari.

Provincial law minister Arshad Abdullah said the deal would require the pro-Taliban group to convince the militants to first give up violence. Then existing laws governing the justice system can be amended or enforced, he said.

“They have to succumb to law,” Abdullah said. “They have to put down their arms.”

Past deals required militants to stop fighting but eventually unraveled amid militant complaints that the government was not meeting their demands.

The pro-Taliban group — known as the Tehrik Nifaz-e-Shariat Mohammedi, or the Movement for the Enforcement of Islamic Law — is led by Sufi Muhammad, who Pakistan freed from custody last year after he renounced violence.

Muhammad is the father-in-law of Maulana Fazlullah, the leader of the Swat Taliban. Muhammad, who has long agitated for Islamic law in the region, said that after the formal announcement he will go to Swat and ask Fazlullah and his men to lay down their arms.

A broad peace deal reached last year with Fazlullah’s militants effectively collapsed within a few months, and Pakistani security officials blame that agreement for the militants’ gains in Swat since then. The deal was supposed to let religious scholars advise judges in the courts, but the agreement encountered obstacles, said Mian Iftikhar Hussain, information minister for North West Frontier Province.

An Islamic judicial system is a concession to the insurgents, but it is also a long-standing demand of many civilians in the conservative region who are dissatisfied with the inefficient secular justice system.

Hussain noted that the Swat Taliban had responded well to the talks, but he warned that if “someone does not agree and does not adopt the way of dialogue, the government would be compelled to use force to establish its authority.”

Pakistan has tried to avoid negotiating directly with militants, often using tribal elders as intermediaries.

Pakistan Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi deflected concerns about a negative U.S. reaction to the talks, insisting the country was reaching out to peaceful groups.

“We are not compromising with militants, instead trying to isolate the militants, and for that I do not think America will have any objection,” he said.

Deteriorating security in the nuclear-armed country has included a string of attacks on foreigners.

U.N. officials said Sunday they were still trying to establish contact with the kidnappers of an American employee seized Feb. 2 in the southwest city of Quetta. On Friday, John Solecki’s kidnappers threatened to kill him within 72 hours and issued a 20-second video of the blindfolded captive.

It was unclear exactly when the deadline would expire, and U.N. officials said Sunday they were still trying to establish contact with the kidnappers, who identify themselves as the previously unknown Baluchistan Liberation United Front. The name indicates the group is more likely linked to separatists than to Islamists.

These people have given lives and taken lives for this .... do you think they will allow anyone to break the sharia law !!!!!!! After they are done in their areas ... do you think they are going to let rest of Pakistan be under the influence of "devil" and live unislamic lives ...... these are not people who give up because the government of Pakistan has "agreed" to their demands ...... they have a long way to go !!!!!!

:lifey:
I see some getting smarter when no one is looking. lolzz

Re: Pakistani Army defeated in Swat

What a sensational headline :hehe:

In case you didn’t know Swat had shariah before all this started and it was very peaceful, people were happy, justice was served quick, and Swat was one of THE most desired and visited tourist destinations. So we can hope with the re-implementation of Shariah, those days will soon return.

Why are people so afraid of Shariah? It’s a part of Islam, and muslims should desire Shariah. If it’s successful there, who knows, other people “the public” in other parts of the country may want it too. Let the people decide what they want.

Just because a few don’t like it, doesn’t mean it shouldn’t be pursued.

Personally, i think it was as a result of give and take. Govt too must have had some of its demands met by “them” in order to do this, and we can say with some confidence that those demands were put forth by or with the help of armed forces who are more aware of ground realities than the Armchair Generals we have on the internet. :dannyboy:

Be very careful–when talking about the GREAT PAK ARMY…son!

Right on Vig.

You got no justice in Pakistan. You got corrupted leaders looting the country where ever the gov't and Zardari's cronies are. Hopefully people is Swat allow education to girls in Swat and the place can prosper again. I have a feeling U.S. will drop a bomb on or near Swat or call Zardari into the 'whipping office' and the peace negotiations will fail.

Yes surely there was “give” and “take” … Pakistan army gave it and the Taliban took it …

i don’t know what was the assement of the army … last month they were claiming that had “almost” wiped out the militants …

Army claims success in Swat operation: Militancy almost wiped out

Army claims success in Swat operation: Militancy almost wiped out -DAWN - Top Stories; January 17, 2008

The army claimed on Wednesday success of the military operation it had launched in the Swat valley to eradicate armed militants.

He said the district administration was gaining confidence as the writ of the government had been established. He expressed the hope that peace and normal life would soon return to the valley once regarded as the best tourist resort in the country

Lauding the role of the people of Swat, he said the local support was forthcoming and the presence of military was welcomed

These were the key points in the Maj-Gen Pasha’s press brief last month … now after less then 30 days, they have been proved wrong on all three counts !!!

Don't you worry about that.

good decision in my opinion..let respect wish of swati people. if army fight 4 decades in swat, it cant win over talibans as long as locals r wid talibans, so its a natural step by governament.
we can go sharia in swat as we also have other systems as well like FATA, PATA, FR etc in NWFP.
i have observed that people of swat are of very subjugative nature compared to other pashtuns. so may b they r not showing reaction against out of weakness?

Did Pakistan army get a "RAW" deal in Swat? :)

Now where do you stand in terms of Tehreek e Taliban ... is it still a RAW sponsored stooge ...... as you seem to indicate (and a number of Guppies too) in your earlier posts or they are a reality that you were wishing away all this time ?????

Re: Thousands rally for peace, Shariah in Swat

I think this thread should be merged with this one >>> http://www.paklinks.com/gs/pakistan-affairs/311930-pakistani-army-defeated-swat.html

They both talk about the same topic.

PAKISTAN ARMY MUST STOP THE OPERATION AGAINST PAKHTOONS

^^ Pakhtoons must kick out foreign terrorists, stop attacking NATO forces in Afghanistan, abide under the rule of law of Pak government....

if they can do these simple things, then sure, if not, they deserve to die