Youd know about the nick if you ever played king of fighters. Btw u still owe me milk if you know wat im talkin about :p
yea mehran is old .. the engine in it n stuff. Id say before eating ur breakfast in the morning just start it up and leave it there running for 5 or so mins . Dont give it too much gas , although driving around at real low rpm is okay too i guess.
ab-e-hayat CHACHA JI i have already gotten training and I am a VERY GOOD driver MASHALLAH
iori yagami DANG … I can’t remember for the life of me A faint bell is ringing in my brain but I can’t point to anything
please enlighten me??? are you a multi nick? what’s your other nick?
Iori, I scraped it past the parked vehicle - I was quite impressed taht i’d onl;y broken my wheel trim … the sound it made I thought I’d mashed up both cars.
irem, you are so lucky! i’ve sat millions of tests before and nothing comes close to being as nerve wracking as the driving test. It was the first (and hopefully the last) time I ever got worked up about something. I should have just moved to Pakistan :sigh:
I’m using this nick cuz my sobi nick doesn’t work on chat, adn I couldn’t be botheerd to log out.
you can shift gears anywhere up from 2000 rpm to the safety limit. if you shift by sound, you are most likely shifting around 2500. the higher you rev before you shift up, the more acceleration you get. if you shift low, you get a bit more fuel efficiency. but if you shift at too low an rpm, your engine’s gonna do the cough-knock thing, and this is real bad for it.
while braking you dont need to press the clutch until u reach the lower range of speed for that particular gear. this is easier on your brakes too.
i wouldnt skip gears while shifting up unless it were a down slope. high gears at low rpm is an easy way to kill your engine steadily.
also you can save your brake pads when you need to control your speed while on a downhill road by just downshifting and leaving it on a lower gear and letting that limit the speed.
Gobi bibi, if you can get the clutch plate burning while you are stationary, you must be real good.
queerio, well not exactly stationary ... you know when you're moving uphill at like 2 MPH, and have to stop every few yards ... my instructor taught me to use the break, but its so much effort na, and I can't afford an automatic.
Sadi Sobi i see
well how about u make a license in Pak and then use that as an international license in the UK? that worked for some friends of mine in the US
is that gona work for u?
yeh Irem, that’s what most of the Mirpuri people do, but us Patwaris have istyle plus I could never forgive myself if I ended up causing an accident, because deep down I’d know I wasn’t good enough to drive on UK roads. Anyway, i managed to pass the damn thing - 3rd time :o
When your car is cold and you need to start it, and it doesn’t start coz its cold, how do you warm it? By pulling the choke and/or pressing the accelerator (I think in America its called the gas pedal? not sure)? How does this affect the batterry life/engine of the car?
Everyone tells me something different.
**I’ve never tried it cuz ive never had an old car but u pull the choke I think **
When you start your car in 1st gear, how long do you drive it in first gear before switching to the 2nd gear? I mean can one keep driving it in 1st gear if the speed is very slow or should one always switch to 2nd gear in 2/3 minutes?
** I drive in first gear till about 5mph …then move up…but it depends whether ur going uphill or down etc…so its best to just listen to the sound of the engine and see how the car feels. **
How do you tell which speed of the car tallies with which gear? Like when do you know that you should now change from 3rd to 4th? I can’t tell.
** I change to 3rd around 20mph…and fourth around 25/30mph…again u can feel when u need to change **
I can never get the hang of using the side mirrors (at the base of the front seat windows) to check the cars coming on the side, I always look in the mirror above my head or else actually turn my face to look (which I know is not safe). Are there any tips for this? make it a habit…
When you switch gears, do you switch when you are PLANNING to increase/decrease speed or do you switch AFTER you’ve already started driving at the new speed? Like, if you’re going really fast and need to slow down, do you first hit the brake and then change the gear, or vice versa?
** I do both at the same time **
Whenever you press the brake do you ALSO press the clutch? I always do, specially if the car is at slow speed, coz then otherwise it can also stop. But someone was telling me this is not necessary at all and the clutch should be pressed ONLY when you want to change gears. yeah I press clutch but only after pressing the brake
I think I’m not a bad driver except I’m a lil rash/fast and take unneccessary risks. I should be a lil more careful and safe BUT its too much fun
**all i can say is that im not a typical woman driver…I have learnt tips from my brother…that says enough **
iori yagama heheeh
I am good alhamdulillah how u been and what u upto?
Impulse thanks for the reply…
dude, i know what you mean about “typical female drivers” lol, i try to avoid ladies on the road too :o shhhh aapas kee baat hae
Well, to answer ALL your questions, I would say, “You need expereince.” Ye sab khud hi samajh jao gi 2/3 years tak roz drive karo. To change gear, concentrate on the sound of the engine. There is no specific point when you have to. Spend most of your time driving if you want to master. Practice makes perfect. I used to drive manaual when my office was closed to home but now it is too far and it is tiring for 1+ hour(s) twice daily so I got an automatic. Personally, I used to tell my dad, “Lazy and old people like to drive automatic.” Now I feel older myself