Those who Drive

Guys

Tell me what you think about the following. I am talking about a GEARS waali , STICK SHIFT car jo normally Pakistan mein hoti haen.

1. When your car is cold and you need to start it, and it doesn’t start coz its cold, how do you warm it? By pulling the choke and/or pressing the accelerator (I think in America its called the gas pedal? not sure)? How does this affect the batterry life/engine of the car?
    Everyone tells me something different.

2. When you start your car in 1st gear, how long do you drive it in first gear before switching to the 2nd gear? I mean can one keep driving it in 1st gear if the speed is very slow or should one always switch to 2nd gear in 2/3 minutes?

3. How do you tell which speed of the car tallies with which gear? Like when do you know that you should now change from 3rd to 4th? I can’t tell.

4. I can never get the hang of using the side mirrors (at the base of the front seat windows) to check the cars coming on the side, I always look in the mirror above my head or else actually turn my face to look (which I know is not safe). Are there any tips for this?

5. When you switch gears, do you switch when you are PLANNING to increase/decrease speed or do you switch AFTER you’ve already started driving at the new speed? Like, if you’re going really fast and need to slow down, do you first hit the brake and then change the gear, or vice versa?

6. Whenever you press the brake do you ALSO press the clutch? I always do, specially if the car is at slow speed, coz then otherwise it can also stop. But someone was telling me this is not necessary at all and the clutch should be pressed ONLY when you want to change gears.

7. If your car does not start normally, what is the standard way to start it? (Apart from dhakka heheh) Something to do with accelerator and 2nd gear, but I’m not sure what.

Hmmm. I think that’s it. Might ask more later :slight_smile:

BTW, what type of driver are you?

I think I’m not a bad driver except I’m a lil rash/fast and take unneccessary risks. I should be a lil more careful and safe BUT its too much fun :smiley:

Hmmmm. BTW uptil now I've made two driving blunders:

1) I drove the car for about 10 minutes after starting  with the handbrake pulled up :eek: (meri bichari car :( ). I only realised it was not down when I was pressing the brake and it wouldn't budge. 
  1. I had pulled the choke to warm up the car when starting and forgot to push it back. After driving for 20 minutes it started kinda jumping and then it just stopped on the main road :o And all the people were honking from behind. It was totally embarrassing. My cell phone was not even charged so I couldn’t call my dad/bro/cousin either so I was on my own. I could have gotten out and asked for help but it was so embarrasing so I just kept trying to start it and alhamdulillah although with great difficulty it did start and got me home. When my dad looked at it he saw that the choke was pulled :o

My most hated situation is when there is an upward slope and there is a traffic signal. (Karachi guppies: Abdullah Shah Ghazi mazaar, the Point ke saamnay walay road pe ye scene hae aur Sunset Boulevard/Gizri kee taraf anay walay road pe) When the signal turns green then its a real skill to take the car forward instantly and make sure the car doesn’t go back.

Driving in Karachi is INSANE but its lots and lots and lots of fun. I’m really loving it :smiley: I don’t have a music system in the car YET though but I’m gonna get it next month. I’m making up by singing to myself so far lol, for some reason driving makes me feel really happy.

Khayr, do share some of your driving blunders/challenges/tips etc as well.

Re: Those who Drive

“and once i was angry and driving soi was in reverse gear and i banged it into a wall , but that was partly intentional.”

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

KYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!! INTENTIONAL???

omg…!!! DS!!! ya Allah :smack: :hehe:

p.s. I think young guys are all a bit fast. Mera chota bhai bhee BOHT fast gaari chalata hae and I also sometimes get scared sitting with him BUT he has excellent control of the car. If you can balance those two things then its okay, otherwise one should be careful.

just buy automatic bus!

acrobi Pak kee saRkon ke lyay automatic is not recommended, and I think its also too expensive.

Irem there are not hard and fast rule for gears (1, 2, 3, 4) but then again ti does not mean you gotta drive the car in only one. but i would recommend for you.

1st gear = speed 15 then switch to 2nd gear.
2nd gear = speed 35 then switch to 3rd gear.
3rd gear = speed 50 in city then switch to 4th, otherwise 60 if driving on shahra -e- ie;f faisal then at 60.

and warming up the car hehe dont need alot just let it run for 2/3 minutes before leaving and in winter only 5-8 minutes.

P.S: dont stick your eyes to the meter, warna like my sis she totalled the house gate flat on the zameen

expensive sure thing but sarkoon kay liya theek not agree to that!
but my personal opinion if I have a choice I will by gear/stickshift :smiley:

thanx acrobi
My dad told me to do that too, ie to press the accelerator for some time before turning the car off.
But Suzuki Mehran ka ye masla hae, it needs to get warmed up when starting.

p/s/ exactly, stick shift is for the REAL drivers :smooth: automatic toh bachon k lyay hae :smiley:

I can’t answer all your questions, because I always drive automatic cars, but I know the answers to a couple

1. When your car is cold, use the accelerator to warm it up. This has no impact on the battery and as long as your car has the correct engine oil level in it it won’t affect the life of the engine.

2. and 3) and 5) I can’t believe you learnt to drive without knowing these :eek: I’m gonna feel scared with you on the roads :crying:

You keep an eye on the tachometer and listen to the engine to know when to change gears. Basically, If your engine is having more than about 4500 revolutions per minute then you should change up a gear. If your engine isn’t giving you enough pull then shift down a gear. Bear in mind that you use more fuel at higher rpms, so most people change up as soon as possible. The downside to early upshifts is that your car won’t pull as strongly.

1. To use the side mirrors, look briefly towards them. The idea is that they allow you to maintain forward vision whilst seeing behind you, so try to avoid pointing your whole head at them. You should just flick your eyeballs at them every couple of seconds to be aware of what’s around you. If changing lanes, then briefly look over your shoulder to check your blind spot.

hehhe thanks MS :smiley:

and don’t you worry you’ll be safe when I’m driving…like totally :smooth:

So you DO look over your shoulder when changing lanes. Cool.

And how exactly do I tell the revolutions of the engine??? :smack: I think woh awaz se pata chalta hae engine kee haena?

Does your car have a tachometer? A big dial on the dashboard next to the speedometer numbered from about 0 to 6? That’s what you use to tell when to change gears. If you don’t have one of those, then all you can do is listen to how the engine is sounding.

I dont think it has a tachometer MS, dekhon gi next time waise, kadi note nai kya but I dont think it has one.

Yes I was told to listen to the engine noise. Jab gaari "grrrrr grrrrr" karay toh gear change karnay ka time ho gya hae was what I was told :D I haven't gotten the hang of this yet though.

Here's a photo of my car's dash with the tachometer labelled.

[thumb=H]dash6283_5787637.JPG[/thumb]

I can never get the hang of using the side mirrors (at the base of the front seat windows) to check the cars coming on the side, I always look in the mirror above my head or else actually turn my face to look (which I know is not safe). Are there any tips for this?

^^ for this wasay its useless to use the side mirrors in KHI, and plz dont turn your head left-right this is not USA where you have to do shoulder checks. but if you are tacky like me who likes to use the side mirrors when driving just for fun. well adust it enough where you can see a bit of your car side and one car in the mirror, otherwise check your mirror above head and give indicator.

and tip/ or tips is have a ride in rickshaw from teen talwar to Saddar and back and observe how the rickshaw wala drives :P :D I am sure you know that

hmmmm

MS nai nai hae meri gaari mein i think

bas speedometer aur fuel-meter hae

plz Irem dont fall for that tach-shaq ;) trust me, next thing you will know is that you will need a calculator too :p

acrobi heheheheeh @ rickshaw wala :D

choke????
clutch????
manual gears????

kon se zamaane ki garri le lee beta????

UNCLE isi zamanay kee hae alhamdulillah :p

Real drivers drive REAL cars aho.

i dont drive those automatic khilonay wali bachon ki gaddiz ji :p

bibi choke kay sath ziada pangay na lia karein.. causes sputtering.

just wait for the car to warm up by putting in neutral and using the accelerator.

baba woh kyun? mein ne koi panga shanga nai lya mein ne bas us ko KHENCHA tha :snooty:

" just wait for the car to warm up by putting in neutral and using the accelerator."

i c